Nigeria’s teenage pregnancies rise (Page 4)

Date: 19-06-2009 3:45 pm (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 9
- Kennee at 19-06-2009 07:43 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 19-06-2009 03:45 PM
Unplanned pregnancies among Nigerian teenagers and young women have risen despite improvements in educational levels, a report found.

In 2003, 16 per cent of pregnancies among girls and women aged 15-24 had been unintended, compared with 10% in 1990.

The study from the New York-based Guttmacher Institute said low use of contraceptives was partially to blame.

The institute said Nigerian authorities had failed to promote segxwal health information for young Nigerians.

It found the proportion of adolescent women with some secondary education had increased 16 percentage points (from 34 perc cent to 50 per cent) between 1990 and 2003.

But over the same period, the use of modern contraceptive methods among segxwally active adolescent women in Nigeria had changed very little, from four per cent to eight per cent.

Also in that time, the proportion of segxwally active young women who knew where to access family planning services nearly halved, from 32 per cent to 18 per cent, found the report - which analysed health data from Nigerian authorities and non-governmental-organisations.

Nearly one-third of segxwally active women aged 15-24 had had an unmet need for modern contraception in 2003, found the study.

“We are failing Nigerian adolescents when it comes to providing them with the information and services. They need to delay marriage and avoid unintended pregnancies,” said the report’s co-author, Professor Friday Okonofua.

She said this was leaving young women at risk from unwanted pregnancies and segxwally-transmitted diseases, such as HIV.

The study also noted the population of Nigeria - Africa’s most-populous nation, with 150 million people - was growing by 2.2% annually, and at that rate would double every 32 years.

Source:

http://odili.net/news/source/2009/jun/17/608.html

For yur mind l like to dey read Newspaper

Posted: at 19-06-2009 07:43 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- around_d_corner at 19-06-2009 07:50 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on 19-06-2009 07:42 PM
thanks for the write...knowledge is power....some of the chiks for NP no knw all dese ooo...thank u for savin d next generation.....
hahahaaaaaaaaaaaa true talk.....
Posted: at 19-06-2009 07:50 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- osaomo at 19-06-2009 07:53 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 19-06-2009 03:45 PM
Unplanned pregnancies among Nigerian teenagers and young women have risen despite improvements in educational levels, a report found.

In 2003, 16 per cent of pregnancies among girls and women aged 15-24 had been unintended, compared with 10% in 1990.

The study from the New York-based Guttmacher Institute said low use of contraceptives was partially to blame.

The institute said Nigerian authorities had failed to promote segxwal health information for young Nigerians.

It found the proportion of adolescent women with some secondary education had increased 16 percentage points (from 34 perc cent to 50 per cent) between 1990 and 2003.

But over the same period, the use of modern contraceptive methods among segxwally active adolescent women in Nigeria had changed very little, from four per cent to eight per cent.

Also in that time, the proportion of segxwally active young women who knew where to access family planning services nearly halved, from 32 per cent to 18 per cent, found the report - which analysed health data from Nigerian authorities and non-governmental-organisations.

Nearly one-third of segxwally active women aged 15-24 had had an unmet need for modern contraception in 2003, found the study.

“We are failing Nigerian adolescents when it comes to providing them with the information and services. They need to delay marriage and avoid unintended pregnancies,” said the report’s co-author, Professor Friday Okonofua.

She said this was leaving young women at risk from unwanted pregnancies and segxwally-transmitted diseases, such as HIV.

The study also noted the population of Nigeria - Africa’s most-populous nation, with 150 million people - was growing by 2.2% annually, and at that rate would double every 32 years.

Source:

http://odili.net/news/source/2009/jun/17/608.html

Hmm....so the best way to prevent unwanted pregnancy would be to use contraceptives, condoms nd thru the help mmof family plannin.....

The government can start by givin out free condoms, contraceptives nd nd free health plannin.... Smiley....nd that does not look like what will happen in 10yrs to come...as it is , people wil just keep giivin birth nd the population wil just keep growing.

Posted: at 19-06-2009 07:53 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 07:54 PM (14 years ago)
den u beat start...ma guy ....wetin hapen for dat poll ..ahh sandie sure say she no shit sooo.......guy u deserve it mor than any bloodclat guy man
Posted: at 19-06-2009 07:54 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 07:56 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: around_d_corner on 19-06-2009 07:50 PM
thanks for the write...knowledge is power....some of the chiks for NP no knw all dese ooo...thank u for savin d next generation.....
guy e b lik say u don dey dey online well well now abi..........wetin d hapin for ya end
Posted: at 19-06-2009 07:56 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- macgreat at 19-06-2009 08:07 PM (14 years ago)
passing

Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:07 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 19-06-2009 08:08 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on 19-06-2009 07:56 PM
Quote from: around_d_corner on 19-06-2009 07:50 PM
guy e b lik say u don dey dey online well well now abi..........wetin d hapin for ya end
ppl kilin ppl..............
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:08 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 08:10 PM (14 years ago)
who dey kill  who
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:10 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- around_d_corner at 19-06-2009 08:13 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on 19-06-2009 08:10 PM
who dey kill  who
hunger dey kil ppl..........
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:13 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 08:23 PM (14 years ago)
u jus  d spik parables ..u dey fear neh?.......
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- macgreat at 19-06-2009 08:26 PM (14 years ago)
biking

Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:26 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 19-06-2009 08:29 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: macgreat on 19-06-2009 08:26 PM
biking
legin
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:29 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 08:31 PM (14 years ago)
ya own nah to d quote quote everywere abi..i go report u go osinah
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- around_d_corner at 19-06-2009 08:35 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on 19-06-2009 08:31 PM
u think say i dey fear face komot jor
Posted: at 19-06-2009 08:35 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- enibalaya at 19-06-2009 09:48 PM (14 years ago)
Interesting news stories coming from Nigeria. All these modernisation and too know of our small girls in Nigeria, do you thing in they willl not have any ripple effect on the society, especially on teenagers. Everything goes, thats the idea. How many sex education programmes are shown on our TV station as compared with the numberof segxwal content movies, musicals, adverts? Take a count and you will see that while the media is promoting all the 'vices' of the western world, nothing is being doen to let the youths know what the implications are. Until we have responsible media in Nigeria, and responsible/responsive government, teenage pregnancies in Nigeria will be the highest in the world soon.  For more detailed reading, try out http://www.ekitigene.com
Posted: at 19-06-2009 09:48 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- fireman at 19-06-2009 09:54 PM (14 years ago)
It goes beyond the media.Families are always on the edge when trying to discuss issues especially segxwally related ones.Nigerian orientation is way to conservative.

Posted: at 19-06-2009 09:54 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 10:54 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: around_d_corner on 19-06-2009 08:35 PM
Quote from: pepigambit on 19-06-2009 08:31 PM
u think say i dey fear face komot jor
ahh d tin fear me ooooo....abintink say u no wan wound
Posted: at 19-06-2009 10:54 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- welli at 19-06-2009 10:57 PM (14 years ago)
The first step to reduce birth rate in Nigeria is Education...They need to be enlightened.
It's funny how pple can barely feed themselves yet they keep catapulting more children into the world.

Posted: at 19-06-2009 10:57 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pepigambit at 19-06-2009 10:59 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: welli on 19-06-2009 10:57 PM
The first step to reduce birth rate in Nigeria is Education...They need to be enlightened.
It's funny how pple can barely feed themselves yet they keep catapulting more children into the world.
wy didnt u jus quote me weli...we are sayin d same tin Grin Wink
Posted: at 19-06-2009 10:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- welli at 19-06-2009 11:07 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on 19-06-2009 10:59 PM
wy didnt u jus quote me weli...we are sayin d same tin Grin Wink
Now....I just got one comment to make me smile tonight!!
Oga... No vex!!

Posted: at 19-06-2009 11:07 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 9