Mr Felix Timilaemi, an ex-militant leader, says he has launched a voluntary campaign against oil theft in Ekeremor Local Government Area of Bayelsa.
Timilaemi, who commanded a camp known as Amabulu Federated Community (AFC), said he had already destroyed 30 illegal refineries and 12 boats used by oil thieves in the area
Timilaemi, who conducted newsmen round the destroyed refineries at Ekeremor on Monday, lamented that illegal oil bunkering in the area was causing environmental pollution, with its attendant health hazards.
He said he had the support of the chiefs the traditional rulers in his crusade to rid the area of the menace
“This is a one-man crusade to completely stop this menace”, he said
The ex-militant explained that 240 youths, under his command, patrol the creeks and waterways of daily in search of illegal refineries and boats used by oil thieves.
“When we get them, we set them ablaze. Pipeline vandalism in this area is becoming so serious that I had to take it upon myself to put an end to it”, he said.
Timilaemi said he ensured that two points where vandals connected their hoses on a pipeline belonging to the Shell Petroleum Development Company (SPDC), were clamped.
He said communities should take responsibilities and initiate local measures to end economic sabotage within their domains, instead of blaming oil companies.
He said with support from the government and Shell, his group would deny oil thieves access to oil installations.
“We are the indigenes from this community and we know our people. We know our boys. We know how we can tackle oil theft.
‘’ The best thing we should do is to get the people involved in this campaign”, he said.
Timilaemi stated that his passion for the environment compelled him to embark on the campaign.
“This is the only place we have. We don’t have any other place to go”, he said..
Writing is my passion and facts-proofing is my hobby, I have been writing at Gistmania for close to a decade now and It is one of the most exciting things I do. Outside writing, I love enjoying time with my loved ones - if you have any tip for me, please do get in touch
Posted: at 22-04-2014 01:58 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Aleksander at 22-04-2014 02:12 PM (11 years ago) (m)
Noted
Posted: at 22-04-2014 02:12 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
So proud of him as a Nigerian. If we want the world to be a better place, we must first change our world, our environment. Then we can have a change we can believe in.
Posted: at 22-04-2014 02:18 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
omomalaga1 at 22-04-2014 02:31 PM (11 years ago) (f)
There are difrence between humanbeing and animals, why haunsa and boko boys are going about killing innocent people 4 no reason, thanks mr felix 4 showing some idiote that guns are not only 4 commiting attrocity as they do, well don.
Posted: at 22-04-2014 02:31 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
@ Mr Felix timilaemi and his boys thanks to you guys efforts to tackle the oil thieves in that region,may it be so ,as its writing here ,but one more thing any person you guys catch in the act,the person should be handover to the execution personnel for trail,not for you guys to set the person ablaze boc that is not of clean hands ,except if the battle harsh to that point mistakenly,and other bad thing in this game now is while preventing those local thieves from stealing the public oil, is like enhances the fitfulness of those officers in the highest bureaucracy to funds their pocket to their satisfactions,while other citizens are hungry.
Posted: at 22-04-2014 03:22 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Topsylucas at 22-04-2014 05:34 PM (11 years ago) (f)
We all shd take a cue 4rm dis man & work 2geda 2 build our communities,then our nation. We don't have anywhere else 2 go,we've only got nigeria. Pls let's cultivate positive attitudes,stop bribery & corruptn on our level b4 castigatin our president. Meaning ppl shd read 4 exams & not bribe examiners,we shd queue 2 board buses & not cheat on queues,we shd be law abiding & obey traffic rules & d list goes on. Let's do d right things & God will help us.
Posted: at 22-04-2014 05:34 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
odimajorr at 22-04-2014 05:52 PM (11 years ago) (m)
Quote from: daveobahon on 22-04-2014 03:43 PM
I hope we all learn 4rm ds,mr Felix did not start abusing d govt,he has taken responsibility unlyk sum pple in ds forum
True talk, no be GEJ be our problem so to say. We need to check ourselves too. Imagine u bought a pure water while in a bus then after drinkin u throw it out. That's shuldnt be. If we Nigerians can change our attitude, character and perspectives towards life, maybe we won't be complainin after all.
Eminem
Posted: at 22-04-2014 05:52 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming