Government Should Stop Giving Actors Money - John Okafor

Date: 21-03-2014 9:21 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 21-03-2014 09:21 AM (10 years ago)

Popular actor, John Okafor, in a recent chat with Punch, criticised the recent visit of the Actors’ Guild of Nigeria to President Jonathan.

Okafor, popularly known as Mr Ibu, said he had beef with those who went to visit the president  because the president is yet to set his priorities right with regard to Nollywood.

“The government should stop giving Actors’ Guild cash, because we don’t know how to handle it. Some people will go to the office, process the money and squander it and we (actors) never benefit from such goodwill.

“If they (government) can give us a structure or land, we (actors) can go ahead and secure funds from investors to build five-star hotels and other facilities on it, because it will be a tourist haven. We can bring the Nigerian Censor’s board into the same arena." Okafor tells Punch. Continue...

"How can we be paying N50,000 to have one movie censored and then generate N5m from over 100 movies produced in a month and yet there aren’t any structures in place for Nollywood? “With such amount of money, government should be able to cater for us. If this is done, the industry will make a giant stride.”
Okafor also talked about homosegxwality in the Nollywood industry...

“Homosegxwality is very rampant in our industry and it is one thing that aggravates my anger many at times,” he reveals.
He talks about fans not taking him seriously because of the 'unserious roles' he plays in the movies.

“Many people do not take me seriously because of the kind of roles I play in movies. But the truth is that those who know me very well know that I am a very focused and principled person.

“In fact, I teach and mentor many upcoming actors and also organise workshops and seminars regularly for them.”
He recalls when he knew he would be an actor.

“I think I got the gift of acting from my grandfather. I discovered this in the early 70s. My grandfather was a foremost comedian in his own right. Back in the days, he would take me to places where he performed. Growing up, I realised that I was going to become an actor somehow,” he recalled.
Okafor says acting has not made him rich

“Acting has not made me rich, but I’m very comfortable. I am able to feed and adequately take care of my family; neither do I borrow money.
“It has also opened many doors for me and it has taken me far and wide beyond my wildest imagination. It has exposed me to certain level where I can say that God has done it for me.”

Posted: at 21-03-2014 09:21 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 21-03-2014 09:29 AM (10 years ago)
Mr Ibu, lolzzzzzz
Posted: at 21-03-2014 09:29 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- praytoGod4help at 21-03-2014 09:47 AM (10 years ago)
Tru talk my dear
Posted: at 21-03-2014 09:47 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 21-03-2014 09:56 AM (10 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 21-03-2014 09:56 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Abisco2020 at 21-03-2014 10:22 AM (10 years ago)
Tel dem bro 21F57100
Posted: at 21-03-2014 10:22 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- bissau at 21-03-2014 10:28 AM (10 years ago)
ODI NMA
Posted: at 21-03-2014 10:28 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- lovelyroli at 21-03-2014 11:23 AM (10 years ago)
nice one mr ibu
Posted: at 21-03-2014 11:23 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Mobbysmartins at 21-03-2014 11:37 AM (10 years ago)
Mr.Ibu
Posted: at 21-03-2014 11:37 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chylove247 at 21-03-2014 11:48 AM (10 years ago)
Ok.
Posted: at 21-03-2014 11:48 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken10000 at 21-03-2014 11:54 AM (10 years ago)
Both the ''ACTORS'' and our GOVERNMENT are a BIG JOKE,,you  all  should  have see  jim iyke 5O SECONDS interview yesteday  withh BBC,It,s laughable  to  even  think  a popular nollywood  actor can't  even  answer questions properly ,BBC was forced to  cut  down  the  interview and  tell  him  to  take  off  his  shade ,ME  AS  A  NIGERIAN  LIVING IN  THE  WEST ,I CAN ATTEST  TO  THE  FACT  THAT NIGERIA  HAVE  A  SICK  AND  SERIOUS  PROBLEM  OF   ''EDUCATION'' ALL  INTERNATIONAL INTERVIEW  WITH  NIGERIA  TO  PERSONALLITIES ARE  ALL  JOKE,..
Posted: at 21-03-2014 11:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 21-03-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
Mr Ibu international
Posted: at 21-03-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- kennethosita at 21-03-2014 12:12 PM (10 years ago)
tell them
Posted: at 21-03-2014 12:12 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dembal at 21-03-2014 01:12 PM (10 years ago)
your right my brother ,Mr Ibu 4life
Posted: at 21-03-2014 01:12 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 21-03-2014 01:23 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 21-03-2014 01:23 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gmarley at 21-03-2014 02:36 PM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 21-03-2014 02:36 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 21-03-2014 05:37 PM (10 years ago)
Well said, but is anyone listening? Probably Not.
Posted: at 21-03-2014 05:37 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 21-03-2014 06:11 PM (10 years ago)
nice speech mr ibu
Posted: at 21-03-2014 06:11 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- iamDonc at 21-03-2014 07:01 PM (10 years ago)
Mr Ibu, The Man!!!
Posted: at 21-03-2014 07:01 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 21-03-2014 07:06 PM (10 years ago)
the correct man ibu himself
Posted: at 21-03-2014 07:06 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dollypiper at 21-03-2014 08:29 PM (10 years ago)
don't you know that GEJ'S Administration is delusional? with so many misplaced priorities..abi what do you expect from a zoologist who is now ruling a whole nation..it is d same scenario as a mechanic operating as a medical surgoen .. of course the  result is gonna be catastrophic. just as the present situation Nigeria as found herself in.!
Posted: at 21-03-2014 08:29 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. NDLEA Busts International Drug Syndicate Operating Across Nigeria, South Africa, & Thailand

2. Allegations Of Bullying Surface Against Wofai Fada's Husband, Taiwo Cole (Photos)

3. Wofai Fada Receives Warm Welcome From Sister-in-Law Amid Family Disapproval

4. Samklef Opens Up On Why He Didn't Pursue Relationship With Simi During Struggling Days

5. Lagos Police Nab Two Suspected Fraudsters, Seyi Demola and Wale Lawson, For Preying In Public

6. Only Three Nigerian Universities Ranked Among Top 1,000 In The World (See Full List)

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Nigerian Couple Found Guilty Of Human Trafficking in US, Faces Up To 20 Years In Prison

9. "People See Influencers As Jobless Human Beings" – BBNaija Star, Anto Lecky

10. FCCPC Vows To Crack Down On Loan Apps Harassing Customers

11. Police Apprehend Seven Suspected Cultists & Armed Robbers In Anambra State Crackdown

12. Taiwo Cole Stands Firm Despite Family Disapproval; Insists He Found A Good Wife & No Going Back

13. DSS Seals Clinic In Plateau State Amid Allegations Of Quackery & Patient Death

14. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

3. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

6. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

7. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

8. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

9. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

10. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada