Must Read: Nigerian Hunters Join Effort to Find Missing Chibok Girls...!!!

Date: 19-05-2014 6:54 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 19-05-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

A group of hundreds of hunters and vigilantes have been staying in Maiduguri,
hoping to join the search for the missing Nigerian schoolgirls…

They Await a Chance to Penetrate Forests Thought to Contain Boko Haram......

The Wall Street Journal

MAIDUGURI, Nigeria
May 18, 2014

After a lifetime of chasing rats and antelope through the woods, several hundred hunters carried their rifles to this city last week to plan their biggest hunt yet: the search for 223 kidnapped schoolgirls.

"I know the forests. I was born in the forests," said 70-year-old Dan Baba Kano, a huntsman in a purple frock, who added that he wasn't afraid of dying in the forests: "At my age? No."

Armed with homemade rifles and bows and arrows, hunters in these parts of northern Nigeria insist they can penetrate the forests where the army has so far refused to enter. Their campaign is low-tech—especially compared with the surveillance drones now part of the operation. And they have yet to leave their dusty, Maiduguri camp.

But their offer exposes the one thing Islamist militancy Boko Haram, for all its ferocious weaponry, increasingly lacks: popular support. The group's kidnapping and killing rampage is turning Nigeria's countryside against it. Last week, vigilantes in the nearby village of Kalabalge repelled a Boko Haram attack, in part by firing from the trenches they had dug when they first heard the group was coming to raze their homes.

"These people kill anybody, whether you are Muslims, Christians, anything," said a leader of the hunters' guild, who said Boko Haram shot and killed his brother, a pharmacist, two years ago.

After a half decade of insurgency by Boko Haram, the kidnapping of several hundred high-school students, taken the night before their final exams, has proved to be a pivotal moment. On Twitter, it has sparked a groundswell of tweets tagged #BringBackOurGirls that has in turn pushed world leaders— Barack Obama, David Cameron and François Hollande among them— to offer help.

That international and domestic attention has put intense pressure on Nigeria's President Goodluck Jonathan, who has been criticized for moving too slowly to rescue the girls. Nigeria's military has also been cautious about venturing into the forest that serves as a Boko Haram stronghold. Many soldiers say they lack the guns, bullets and body armor to face the heavily armed group.

The government needs all the help it can muster in its bid to defeat an insurgency blamed for more than 7,000 deaths over the past two years and a spate of recent abductions. On Saturday, the same day Western and African leaders met in Paris to discuss joint efforts to combat Boko Haram, suspected militants kidnapped 10 Chinese workers from a town in next-door Cameroon.

Western powers are pressing the United Nations to designate Boko Haram a terrorist organization, senior U.S. officials said on Saturday, a move that would subject the group's members to sanctions such as asset freezes and travel bans.

"It could be next week. It could be that quick," U.S. Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs Wendy Sherman said in Paris on Saturday, adding: "Frankly, I can't imagine any country who would not support this designation."

Saturday's talks carved out a preliminary deal for intelligence swaps and tighter military cooperation between Nigeria and African countries that border the vast hinterlands where Boko Haram operates.

The foreign governments plan one of the most high-tech manhunts in modern history. The U.S. is sending both manned and unmanned airplanes to survey the forests where Boko Haram is thought to be holding the nearly 300 girls it kidnapped on April 14; 53 later escaped. The U.K. is dispatching a sentinel surveillance plane, and China is sending satellite data.

The major thing they haven't agreed to send is troops. Even if the 21st century technology can pinpoint the girls—a big if—it isn't clear who would dare cross into the woods to retrieve them.

That is what the hunters would like to do. Along with vigilantes and pro-government villagers, they represent a rising resistance to Boko Haram.

"Our main mission is to rescue these girls," the leader of the hunters' guild said.

The roughly 400 hunters gathered on the outskirts of Maiduguri over the past two weeks. Many of them, in their 60s and 70s, are armed with swords, daggers, bows and poison-tipped arrows. Several taped flashlights to homemade rifles to see at night.

They sleep on bare earth and lack for vehicles. Many have cellphones—even smartphones—but reception is poor, and the hunters still call across the forest using cattle horns.

Exactly one has heard of Twitter. None knows what #BringBackOurGirls is.

The group they hope to defeat boasts rocket-propelled grenades; night-vision goggles; satellite phones; and heavy machine guns mounted to their pickup trucks.

In one instance, vigilantes led soldiers to the town of Mari, where Boko Haram had been spotted carrying girls alongside a river, said Bello Dambatta, a spokesman for the civilian Joint Task Force, one of the vigilante groups. By the time the troops arrived, Boko Haram had crossed the river in canoes, and the soldiers, he said, didn't have canoes to follow.

Posted: at 19-05-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 19-05-2014 08:57 PM (9 years ago)
I praise and admire the courage of these local men and hunters.

No doubt the army is ill-equipped with low morale if any at all.

They the politicians have spent all the money on themselves
……building personal mansions, buying private jets and armoured vehicles,
……throwing lavish parties, celebrating national weddings and birthdays,
......while ordinary Nigerians are victims of their profligacy.

Posted: at 19-05-2014 08:57 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 19-05-2014 10:08 PM (9 years ago)
gud
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:08 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kelvenny at 19-05-2014 10:10 PM (9 years ago)
This is serious ooo Lagos Big Girl Modupe And Her Friends intentionally Posts s3.x & na.k4d Photos on Twitter(Photos)
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:10 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- beejaybabs at 19-05-2014 10:21 PM (9 years ago)
Good

Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:21 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emnoeasy at 19-05-2014 10:24 PM (9 years ago)
No insult or intimidation meant to all my good and lovely Yoruba friends. A commentator on this piece by Femi Fani Kayode wrote this:

Submitted by Femi (UK) (not verified) on May, 18 2014, 1:05PM.

''When Ojukwu and the Ibos foresaw where Nigeria was heading to and agreed with Chief Awolowo that the East will break away as Biafra and that the Yorubas will follow thereafter as Oduduwa because of the wickedness of the Hausas, our own Chief Awolowo went back and betrayed the Ibos and then convinced us to join the hopeless and wicked Hausas to fight and murder the Ibos. There is no doubt that we were misled and VERY blind then. The chickens have since come to roost and we can now see clearly – albeit late. The Yorubas need to apologize unreservedly to the Ibos for our betrayal and crime against them, or we will all know no peace. It’s about time, and let us take what belongs to us and let us have the primitive, senseless, wicked and blood-sucking northerners go their way. We must do that now, or we and our children will all perish. It is clear we are not meant to be together with what is called the north of Nigeria.''

http://saharareporters.com/article/give-me-oduduwa-or-let-me-die-femi-fani-kayode
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:24 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 19-05-2014 10:26 PM (9 years ago)
I trust those hunters cuz them get juju like sege, them dey disappear and appear, them go just disappear and enter that forest and#bringbackourgirls#
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:26 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- otagermo at 19-05-2014 10:31 PM (9 years ago)
I dey laf
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- feranmicharl at 19-05-2014 10:33 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 19-05-2014 10:26 PM
I trust those hunters cuz them get juju like sege, them dey disappear and appear, them go just disappear and enter that forest and#bringbackourgirls#
hmmm na so o. Love it
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:33 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 19-05-2014 10:37 PM (9 years ago)
I pray those hunters get those girls bak.
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:37 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 19-05-2014 10:39 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:39 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EmekaBlue at 19-05-2014 10:46 PM (9 years ago)
Y cant america investigate d truth..D girlz isuue is a scam! USA r mocking Nigeria more than helping..phyuk them! Hunters d bush una dey enter na to go fight sum boko boyz no b girls una go find....And again politics is killing Nigerian military name..very soon cameroon go gather morale attack 9ja!
Posted: at 19-05-2014 10:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 19-05-2014 11:21 PM (9 years ago)
poster poster Roll EyesRoll EyesRoll Eyes
Posted: at 19-05-2014 11:21 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- odprince at 19-05-2014 11:28 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: emnoeasy on 19-05-2014 10:24 PM
No insult or intimidation meant to all my good and lovely Yoruba friends. A commentator on this piece by Femi Fani Kayode wrote this:

Submitted by Femi (UK) (not verified) on May, 18 2014, 1:05PM.

''When Ojukwu and the Ibos foresaw where Nigeria was heading to and agreed with Chief Awolowo that the East will break away as Biafra and that the Yorubas will follow thereafter as Oduduwa because of the wickedness of the Hausas, our own Chief Awolowo went back and betrayed the Ibos and then convinced us to join the hopeless and wicked Hausas to fight and murder the Ibos. There is no doubt that we were misled and VERY blind then. The chickens have since come to roost and we can now see clearly – albeit late. The Yorubas need to apologize unreservedly to the Ibos for our betrayal and crime against them, or we will all know no peace. It’s about time, and let us take what belongs to us and let us have the primitive, senseless, wicked and blood-sucking northerners go their way. We must do that now, or we and our children will all perish. It is clear we are not meant to be together with what is called the north of Nigeria.''
http://saharareporters.com/article/give-me-oduduwa-or-let-me-die-femi-fani-kayode

THE YEYORUBA  AWOLOWO WAS BLIND AND BETRAY IGBO'S,TODAY,EVERYONE HAVE SEEN WHAT THE PROPHET OJUKWU SAW.ALL NIGERIANS WILL BE SUFFERING AND INNOCENT PEOPLE WILL BE KILLED,BECAUSE MILLIONS OF INNOCENT IGBO'S WAS KILLED AND HAUSA'S SELL MANY AS SLAVES.....UNTIL BIAFRA IS FREE,THERE WILL BE NO PEACE IN NIGERIA...WE ARE NOT ONE,BIAFRA WE STAND..BOKO WILL BE KILLING MORE EVERYDAY,FREE BIAFRA....
Posted: at 19-05-2014 11:28 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chisparlis at 19-05-2014 11:33 PM (9 years ago)
i just deh laugh in spanishtical  way
Posted: at 19-05-2014 11:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Y-ON at 20-05-2014 12:13 AM (9 years ago)
Every Man need's a Woman nah.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 12:13 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 20-05-2014 01:21 AM (9 years ago)
with this local guns....them just want to show themself..
Posted: at 20-05-2014 01:21 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Topsylucas at 20-05-2014 01:35 AM (9 years ago)
I'm tired of this story. 2day they'll say the girls are truly missing,2mr they'll say its a scam. I dnt know what 2 believe anymore. And how can 60/70 yrs old hunters free 230 girls (if they actually exist) 4rm the den of well armed boko bastards? This is laughable. And funny enuf, the way some nigerians think, u'll knw that many ppl are delirious. So many youths commenting on forums all over nigeria will quickly accept & praise this  funny action by ill-equiped old hunters. Abeg where are our soldiers? Or don't nigeria have any? Why hasn't the army been armed with more sophisticated weapons? #SMH#
Posted: at 20-05-2014 01:35 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bankable at 20-05-2014 02:00 AM (9 years ago)
All these Ibos fighting tribal war on naijapals, go fight with government please, am tired of tribalistic comments... Make una go if una want go NO ONE ON THIS FORUM CAN HELP YOU.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 02:00 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- newtoncruz at 20-05-2014 02:46 AM (9 years ago)
to tell you that Nigerian government is tired and weak over COMMON boko haram
shame and woo unto you  LEADERS.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 02:46 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming