‘Nigerian Masses Are Like Abused Wives’ Oby Ezekwesili Blasts Politicians....

Date: 03-11-2013 5:13 am (10 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 3-11-2013 05:13 AM (10 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

Oby Ezekwesili Blasts Politicians -Says ‘Nigerian Masses Are Like Abused Wives’.......

Oby Ezekwesili

Nigerian Tribune

November 2,  2013

Former Minister of Education and former World Bank Vice-President Africa Division, Dr. Obiageli Ezekwesili, has said the relationship between Nigerian citizens and their political elite is like that between an ‘abused wife’ and her husband. But in what looks like a veiled call to action, the former minister seems to attribute Nigerians’ governance-induced suffering to their docility.

The relationship between citizens of Nigeria and their political elites  is like the one between an abused wife and her husband. A people that too quickly forget and move on to the next salacious exploits of their political elite are their own nemesis!” She said.

In separate tweets on her Twitter handle, Mrs. Ezekwesili expressed her disdain for how the present crop of leaders run the Nigerian economy, saying: “Not even grocery shops run their affairs like this… such vagrant public finance management is contemptuous of citizens.

“All those fellows that deceitfully reacted to my factual caution on the frittered 5th oil boom should get ready now. At least five years of high oil prices holding firm- no major productive investments, no increase or reserves/saving.”
Still on what she considers a slipshod economic management being run by

Nigeria, Ezekwesili tweeted: “A structurally faulty public finance system zealous for spending on consumption rather than production DEMANDS BOLD action!

Now, oil prices are on a downward slope. Imagine, we are asked to be comforted that we merely have ‘cash flow problem’. Ha!”

She also faulted what she described as Nigeria’s ‘consumption spending’ at the expense of capital spending, saying “We must BOLDLY discuss, agree and begin to REDUCE consumption spending (80 per cent) of budget and INCREASE capital spending (20 per cent).”

In what appears a subtle indictment of government officials, Ezekwesili added that the call for reduction in the unusually high cost of governance in Nigeria has never been supported by any member of the National Assembly because they are benefiting from the status quo. 

“The MUST HAVE debate on reducing cost of governance suffers a lack of champions among the ‘ruling elite’ because NASS is in too,” she tweeted.
But she is even angrier with the politicians, whom she accused of literally living on ‘public corruption and distortion of politics’.

She tweeted: “A true national dialogue should be between the citizens and the consumption-loving political elite in all capital parties, a pseudo-private sector creating nothing but making filthy profits from the public corruption and distortion of politics.”

On the N255 million armoured BMW car scam in the aviation sector and apparently faulting the policy that made such mind-boggling purchase scam possible, Ezekwesili recalled that the administration under which she served introduced monetisation policy in the civil service.“

We introduced monetisation policy. Asked why they canceled it. It will take a RADICAL RE-BALANCE of public spending for the budget to have any positive effect on the lives of the poor,” she wrote.

Generally, she blamed pervasive indiscipline for why the country is failing in all regards – especially its economy.

I am immensely irritated by indiscipline. Cumulative indiscipline is the root of that failure that now stares us in the face as a people. Sadly, Nigeria slides from spot 138 in 2013 to 147 in the newly released 2014 World Bank Doing Business ranking,” she tweeted.

Posted: at 3-11-2013 05:13 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 3-11-2013 06:29 AM (10 years ago)
We've not only been abused but robbed and r.a.p.e.d.......

That's the reality....
Posted: at 3-11-2013 06:29 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 3-11-2013 10:36 AM (10 years ago)
did she say this while she was also serving as minister???ß if not, she is also part of the armed robbers(politicians) as well,, we all know we are not only being abused,, but robbed and murdered as well,,,
Posted: at 3-11-2013 10:36 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 3-11-2013 10:40 AM (10 years ago)
The gospel truth !  Sad
Posted: at 3-11-2013 10:40 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- bitterpenis at 3-11-2013 11:13 AM (10 years ago)
Shut up madam! Wetin you do when you hold ministerial office? You no dey chop national cake as before again, you don begin bark
Posted: at 3-11-2013 11:13 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 3-11-2013 11:14 AM (10 years ago)
Sometimes I wonder if god has already left us. With all the prayers and fasting still god look the other way instead of bringing us out of the monsters hand, we are dying instrumentally laughing and smiling inside rheumatism, they(politicians) are beating us @ the same time commanding us not to cry, god? If these things they are doing us is good to u, then it's also good to us. Or probably we should be calling amadioha, songo,  and orumole for our help cuz our hearth is broken. As for me.. Am not going down without a fight.
Posted: at 3-11-2013 11:14 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- BlueIxora at 3-11-2013 03:35 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 3-11-2013 03:35 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 3-11-2013 04:35 PM (10 years ago)
She tweeted: “A true national dialogue should be between the citizens and the consumption-loving political elite in all capital parties, a pseudo-private sector creating nothing but making filthy profits from the public corruption and distortion of politics.”

unquestionably correct and really needed in Nigeria.
Posted: at 3-11-2013 04:35 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Ade-vegaslove at 3-11-2013 05:34 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on  3-11-2013 11:14 AM
Sometimes I wonder if god has already left us. With all the prayers and fasting still god look the other way instead of bringing us out of the monsters hand, we are dying instrumentally laughing and smiling inside rheumatism, they(politicians) are beating us @ the same time commanding us not to cry, god? If these things they are doing us is good to u, then it's also good to us. Or probably we should be calling amadioha, songo,  and orumole for our help cuz our hearth is broken. As for me.. Am not going down without a fight.
I know how you feel my brother, but no miracle will fall until we start to fight for what belong to all of us. These people are making billions at the expense of poor masses and you think they will just change their minds? Only force can stop them!
Posted: at 3-11-2013 05:34 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 3-11-2013 11:57 PM (10 years ago)
she can say that again
Posted: at 3-11-2013 11:57 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- interpo777 at 4-11-2013 12:58 AM (10 years ago)
some times some  folks think  we re  all fools,,cos of nigerians do suffer from hungry do not let u guys(fellow politicians thieves) to think we re all blind and fools,, may be u re now   looking for a new fiscal  call up to serve   on the current recuree ie.the present ruling body cos if not i would like  to read ur loven poem encouraging the poor masses during ur term as minister
Posted: at 4-11-2013 12:58 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 4-11-2013 01:09 AM (10 years ago)
mhmmmmmm
Posted: at 4-11-2013 01:09 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 4-11-2013 09:05 AM (10 years ago)
Dat was why wen u were there, u shld have corrected all dis mistakes but no u have to dance too.
Posted: at 4-11-2013 09:05 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Senegal at 4-11-2013 07:22 PM (10 years ago)
The truth
Posted: at 4-11-2013 07:22 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Ayodun1 at 5-11-2015 11:19 PM (8 years ago)
Noted

Posted: at 5-11-2015 11:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DaPraize at 6-11-2015 09:03 AM (8 years ago)
Madam Oby, e be like say you don loose out ooo. you think say Oga Buhari go gave you post but the Man smart pass than one.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 09:03 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- DaPraize at 6-11-2015 09:07 AM (8 years ago)
You are part of the Politicians so you are equally guilty of the abuse on the masses. With The disloyalty you show to your former Boss GEJ, Buhari will be a learner to give you any appointment.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 09:07 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

11. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

1. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

2. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

3. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

4. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

5. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

6. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

7. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu