Senate Strive For 7-Year Jail Term/N5million Fine Punishments For ‘Media Critics

Date: 04-12-2013 4:59 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 4-12-2013 04:59 PM (10 years ago)
Senate Strive For 7-Year Jail Term/ N5million Fine Punishments For ‘Social Media Critics’

The Nigerian Senate has read a bill which aims to punish ‘social media critics’ who incite the public against the government.

The said law, which has scaled second reading in the upper legislative chamber, is also proposing a more severe punishment for internet fraudsters and scammers in Nigeria as those convicted will face 7 years of imprisonment.

According to Section 13 subsection 3 of the bill, “Anyone who intentionally propagates false information that could threaten the security of the country or that is capable of inciting the general public against the government through electronic message shall be guilty of an offense and upon conviction shall be sentenced to seven years imprisonment or N5 million (fine).”

Declaring open the public hearing Senate President David Mark who was represented by the deputy minority whip, Senator Abu Ibrahim (APC, Katsina), stated that electronic fraudsters are of big danger to the country, which must be tackled to attract foreign investment.

Posted: at 4-12-2013 04:59 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 4-12-2013 05:19 PM (10 years ago)
This social media is the only way we can talk to the government and express our anger, now they wanna shut us up from everywhere, lie. It won't work. Where is the F.O.B bill?
Posted: at 4-12-2013 05:19 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- mary11 at 4-12-2013 05:31 PM (10 years ago)
This is laughable
Maybe they shud come start with me
'God punish them

Posted: at 4-12-2013 05:31 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Yeancah18 at 4-12-2013 05:58 PM (10 years ago)
Nigeria government and there cunning ways... 8 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 4-12-2013 05:58 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Mobbysmartins at 4-12-2013 06:31 PM (10 years ago)
Nonsense.
Posted: at 4-12-2013 06:31 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 4-12-2013 07:07 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 4-12-2013 07:07 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Ndazu at 4-12-2013 07:17 PM (10 years ago)
IDLE MEN
Posted: at 4-12-2013 07:17 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- johnmagabush2 at 4-12-2013 07:32 PM (10 years ago)
am read to pay the 5million but i will always speak my mind ,,,,foolish govt,,,come to Europe and see how they run their things ...
Posted: at 4-12-2013 07:32 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- johnmagabush2 at 4-12-2013 07:33 PM (10 years ago)
am ready to pay the 5million but i will always speak my mind,,,,,foolish govt ,,,come to Europe and see how the govt run their shit,,,,bastard!!!track me through my name on FB,am block me at the airport when coming to Nigeria,,,,,,
Posted: at 4-12-2013 07:33 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- nazaqev123 at 4-12-2013 07:34 PM (10 years ago)
Do you Know you Can now watch up to 250 Dstv channels on your mobile phone!
Just download and Enjoy!
==> Download Now!
=======================
Mtn, Etisalat, Airtel, And GLO cheats All Made Available for you, to
get this Trick Click Here
Posted: at 4-12-2013 07:34 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Jasitop at 4-12-2013 08:17 PM (10 years ago)
Democracy
Posted: at 4-12-2013 08:17 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- spicymariam at 4-12-2013 08:54 PM (10 years ago)
Naija govt, don't tell me nonsense
Posted: at 4-12-2013 08:54 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 4-12-2013 09:12 PM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 4-12-2013 09:12 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- amyportion at 4-12-2013 10:22 PM (10 years ago)
Romans Chapter 6
1 What shall we say then? Shall we
continue in sin, that grace may
abound?
2 God forbid. How shall we, that are
dead to sin, live any longer therein?
3 Know ye not, that so many of us as
were baptized into Jesus Christ were
baptized into his death?
4 Therefore we are buried with him by
baptism into death: that like as Christ
was raised up from the dead by the
glory of the Father, even so we also
should walk in newness of life.
Posted: at 4-12-2013 10:22 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 4-12-2013 10:24 PM (10 years ago)
mtxheeeeeew
Posted: at 4-12-2013 10:24 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- 2bify at 4-12-2013 10:33 PM (10 years ago)
HAHAHHHHAHA, THESE FOOLS WAN START AGAIN, WE NEVER EVEN START TO DEY TALK AND THEM DON DEY FEAR, NA OGUN GO FIRE ALL OF THEM, THEM NO GET ANY SENTENCE FOR DIMEJI BANKLE E.T.,C, I MEAN THOSE ONES MILKING NIGERIA, THEM NO FIT STOP OUR OIL FROM MISSING EVERYDAY AND THEM WAN MAKE WE NO TALK, THUNDER FIRE THEM FROM DAVIK MARK TO THE LAST MAN IN THE SENATE
Posted: at 4-12-2013 10:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babeprincess at 4-12-2013 11:49 PM (10 years ago)
hmmmmm
Posted: at 4-12-2013 11:49 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozem at 4-12-2013 11:55 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 4-12-2013 11:55 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sunnyj05 at 5-12-2013 02:34 AM (10 years ago)
idiots people. not their fault naija is too soft for them. thunder fire una
Posted: at 5-12-2013 02:34 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- geraldduruike at 5-12-2013 03:15 AM (10 years ago)
Implement the law toe fight against coruption and looting..leave the masses mind and DEMOCRACY..which the definition is the Government of the People by the people and for the People..I thought all this people in the Government are the wise one..They go to School and have the Qualification to Defend the Nation politely and overwise..Why implementing such..Means this is time for REVOLUTION..Take time and reason fine for better Nigeria..if the country might exist after all this mess going on..Go to other country see to yourself..leaders of Nigeria..Calm down i will be there very soon  and i believe in CHANGE FOR BETTER NIGERIA.
Posted: at 5-12-2013 03:15 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming