Nigeria’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom, Dr Dalhatu Sarki Tafida, has explained that many Nigerians are refused UK visas because they do not apply in good time.
Speaking in London during a courtesy visit on him by the Minister for Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Relations, the High Commissioner lamented that most Nigerian visa applicants normally leave it very late before applying, and may not meet the requirements for the visa within the short time.
He said the situation was also the same with British-Nigerians who apply for Nigerian visas, disclosing that “99 per cent of their applications fall within the category of urgent or emergency visas”.
Dr Tafida who was responding to a complaint by a member of the Minister’s delegation that the UK often refuses visas even to top Nigeria government officials said the UK’s visa policy was “generous” compared with other countries. “We should be fair to the UK. If you meet the criteria, you get UK visa. The UK gives visas for six months and up to ten years. Some countries give visas for just four days”, he said, and urged applicants to always start the visa process in good time and endeavour to meet the stipulated requirements to avoid last minute disappointment.
Earlier in his remarks, the Minister, Alhaji Kabiru Tanimu Turaki said he and his delegation were in the UK to meet with operators, regulators and agents of the National Lottery with a view to imbibing their methods and strategies to improve the operations of the Nigeria National Lottery.
He explained that the meetings followed directives by President Goodluck Jonathan that the operations of the National Lottery be overhauled to ensure transparency, inspire confidence and create conducive atmosphere so that the Lottery would be run “in tandem with the global practices”.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 25-01-2014 09:40 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Austinjack at 25-01-2014 10:11 PM (11 years ago) (m)
Mr Commissioner stop fooling ur Self ok na una Bad Goverment cause am,,it take nigerian emmbassy only 2 days to issue Visa to European People here ok,Fools
Posted: at 25-01-2014 10:11 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
It's because they are dead scared of Nigerians because of what our government turned the country to. A time will come that even the president would be denied entrance into theses country and until Nigeria would always be the way it is.
Posted: at 25-01-2014 10:16 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
hellhellhell at 26-01-2014 03:03 AM (11 years ago) (m)
Quote from: DRraze on 25-01-2014 10:16 PM
It's because they are dead scared of Nigerians because of what our government turned the country to. A time will come that even the president would be denied entrance into theses country and until Nigeria would always be the way it is.
U NO HEAR SEY THEM CANCEL GOODLUCK JONATHAN "UNA PRESIDENT" MEETING WEY HE SUPPOSE HOLD FOR CANADA???
Posted: at 26-01-2014 03:03 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
sheffy1981 at 26-01-2014 05:55 AM (11 years ago) (m)
The fact remains Nigerians are overstaying their visa duration but nobody wants to return back into fire,im sorry to divulge this;Nigeria government is useless both home & abroad,useless I reinstate.
Posted: at 26-01-2014 05:55 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming