Requirements and Risks For Starting A Poultry Business In Nigeria

Date: 29-10-2013 7:45 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 29-10-2013 07:45 PM (10 years ago)

Had to create this topic here as the business board seems to be a bit too busy for this, So I am contemplating on starting a poultry business In Nigeria but I am at crossroads as the business models I have come across appears to be too good to be true, the poultry business seems to be extremely profitable venture but I have failed to completely understand the risks of this business (aside from all the chicken dying?), I know there are some knowledgebible people around that would like to share their wisdom and experiences on the risks of this type of business in Nigeria?

Posted: at 29-10-2013 07:45 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- merion at 29-10-2013 08:05 PM (10 years ago)
noted
Posted: at 29-10-2013 08:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 29-10-2013 08:21 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 29-10-2013 08:21 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- banky1836 at 29-10-2013 08:35 PM (10 years ago)
go and ask Obasanjo, he is a chicken farmer.
Posted: at 29-10-2013 08:35 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- gbojac at 29-10-2013 08:38 PM (10 years ago)
When it comes to fufu, gari, or just food in general, there's no risks at all,,,,I support you 100% and I know you will not fail, because Nigerian like to eat well well,,,But, the problem is the cost of feeding your chicks to make them grow fast fast to start selling them, that's where your money will go (vitamins, veterinary, etc) but within weeks the money will start flowing back into your pockets....there's less cost in grazing animal...grass plenty inside 9ja....take goat
Posted: at 29-10-2013 08:38 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 29-10-2013 08:41 PM (10 years ago)
You people who posted before me are heartless,,,it no be different if you had kept quiet.....
Posted: at 29-10-2013 08:41 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mary11 at 29-10-2013 08:44 PM (10 years ago)
No idea
Not in dat field

Posted: at 29-10-2013 08:44 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- jossy4reall at 29-10-2013 09:19 PM (10 years ago)
na only how to eat a grown up chicken I know

Posted: at 29-10-2013 09:19 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Rwangee at 29-10-2013 09:21 PM (10 years ago)
Knw mata wat, remenber God d.
Posted: at 29-10-2013 09:21 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 29-10-2013 10:26 PM (10 years ago)
No idea !
Posted: at 29-10-2013 10:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 29-10-2013 11:01 PM (10 years ago)
u mean u want to start okukor business  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-10-2013 11:01 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- judeworld at 29-10-2013 11:22 PM (10 years ago)
Ask google. Go to library and get books
Posted: at 29-10-2013 11:22 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- judeworld at 29-10-2013 11:26 PM (10 years ago)
Ask google. Go to library and get books
Posted: at 29-10-2013 11:26 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 29-10-2013 11:36 PM (10 years ago)
Don't ask me oo, All I know is how to eat the meat Smiley
Posted: at 29-10-2013 11:36 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 29-10-2013 11:39 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 29-10-2013 11:39 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 29-10-2013 11:49 PM (10 years ago)
Ask google
Posted: at 29-10-2013 11:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- yungdrizzy at 30-10-2013 01:16 AM (10 years ago)
its easy to set up a poultry once u av d funds,,well,,am a student studying agriculture,,i can only advice u based on d number of birds u wanna stock,,i did my i.t in a very large farm,,where we make as much as 650,000 naira on most days,,dts from selling a thousand crates of egg,,and in two days,,u make more dan a million naira,like i said,,dx farm was large n we pick as much as 700 to 900 crates per day and am glad to say that they pick btw  1500 crates or more this days,,u really need to know what your doing,,u av to own a full knowledge of the business,,birds require a lot of intensive care,,,i could be a cosultant to you if u need,,so pm me then!!!,,and i'd help as much as i can.
Posted: at 30-10-2013 01:16 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Atabo1 at 30-10-2013 03:55 AM (10 years ago)
there are much to talk about in poultry farming, i can't talk much here, contact me if you want to get your questions answered, i am a veterinary doctor currently working in senator yerima's farm of more than 200,000 layers capacity with automated farming system. Best regards
Posted: at 30-10-2013 03:55 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- king2424 at 30-10-2013 06:30 AM (10 years ago)
@Atabo1, i need ur contact number so we can talk more, i have some questions i need to ask you in respect of the farming, hope you dont mind?
Posted: at 30-10-2013 06:30 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- steveoneal at 30-10-2013 06:40 AM (10 years ago)
poultry business, though very profitable ,, still need  professional expertise,, to be able to sail through,, it all depends on the scale you want it,, there is intensive , semi-intensive, free range or extensive poultry system,, you have to consider the number of birds  you want to start with,, the breeds of the birds you want,,, be it black leghorn,,rhode island red, white sussex,rhode island white, new hampshire and so, you consider the age of the birds ,, day old chicks usually require more efforts to survive, than few weeks old,,poultry birds require regulated temperature depending on their age and the season of the year,, you consider the type of feed you want depending on the type, age and the purpose of the birds,,, if its for mainly for meat production, growers marsh or broilers marsh would be suitable,if its for egg production(layers) its different cos content of certain minerals would have to be higher in the feed as related to eggshell production,, compounding the feed is something  else again, cos it sometime has to do with the breeds, age, of the birds, and temperature of the environment,, for certain exotic breeds of birds certain supplements are needed,, overfeeding  the birds would make you run at a loss, while underfeeding can cause death through pecking, and starving,,even as you must always debeak at the appropriate time,, a specialist in avian medicine would always be at hand to prevent any outbreak of disease(s),, whenever a death occurs the best thing is to call in an avian medicine specialist, not minding the cost, to carry out a necropsy, and prevent further deaths,,,, i know you need more than all i have stated,,but i wish you the best of luck in your venture,,,,
Posted: at 30-10-2013 06:40 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac