Nollywood Movies are Too Boring & Predictable - Jim Iyke

Date: 13-06-2014 10:43 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 13-06-2014 10:43 AM (9 years ago)
The Nollywood actor has been making headlines for the days now and the buzz isn’t going down anytime soon.
In an interview with us, he speaks on controversies, Nollywood, and his partner Nadia Buari.

On being out of the movie scene for a while: “Nothing was challenging anymore. It was too easy and too perpetual. It was too boring and too predictable. I had no room to pursue or hone other skill sets I had. I didn’t have time for extra curriculums like hobbies, family, and friends, personal and social advancements. Something had to give! After all, I was the guy that made 38 films in a year”

On Nollywod’s slow progress: “Ours, if it isn’t oil and politics, then it isn’t attainable. They tie up funds in bogus and outlandish conditions and make bold and futuristic propaganda-driven statements as to how it is accessible to every practitioner that simply has to ask for the taking.

The sad part is that the practitioners do not even recognise the most basic of their fundamental rights. How can you ask, when you don’t understand what you’re asking for? The ones that do understand and fight to the helm of affairs are busy fighting each other and developing schemes to enrich their shallow pockets.”

On Controversies: “I’ve heard that I deem myself something of a puppeteer and that I orchestrate these media maelstroms to maintain relevance and news. I wish I was that creative! The other side of the debate – the more discerning would argue – I’m a victim of PR machinery gone wrong. Perhaps my handlers in the earlier stages of my career saw a need to create an unfathomable media being that was as audacious as the characters I played in films.
It caught on. Caused quite a stir, then quickly spiralled out of control. There were days when I wondered if I could have done something about it; like a campaign to state I was a different person. But then, the media loved it too much. It sold millions of movies. It sold papers. It also sold my privacy and peace of mind. I struggled for years to understand what it was doing to my psyche, my relationships, my family, my spirituality.”

On Nadia Buari: “She (Nadia) is a solid down-to-earth woman. I’m a man that translates variables in ways many people find incomprehensible. We have embraced who we are and learnt to create our own world and expectations. We have ups and downs like every other couple.
We have our strength and weakness as well. At the end of the day, rumours of break ups and make ups ought to abound. It really doesn’t matter. A relationship is a continuous work. Those that give up, perhaps weren’t committed enough. Those that go in for the long haul suck up and square up to the variables life throws at them. The people that judge harshly are obviously the ones that live far from their desired lives. We just live the best way we know how and leave the rest to the author and finisher of all things.”

On if he will run for AGN President: “I’ve had occasion where they tried to drag me into this unpredictable territory. I assure you categorically Nollywood politics holds no iota of interest for me.”

Posted: at 13-06-2014 10:43 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- jane4real at 13-06-2014 11:12 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-06-2014 11:12 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 13-06-2014 11:18 AM (9 years ago)
Noted,next pls
Posted: at 13-06-2014 11:18 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 13-06-2014 11:27 AM (9 years ago)
Next
Posted: at 13-06-2014 11:27 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 13-06-2014 11:39 AM (9 years ago)
U said so many thgs but will talk abt d nollwood part. U were part of dat boring nollwood and ur parts u played was not somethg anybody will emulate not even a real gangster. B4 u throw stone to a glass house pls check urs cus u live in glass house too.
Posted: at 13-06-2014 11:39 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tankNZ at 13-06-2014 11:40 AM (9 years ago)
next
Posted: at 13-06-2014 11:40 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- micc at 13-06-2014 12:04 PM (9 years ago)
So na now u know ?
Posted: at 13-06-2014 12:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- okilo101 at 13-06-2014 12:19 PM (9 years ago)
Nxt
Posted: at 13-06-2014 12:19 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 13-06-2014 12:24 PM (9 years ago)
next pls
Posted: at 13-06-2014 12:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ogebig at 13-06-2014 12:33 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 13-06-2014 11:39 AM
U said so many thgs but will talk abt d nollwood part. U were part of dat boring nollwood and ur parts u played was not somethg anybody will emulate not even a real gangster. B4 u throw stone to a glass house pls check urs cus u live in glass house too.
jealousy,  if u dont like his part, hahaha, he never even notice that he's making his cool cash, there is millions out there dying to watch his movies,
Posted: at 13-06-2014 12:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 13-06-2014 12:56 PM (9 years ago)
No comment bcus I no read am
Posted: at 13-06-2014 12:56 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Purpleone at 13-06-2014 01:07 PM (9 years ago)
Oh boy the guy ready come this interview Grin
Posted: at 13-06-2014 01:07 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 13-06-2014 01:08 PM (9 years ago)
JIM YOU ARE FULL OF CHILDISH CONTROVERSIES. THESE ARE THE SAME MOVIES THAT MADE YOU WHAT YOU ARE TODAY. HOW COME YOU TURN AROUND TO CRITICISE THEM?

BASED ON THE SAD PUBLICITIES YOU'VE FACED IN RECENT TIMES, IT'S TIME YOU TRIED AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE TO STAY-AWAY FROM THE PUBLIC EYE AND DO SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE WITH YOUR LIFE.  
Posted: at 13-06-2014 01:08 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 13-06-2014 03:40 PM (9 years ago)
U SAID IT ALL. VERY VERY CORRECT
Posted: at 13-06-2014 03:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ythonna at 13-06-2014 04:05 PM (9 years ago)
Jim tell dat 2 people inside cave, u never start untill u speak in tongues.
Posted: at 13-06-2014 04:05 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- sucre4u at 13-06-2014 05:04 PM (9 years ago)
So na nw u discova say una movie dey boring n predictable abi
Posted: at 13-06-2014 05:04 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 13-06-2014 05:10 PM (9 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 13-06-2014 05:10 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 13-06-2014 05:17 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-06-2014 05:17 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- humphreyedet at 13-06-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago)
I just too lik dis guy..let dem keep gossiping why we mak our money..so were born to watch and some to art..
Posted: at 13-06-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- humphreyedet at 13-06-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago)
I just too lik dis guy..let dem keep gossiping why we mak our money..so were born to watch and some to art..
Posted: at 13-06-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming