EARLY SEX INCREASES THE RISK OF DELINQUENCY

Date: 07-05-2008 4:17 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Omolara Ajagun
- at 7-05-2008 04:17 PM (15 years ago)
LATER SEX DECREASES IT

A recent research made on 7,000 adolescents reveals that teens who start their segxwal life significantly earlier than their counterparts also have higher levels of delinquency in later years.

Early sex induced a 20 % increase in delinquent acts one year later compared to teens that had their first segxwal experience at the average age. On the contrary, teens who had their first segxwal experience later than the average presented delinquency levels 50 % lower a year later, compared to those who had it at an average time.

The trend was valid for up to six years. "We’re not finding that sex itself leads to delinquency, but
instead, that beginning segxwal relationships long before your friends is cause for concern," said Stacy Armour, co-author of the study and a doctoral student in sociology at Ohio State University. "Those who start having sex too young may not be prepared to deal with the potential emotional, social and behavioral consequences of their actions", said Dana Haynie, associate professor of sociology at Ohio State.

The team employed data from the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health, with students in grades 7 to 12 at 132 high schools and middle schools.

The average age of the first segxwal intercourse was calculated for each school, ranging from 11.25 to 17.5 years. "That way, the respondents in the study are compared to the peers in their own school, rather than an arbitrary age that is deemed the average age for everyone," Armour said.

Early sex debut is considered that which occurred about one year or more before the average for their school.

Students were interviewed how often in the last year they presented a delinquent behavior, including painting graffiti, deliberately damaging property, stealing, or selling drugs to assess their rates of delinquency. 9 % had their first experience significantly earlier than their counterparts, 58 % were average, and 33 % had the first segxwal intercourse significantly later than others.

The team focused on many factors that influence how long teens wait to have sex, like race, family structure, socioeconomic status, school performance, depression, the bonds with the parents, amongst others. "The link between early sex and delinquency probably has to do with the whole social context of the young adolescents’ lives. If you’re having sex a lot earlier than your friends, you may be hanging out with a new group of kids, ones who are probably older. Having sex brings with it this feeling of being an adult. They may feel like they can do things older kids do, and for some that may include delinquency", said Armour.

The negative effects of early sex persisted into early adulthood; later, when the subjects were between 18 and 26 years, the age of first sex experience was still linked with high levels of delinquency. "The timing of events such as segxwal activity can have profound consequences for adolescents, particularly when they occur prematurely," Armour said.

"Those adolescents who waited longer than average may be developing friendships and relationships that can help protect them from potentially troublesome behaviors as they become young adults. Sex itself is not always a problem behavior. But the timing of segxwal initiation does matter. Adolescents need to be at a stage when they are developmentally prepared for it", she explained.

Posted: at 7-05-2008 04:17 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 8-05-2008 05:27 AM (15 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided

Posted: at 8-05-2008 05:27 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teephah at 8-05-2008 02:55 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on  8-05-2008 05:27 AM
Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided

Meaning?Huh?
Posted: at 8-05-2008 02:55 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- welli at 8-05-2008 09:03 PM (15 years ago)
 @ poster i wasn't able to read everytin cus it was too long plus i dnt see how early sex increases delinquents in a society.if i'm wrong i want to be corrected wit reasonable reasons

Posted: at 8-05-2008 09:03 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- naijainct at 8-05-2008 10:02 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: welli on  8-05-2008 09:03 PM
@ poster i wasn't able to read everytin cus it was too long plus i dnt see how early sex increases delinquents in a society.if i'm wrong i want to be corrected wit reasonable reasons

How old were u when u started???
Posted: at 8-05-2008 10:02 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- welli at 8-05-2008 10:12 PM (15 years ago)
wat if i say i ven't tried it

Posted: at 8-05-2008 10:12 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 8-05-2008 11:10 PM (15 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 8-05-2008 11:10 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Grease at 9-05-2008 01:03 AM (15 years ago)
@teephah...Where did you copy that huh Huh?

Posted: at 9-05-2008 01:03 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 9-05-2008 09:03 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: welli on  8-05-2008 10:12 PM
wat if i say i ven't tried it

oooooooooooohhh...i thot u are married...... Roll Eyes

Posted: at 9-05-2008 09:03 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- welli at 9-05-2008 09:30 AM (15 years ago)
yea.i'm married bt i'm waitin upon da lord to decide wen d time is rite to start d gbish gbish

Posted: at 9-05-2008 09:30 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 9-05-2008 09:44 AM (15 years ago)

very funny weli.....

Posted: at 9-05-2008 09:44 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teephah at 9-05-2008 08:04 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on  9-05-2008 09:44 AM

very funny weli.....

I no fit laugh ooo

hahahahahah
Posted: at 9-05-2008 08:04 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- osituga at 10-05-2008 07:16 PM (15 years ago)
why you no fit laugh???
Posted: at 10-05-2008 07:16 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Vixenx at 11-05-2008 06:43 AM (15 years ago)
A recent research made on 7,000 adolescents reveals that teens who start their segxwal life significantly earlier than their counterparts also have higher levels of delinquency in later years.

Well i was 21 then so i'm not included . Cool
Posted: at 11-05-2008 06:43 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osituga at 11-05-2008 05:55 PM (15 years ago)
Me too
Posted: at 11-05-2008 05:55 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- myragonza at 12-05-2008 08:04 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: osituga on 11-05-2008 05:55 PM
Me too

but u are underaged abi....

Posted: at 12-05-2008 08:04 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- oprah at 3-06-2008 03:57 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 12-05-2008 08:04 AM
Quote from: osituga on 11-05-2008 05:55 PM
Me too

but u are underaged abi....

Myra, who is under age here o?
Posted: at 3-06-2008 03:57 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 3-06-2008 11:55 PM (15 years ago)
Osituga Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 3-06-2008 11:55 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teephah at 5-06-2008 01:47 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on  3-06-2008 11:55 PM
Osituga Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Grin Grin Grin

Ostigua, am so sorry to hear that you are under age oooooooooooooo
Posted: at 5-06-2008 01:47 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nautillus at 5-06-2008 03:30 PM (15 years ago)
EARLY SEX INCREASES THE RISK OF DELINQUENCY

And this is worth delibrating on because ? ? ? ? Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 5-06-2008 03:30 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

3. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office