59 People in Lagos Came in Contact with Late Liberian Ebola Victim

Date: 29-07-2014 7:23 am (9 years ago) | Author: apala
- at 29-07-2014 07:23 AM (9 years ago)

On Monday 28th July 2014, the Lagos State Government revealed that 59 persons came in contact with the 40 year old Liberian man who died of the Ebola virus recently. His body was later cremated.

According to Dr. Jide Idris – the Commissioner for Health, the number of people included 44 health care workers and 15 other people at the Murtala Muhammed Airport, Lagos.

It is yet to be known the number of people that came in contact with the Liberian on the plane to Nigeria as the Asky Airline management is yet to provide the information.

Out of the 55 known contacts, 20 had been screened and released. 50% had type one contact, while the other 50% had type two contact.

Dr. Idris however urged Nigerians not to panic, that no one else in the country had been infected with the virus.

“We can categorically state that as of today, we have only one case of imported Ebola and death. No Nigerian is infected, but all contacts are being actively followed.

We call on all Nigerians to be calm and not panic. We assure them that both the state and the Federal Government are up in arms to ensure that the virus did not escape and that no Nigeria is infected with this virus.” he said.

He stated that an emergency operations centre has been made available at the Central Public Health Laboratory in Yaba, Lagos, and an isolation ward has been put in place at the Infectious Disease Hospital, Yaba for case management.

Three other health facilities will also be made available soon.

Ebola Symptoms
According to Dr. Yewande Adesina – the Special Adviser to Governor Babatunde Fashola, here are the symptoms of the illness.

Malaria and difficulty in eating
Vomitting
Stooling as if one has Diarrhoea
Blood later comes out of the eyes, ears, nose, anus and private parts

Posted: at 29-07-2014 07:23 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- AbokiJ at 29-07-2014 07:53 AM (9 years ago)
Ebola: Lagos Govt identifies 59 contacts with
dead Liberian victim “The airline manifest has not been provided by the airline as at the time of this report and therefore, the precise number of passenger contacts is yet to be ascertained, especially as two flights were involved (Monrovia-Lome and Lome-Lagos).”

Posted: at 29-07-2014 07:53 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- bulky15 at 29-07-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago)
May God help us. Did this man Intentionally came to nigeria to spread d virus or what? Knowing d level of risk involved he shouldn't have travelled out of his country or is he not aware he has d virus? God pls we need your intervention!
Posted: at 29-07-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 29-07-2014 09:47 AM (9 years ago)
Elmatado na num 1, beneno num 2, papadip num 4, then when the man say he want one night stand them come call hopea23 for him... She come be num 5. Abeg make naijapals quarantine them make them no come infect us with ebola virus.
Posted: at 29-07-2014 09:47 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- PeacetoU at 29-07-2014 09:48 AM (9 years ago)
The virus seems to be worst than aids oooo
Posted: at 29-07-2014 09:48 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freshlycrazy at 29-07-2014 10:00 AM (9 years ago)
like he said no Nigerian is affected... YET...
Posted: at 29-07-2014 10:00 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- viddycool at 29-07-2014 10:04 AM (9 years ago)
God see us through we are covered with the blood of Jesus. Amen
Posted: at 29-07-2014 10:04 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- donpet at 29-07-2014 10:18 AM (9 years ago)
We can categorically state that as of today, we have only one case of imported Ebola and death. No Nigerian is infected, but all contacts are being actively followed
Posted: at 29-07-2014 10:18 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- orekiata at 29-07-2014 10:24 AM (9 years ago)
We shd try to maintain  high personal hygiene, avoid eating bush meat for now, reduce hand shaking,  have a positive mindset and TRUST IN GOD TO PROTECT AFTER DOING ALL THE NEEDFUL. I pray that Nigeria is excluded from this calamity,  we have not been able to handle the bh menance.  God is our refuge and shield IJN.
Posted: at 29-07-2014 10:24 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sucre4u at 29-07-2014 12:47 PM (9 years ago)
Lord av mercy
Posted: at 29-07-2014 12:47 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 29-07-2014 03:57 PM (9 years ago)
GOD is in control
Posted: at 29-07-2014 03:57 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 29-07-2014 04:03 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 29-07-2014 09:47 AM
Elmatado na num 1, beneno num 2, papadip num 4, then when the man say he want one night stand them come call hopea23 for him... She come be num 5. Abeg make naijapals quarantine them make them no come infect us with ebola virus.
so that your lips wey swell up like pumped tube without tyre,u dey wait for doctor to come tell u say ni Ebola swell put for the lips before u know ?guy  u dull o if ni wetin u dey wait before u know  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-07-2014 04:03 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 30-07-2014 10:51 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 30-07-2014 10:51 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 26-08-2015 04:44 AM (8 years ago)
Wicked soul
Posted: at 26-08-2015 04:44 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

2. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

3. Actor, Zubby Michael Finally Mourns Late Colleague Junior Pope, Netizens React

4. I Saw it Very Clearly - Nigerian Pastor Insists World Will End Today, April 25th

5. Passengers Stranded, Flights Disrupted as Fire Breaks Out at Lagos Airport

6. “Man Wearing Wig” - Blessing CEO Causes Commotion Online With Her Recent Dance Video

7. Shops, Residential Houses Demolished by Ebonyi Govt For Construction of New Flyover

8. Emotional Moment Nigerian Lady Based in UK Surprising Returned Home After 14yrs (Video)

9. Oyo State Government Declares Friday Half Working Day For Local Govt Election

10. How Police Inspector Aliyu Taofeek Sent Patrick Chinemerem to His Early Grave in Lagos

11. Shocking Video: Anambra Man Flogged to De@th by His Kinsmen Over Dispute on Family Property

12. FCCPC Raids Supermarkets in Port Harcourt, Seizes Underweight And Re-bagged Rice

13. About 118 Inmates Escape After Heavy Rainstorm Destroyed Prison in Niger State

14. Suspects Arrested Over Murder of 46yrs Old British-Nigerian Man, Okechukwu Iweha in London

3. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

4. How Past Abia Govt Paid N107.2 Bn To Contractors For Non-existent Abia Airport & Other Projects

5. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

7. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

9. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper