“People Don’t Believe I Am A Lagosian” - Olusola Desmond Elliot

Date: 27-10-2014 6:43 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 27-10-2014 06:43 AM (9 years ago)
For some months now, many Nollywood stars and entertainers have been revealing their intention to join politics.

And among them is Desmond Elliot who has declared his intention to represent Surulere constituency in Lagos State House of Assembly under APC. Desmond had shocked a lot of Nigerians and was mocked for it when he added “Olusola” to his campaign name.

A few days ago, he released his campaign poster and manifesto for his House of Assembly ambition and here's what he has to say about people not knowing he had Yoruba blood in his veins.

Speaking in an interview, Desmond said:

“I am from Lagos state. My father is from Olowogbowo in Lagos Island but my mother is from Delta state. I refer to myself as being a Pan-African. People don’t believe I am a Lagosian because I seldom act in Yoruba movies. And I didn’t include the Shola in my name. Then because my surname is also English, many couldn’t differentiate which made people confused of where exactly I am from. I am very detribalised. People of my constituency know my story and know where I come from. I have always used Shola in my primary school days. I went to Air Force Primary School in Plateau and later attended St John’s College, both in Jos. I proceeded to Lagos State University where I studied Economics and graduated in 2003.″

On his reasons for joining politics, Desmond explained that joining politics for him is an ambition he has been nursing for many years but only joined since this is one of the appropriate time to declare his intention. Hear him:

“Politics has been in me for many years but I wanted a party which was progressive. My choice of APC was because its stronger and progressive. The party is one you can identify with. This is also a good platform and a good party. It has lots of programs that cater for people’s welfare. It has so much differentiated itself from all others. This is one of the reasons why I decided to join the party” he explained.

What is his agenda if he eventually emerges the winner in the forth coming election?

Security and Housing for more people. Welfare insurance, Housing for more people, road usage, protection of entertainers against abuse of creativity, content right protection which is on ground but not enforced. A lot more we can do to make the state a cosmopolitan and mega city”.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 27-10-2014 06:43 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Trueyarn at 27-10-2014 07:01 AM (9 years ago)
All of una jst dey realise una intention abi?pray una no go Fø̲̣̣я̅ una pocket Ooº°˚
Posted: at 27-10-2014 07:01 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- electravio at 27-10-2014 07:13 AM (9 years ago)
Mr politician
Posted: at 27-10-2014 07:13 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 27-10-2014 07:22 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmmmm nice for u to join politics but pls go and make d difference as ayoung man and d guy abt d street who kns wat masses are going thru. Don't be entic by d corruption and d money u will get cheaply and forgot whr u are cuming from. We wish u well
Posted: at 27-10-2014 07:22 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- luckybliz at 27-10-2014 07:46 AM (9 years ago)
MakE I hear sumtin jarie...all of a sudden olus0la don nta ur Name....Mtcheeeeew yeye pe0ple
Posted: at 27-10-2014 07:46 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- DrSoba at 27-10-2014 07:46 AM (9 years ago)
It is the right time to start because President Jonathan is a weak man, you all want to take advantage of his weakness(es).
Posted: at 27-10-2014 07:46 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 27-10-2014 07:47 AM (9 years ago)
Wishing u all d best in life
Posted: at 27-10-2014 07:47 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jutinna at 27-10-2014 09:13 AM (9 years ago)
Desmond Elliot you are not  from lagos,your father is from delta state Udu logv area,
Posted: at 27-10-2014 09:13 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Ennyolalekan at 27-10-2014 09:50 AM (9 years ago)
For ur mind u won claim Lagosian...... SMH
Posted: at 27-10-2014 09:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 27-10-2014 10:04 AM (9 years ago)
MONEY DEY 4 POLITICS OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 27-10-2014 10:04 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 27-10-2014 10:13 AM (9 years ago)
HELLO READERS! THIS IS A COMMENT BY AN EDUCATED NIGERIAN IN EUROPE BASED ON DESMOND ELLIOT'S STORY. DO YOU AGREE?

DEAR MR. ELLIOT,

THE MOVIE INDUSTRY IS A DEPENDABLE PLATFORM WHERE PEOPLE OPENLY SAY WHO THEY REALLY ARE AS IN; NAMES, AGE, STATE OF ORIGIN, EDUCATION IF ANY, PLACE OF BIRTH, ETC. UNEQUIVOCALLY HISTORY.

AS AN ACTOR WHAT REALLY STOPPED YOU FROM TELLING THE GENERAL PUBLIC ALL THESE WHILE YOU WERE IN THE MOVIE INDUSTRY? WHY ARE YOU SAYING THIS NOW THAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO POLITICS?

NO DISRESPECT, YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER MIGHT BE FROM ANY PART OF NIGERIA THAT IS NOT THE POINT. THE POINT IS THE INITIAL TRUTH WHICH REALLY MATTERS TO PEOPLE. YOU HAVE ONLY SUCCEEDED IN TELLING PEOPLE A ROASTED POEM.

NEVER GAMBLE WITH THE MINDS OF PEOPLE EVEN UNDER POLITICAL PRESSURE.

-CHIKA J, NJOKU
Posted: at 27-10-2014 10:13 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 27-10-2014 11:15 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 27-10-2014 11:15 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fdkenny at 27-10-2014 11:46 AM (9 years ago)
Fake promises. After you go forget your promises.
Posted: at 27-10-2014 11:46 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 27-10-2014 11:52 AM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 27-10-2014 11:52 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 27-10-2014 12:23 PM (9 years ago)
Lagosian indeed,,,,
Posted: at 27-10-2014 12:23 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 27-10-2014 12:31 PM (9 years ago)
Fake 'politrickster' per excellence...DOE Huh?

Posted: at 27-10-2014 12:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Doziefelix at 27-10-2014 01:27 PM (9 years ago)
Eliot, APC no be platform o.
Posted: at 27-10-2014 01:27 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- deguyondmove at 27-10-2014 04:23 PM (9 years ago)
@DMG17 Dear Chika, the entertainment sector is a special industry. Aside from other qualites ,showcasing talent is about all you need. Where one come from  as in origin or their name has never been an issue, though valuable to those that knows as no knowladge is waste. Acts across the globe are know by alias and adopted names. Facts check him and hold him accountable. The chips are down and he has put his cards on the table. I am not a Lagosian and can't vote, but I like it that he is talking a lot about manisfesto. Good luck to him.
Posted: at 27-10-2014 04:23 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Larry28 at 27-10-2014 05:03 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 27-10-2014 05:03 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- iamDonc at 27-10-2014 05:51 PM (9 years ago)
who cares??
Posted: at 27-10-2014 05:51 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming

1. NDLEA Busts International Drug Syndicate Operating Across Nigeria, South Africa, & Thailand

2. Allegations Of Bullying Surface Against Wofai Fada's Husband, Taiwo Cole (Photos)

3. Wofai Fada Receives Warm Welcome From Sister-in-Law Amid Family Disapproval

4. Lagos Police Nab Two Suspected Fraudsters, Seyi Demola and Wale Lawson, For Preying In Public

5. Samklef Opens Up On Why He Didn't Pursue Relationship With Simi During Struggling Days

6. "People See Influencers As Jobless Human Beings" – BBNaija Star, Anto Lecky

7. FCCPC Vows To Crack Down On Loan Apps Harassing Customers

8. Nigerian Couple Found Guilty Of Human Trafficking in US, Faces Up To 20 Years In Prison

9. DSS Seals Clinic In Plateau State Amid Allegations Of Quackery & Patient Death

10. Police Apprehend Seven Suspected Cultists & Armed Robbers In Anambra State Crackdown

11. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

12. Only Three Nigerian Universities Ranked Among Top 1,000 In The World (See Full List)

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

3. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

4. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

5. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

6. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

7. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

8. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

9. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

10. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada