Racist Police brakes the leg of a refugee in Nicosia, Cyprus [VIDEO]

Date: 30-11-2013 3:53 am (10 years ago) | Author: mayor boss
- at 30-11-2013 03:53 AM (10 years ago)
Dozens of bystanders in Nicosia witnessed a police officer using excessive force against Sylvain Somé, from the Ivory Coast. They took photos, videos and complained to the local anti-racism NGO ‘Kisa’ as an officer broke his leg. From his hospital bed, the victim described it as a “racist attack".

In mid-afternoon on Wednesday November 27th, three police officers stopped an Ivorian on a busy road in the Greek Cypriot capital’s historic centre to ask for his identity documents. They checked his documents in their electronic system, and found he resides in Cyprus lawfully. Klitos Papastylianou, who works at Kisa, told FRANCE 24 “racial profiling in Cyprus is illegal, but the police do it all the time. We get at least one complaint about it a week.”

The video below was published by Kisa, complete with Greek subtitles where the audio is poor. The video shows two officers and one African witness the officer breaking Sylvain Somé’s leg. Around one minute into the footage, an officer exclaims: “you broke his leg”, while the other shouts at his colleague “stop, are you an A*#S?”.

Sylvain Somé has lived in Cyprus for seven years. He is married to a Cypriot woman.

I asked the police officers: “why have you stopped me like this?” One officer replied, the one who later broke my leg: “this is Cyprus! If you don’t like it, you can go back to your country, where you can teach the police how to behave.” I told him he hadn’t answered my question, and that I knew he had a job to do but that I had a right to speak freely. I didn’t want to end up handcuffed and taken to the police station, I just wanted to ask a question. The officer warned if I kept talking he’d arrest me, I replied saying I hadn’t done anything to be arrested for.

That’s when he threw me to the ground, and broke my leg. And then he started saying he would take me to the hospital in his car, and he was trying to handcuff me. I wasn’t going to get in his car with a broken leg, I wanted to wait for an ambulance! I didn’t trust him, he might have taken me to a detention centre and done worse things to me. I waited for an ambulance, which took me to Nicosia General Hospital.

I was stopped like a criminal. Imagine if I’d been with my daughter, who’s only a little girl. The police here are racist. It’s by no means the first time I’ve been stopped in the street: it’s happened to me dozens of times. The police here stop Africans, try to find something wrong, and then fine us. That’s what they do.

When FRANCE 24 spoke to Sylvain Somé two days after the incident, he was in hospital waiting to hear if he would need an operation.

According to Kisa, the local police department initially refused to accept Sylvain Somé’s complaint against the police officer who broke his leg. After Kisa intervened, the department agreed to receive the complaint but Sylvain Somé has still been charged with resisting arrest. It is not yet clear whether the officer will be investigated. France 24 has contacted the local and national police to obtain a reaction to the case. We will publish their response if and when we receive one.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8hZBgDij3w" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8hZBgDij3w</a>

Posted: at 30-11-2013 03:53 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 30-11-2013 06:53 AM (10 years ago)
wicked world...somebody tell God to come and take his world cuz we human being have polluted the world

Posted: at 30-11-2013 06:53 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- mary11 at 30-11-2013 08:24 AM (10 years ago)
2bad
Mr officer u think say na chicken wey u fit break d leg anyhow?

Posted: at 30-11-2013 08:24 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- gmarley at 30-11-2013 08:33 AM (10 years ago)
God help us ooo
Posted: at 30-11-2013 08:33 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ObyWBabaK at 30-11-2013 08:39 AM (10 years ago)
  • Wetin dey bonkwe!!!!!?Huh?Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 30-11-2013 08:39 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Noble12 at 30-11-2013 08:40 AM (10 years ago)
hmmm
Posted: at 30-11-2013 08:40 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deway1 at 30-11-2013 08:47 AM (10 years ago)
i hate white
Posted: at 30-11-2013 08:47 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ThoRam at 30-11-2013 08:52 AM (10 years ago)
Sad story

Posted: at 30-11-2013 08:52 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- skidomike at 30-11-2013 09:08 AM (10 years ago)
When I see things like this I get really angry. I wish I was there to give the policeman a beaten of his life. Yes I don't care what happen next or what  they would have done to me but I'll be very happy to give that bastardo a smoke beaten.
Posted: at 30-11-2013 09:08 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 30-11-2013 09:22 AM (10 years ago)
white people..na their way..but we still dey live with them on condition...useless pigs,,
Posted: at 30-11-2013 09:22 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 30-11-2013 09:27 AM (10 years ago)
Jesus christ !!!
Posted: at 30-11-2013 09:27 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- petrick10 at 30-11-2013 10:51 AM (10 years ago)
Bad
Posted: at 30-11-2013 10:51 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mobbysmartins at 30-11-2013 11:00 AM (10 years ago)
If you treat me like trash,I will treat you like debris
Posted: at 30-11-2013 11:00 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 30-11-2013 11:15 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on 30-11-2013 06:53 AM
wicked world...somebody tell God to come and take his world cuz we human being have polluted the world

.  ...  ......and if God come now, are you sure of getting to  paradise Roll Eyes?
Posted: at 30-11-2013 11:15 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 30-11-2013 11:19 AM (10 years ago)
We are treated like animals all over the world just because our colour stands out. And still no African government intervenes.

Even in SA, Africans from other nations are treated like dogs - and I am talking about treatment by the black SA's!

It has to stop. We ARE entitled to be in the world like anyone else!

Thank God there are people, not Africans, who believe in equality for all.

I think these racists know we have no government that will speak up for us.

A pity. A real pity!
Posted: at 30-11-2013 11:19 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyeozo at 30-11-2013 01:33 PM (10 years ago)
Sorry bro, God is watching
Posted: at 30-11-2013 01:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BlueIxora at 30-11-2013 02:05 PM (10 years ago)
Evil racists. Yet they live like kings in Africa. Cool
Posted: at 30-11-2013 02:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 30-11-2013 03:20 PM (10 years ago)
see refugee face..na so them dey talk..
Posted: at 30-11-2013 03:20 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- proly at 30-11-2013 04:04 PM (10 years ago)
 Shocked
Posted: at 30-11-2013 04:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- 2bify at 30-11-2013 04:35 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: mary11 on 30-11-2013 08:24 AM
2bad
Mr officer u think say na chicken wey u fit break d leg anyhow?
MARY U ARE A BIG FOOL, INFACT UB ARE FUUU, SO U ARE TOUCHED BECAUSE HE IS NOT A NIGERIAN, GO BACK TO UR COMMENT ABOUT 409 NIGERIANS IN SOUTH AFRICAN PRISON AND ASK URSELF WHAT TYPE OF A FOOL ARE U? I HATE U THE SAME WAY I HATE AJANNI; SHOULD THIS BOY BE A NIGERIAN, I AM QUITE SURE WILL WOULD HAVE SAID SOMETHING ELSE, U ARE A FOOL I REPEAT
Posted: at 30-11-2013 04:35 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. 86 Makeshift Apartments Where Tenants Pay N250,000 Annually Uncovered Beneath Lagos Bridge

2. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

3. Netizens Dig Up Tunde Ednut’s Throwback Performance At Children's Party Amidst Wizkid & Davido

4. Veteran Actress, Sola Sobowale Recounts Difficult Life She Lives Abroad

5. VIDEO; Nigerian Boy Stirs Reactions After Flaunting His Older White Lover

6. He Is Undoubtedly The 001 Of The Nigerian Music Industry – Senator Dino Melaye Gives Davido Nod

7. VID: Xxssive Reveals That Wizkid Might Have Been Paid to Start Fight With Davido

8. Phyna’s Alleged Ex Boyfriend Threatens To Expose Her To World If She Talks About Davido

9. "Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello" – Actor Segun Arinze Tells EFCC

10. Barcelona Set To Tackle Financial Woes By Clearing Out Eight Players (Full List)

11. EFCC Slammed With N10m Damages For Declaring Pastor, Wife Wanted Without Court Order

12. Former Big Brother Naija Star, Chomzy Welcomes Baby Boy With Husband

13. Edo Governor Obaseki Reveals Why He Approved N70,000 Minimum Wage

14. 'No Minimum Wage By End Of May, No Peace' – Labour Threatens Nigerian Govt

15. Chelsea v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

16. "Why We Choose Collaboration Over Beef" – Fireboy On Why He's Working With Rema

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)