Exclusive Interview:Why im still single,Nollywood Actor Kalu Ikeagwu

Date: 12-10-2013 11:16 am (10 years ago) | Author: Glorious Okoye
- at 12-10-2013 11:16 AM (10 years ago)
Despite being a handsome and stylish guy, Tinsel star, Kalu Ikeagwu is still single. And guess what, he is not in a hurry to tie the knot!  In this chat with CHRISTIAN AGADIBE, he opens up on his child hood, acting and how he defied his dad to pursue his lifelong dream, and of course, why he is still single at his age. Excerpts:

What are you currently working on?

I just finished lecturing youths at the Centre for Media Development and obviously I am on Tinsel. I have a movie I am also working on but I can’t disclose much at the moment; I’ll be working in Benue State. I am doing some research on the project right now.

Aside being an actor, who is Kalu Ikeagwu?

I am a man who’s very passionate about what he does. I am an educator and I write as well. By nature I am an introvert. I like to think a lot and seek to know what life is all about. I like to travel a lot as well. The reason being that I see travelling as another way of educating myself; I love experiencing the diverse cultures of the world.

What was your growing up like?

Growing up was very interesting. It’s the result of what I am today. I spent my childhood in England. My dad insisted on my learning an indigenous language, which is Igbo. I lived in Zambia, Cameroon and England before I came back home so I got to experience diverse cultures. Back home, I was thrown into boarding school which was very traumatic for me because I wasn’t used to it, so I ran away from school.

You ran away from school?

Yes, I went to six different schools here in Nigeria. I ran away because it was very stressful. All of a sudden I began to fetch water and go to the stream alongside all sorts of punishment. It was traumatic! I was pretty young and I missed my family especially my mum. I did all I could to get back to them and refused to go to school in protest. Incidentally, most of the time I spent outside the classroom I spent in the library. The library was my hideout where I read all the things I know today. Those years were very formative. I knew how painful it was to do something you didn’t want to. Instead of being the medical doctor my dad wanted me to be, I got into acting because I knew that I could only excel when I did things I had a passion for.

Were your parents in support of your acting career?

My dad never stopped me from acting but he wanted me to be a doctor. My father forced me to do science subjects which I didn’t really like so I ran away from school for four years. I didn’t go to school and policemen were looking for me. Incidentally, for every day I spent outside the classroom, I spent in the library reading stuff I loved. I told my dad I wanted to study English Literature and we had a huge fight over that but at some point he relented and asked me to go for law instead but I said ‘no, it’s English Literature or nothing!’. And he never questioned it after that.

How did he feel when you became a successful actor?

My dad is late. He died before he saw my works. I think he knew that I was definitely going to make it probably from the way I worked. I didn’t think he had any doubts. The rest of my family has been very supportive.

Are you still single?

Yes I am.

Are you in a relationship right now?

I will not answer that right now.

Most of your fans would like to know why you are still single…?

Do I want to get married? Yes. But that would be when I find the right person; I mean that person I love so much and want to spend the rest of my life with; that’s when I’ll settle down.

What challenges are you facing finding Miss Right?

The reason why I am not married now is that marriage is very important to me. I have come to terms with the fact that marriage is the most important institution from God. And I take that very seriously. Ultimately I would like my relationship with my wife to be like that between God and the church; that’s why it is important to me. I wouldn’t say it’s been challenging though. I have gone through a lot of experiences that made me wise. When I get married, my experiences would make me a wise, good and a loving father.

What are those qualities you look out for in a woman?

I like a woman with a great sense of humor; that’s very important to me. And of course, she has to be very attractive and intelligent. Above everything else she should have a close relationship with God because that’s very important to me as well. That’s exactly why I am yet to get married. I want to be successful in my marriage just as I am in my career.

There are lots of pretty girls in the industry. Would you like to marry an actress?

If she is the kind of person I need, why not?

How would you assess Nollywood today?

Nollywood today is doing very well. We have come a long way. We are going through changes though we have made our mark. We have done it with our own money without government support. We have been able to do it because it’s something we believed in. I see a great future for Africa.

What’s been your happiest moment as an actor?

I think one of the happiest moments I’ve had so far was the day I went shopping and a lady walked up to me and thanked me profusely for showing men how to be caring and loving, due to the characters I portray; that was really touching for me.

How do you handle females pressuring you for a date?

It feels great to be adored by women but at the same time one has to be careful. They make me feel I am important to them and that makes them important to me. I accommodate and respect them as much as possible but on a cordial level, I can only love one woman.

Can you act Nood?

I have no problems going Nood as long as it is required in a script. What matters to me is the message I am passing. If the message to be passed is important then I will go Nood; I have no problem with that.

What is your advice for up-and-coming actors?

For up-and-coming actors, my advice is, don’t do it for the money or fame. Do it because you love what you are doing; do it because you have passion for it.

Source:http://celebgists.blogspot.com/2013/10/exclusive-interviewwhy-im-still.html

Posted: at 12-10-2013 11:16 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- UNKNOWN123 at 12-10-2013 01:34 PM (10 years ago)
 Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley
Posted: at 12-10-2013 01:34 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ThoRam at 12-10-2013 01:53 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool  
Posted: at 12-10-2013 01:53 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 12-10-2013 01:59 PM (10 years ago)
"Are you in a relationship right now?
I will not answer that right now."

Reason = He has plenty babes....but none is the one.
If he says Jane, Juliet + 5 others will unleash fury on him.

The church is not perfect....God loves it unconditionally.

If you're waiting for that perfect one.....Bros, you go get bald head before you wed.
Posted: at 12-10-2013 01:59 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 12-10-2013 02:03 PM (10 years ago)
too short for me to read  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 12-10-2013 02:03 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chylind5 at 12-10-2013 02:34 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Wysetots on 12-10-2013 01:59 PM

If you're waiting for that perfect one.....Bros, you go get bald head before you wed. Hahaha. On point jare. He has plenty babes but miss right is not in the list.
Posted: at 12-10-2013 02:34 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Aminu035 at 12-10-2013 02:53 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 12-10-2013 02:03 PM
too short for me to read  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
lazy boy
Posted: at 12-10-2013 02:53 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Noble12 at 12-10-2013 03:09 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 12-10-2013 03:09 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 12-10-2013 03:25 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Wysetots on 12-10-2013 01:59 PM

If you're waiting for that perfect one.....Bros, you go get bald head before you wed.

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 12-10-2013 03:25 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 12-10-2013 03:27 PM (10 years ago)
i hope you are not in """the other team"" Lips Sealed
Posted: at 12-10-2013 03:27 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- osamabinladin at 12-10-2013 03:53 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 12-10-2013 03:53 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 12-10-2013 04:04 PM (10 years ago)
Ok na
Posted: at 12-10-2013 04:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- toibeli at 12-10-2013 04:04 PM (10 years ago)
My brother I beg take your time...ooo Wink
Posted: at 12-10-2013 04:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 12-10-2013 04:47 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 12-10-2013 04:47 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 12-10-2013 06:02 PM (10 years ago)
one of the best Actor's in nollywood.
Posted: at 12-10-2013 06:02 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 12-10-2013 06:17 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 12-10-2013 06:17 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ebiteck at 12-10-2013 06:29 PM (10 years ago)
i see
Posted: at 12-10-2013 06:29 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 12-10-2013 06:30 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 12-10-2013 06:30 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 12-10-2013 06:59 PM (10 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 12-10-2013 06:59 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- felaman at 13-10-2013 05:54 AM (10 years ago)
gay man
Posted: at 13-10-2013 05:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

2. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

3. Peter Obi Missing as EFCC Releases Names of 58 Former Governors That Embezzled N2.187 Trillion

4. Mohbad's PA, Darosha Grilled by Police, Spills More About Singer's Death & Hurried Burial

5. Mercy Johnson's Husband Raises Awareness On Mental Health Amidst Angela Okorie's Claims

6. "Why INEC’s Server Suffered Glitch During 2023 Presidential Polls" – Peter Obi

7. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)

8. Outcry As Lagos Govt Begins Demolition on Parts of Arowojobe, Mende Estate (Video)

9. Controversial singer, Portable Spotted On A Flight To Kenya With Wife, Bewaji Amid Online Drama

10. Actress Genevieve Nnaji Appreciates Her Fans, Shares Special Moment From Fer 45th Birthday

11. How 40yr Old Man Lured 13yr Old Girl With N200 to His House & Held Her From January to March

12. Amidst Witchcraft Accusations, Mercy Johnson Marks Daughter’s 4th Birthday in Style (VID)

13. Don't Choose to be Lonely Because of People - Judy Austin Dishes Tips on Fighting For 'Love'

14. After Heavy Criticism, Teni Reveals Why She Prostrated to Greet Socialite IBD Bende on a Plane

15. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

16. Rising Nigerian Singer, Gnewzy Who Was Kidnapped in Delta, Regains Freedom After 6 Days

17. Filmmaker, Mary Njoku Cries Out After Her 7am Flight Was Moved to 6pm Without Explanation

18. Wizkid And Babymama, Jada P Quench Split Rumours As They Step Out in Matching Outfit (VID)

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

3. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

4. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

5. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

6. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

7. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

8. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

9. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

10. Outrage As 40-year-old Man Allegedly Lures 13-year-old Girl With ₦200, Sparks National Debate