EFCC discovers £10m in Erastus Akingbola's Acount

Date: 16-10-2009 9:19 am (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 16-10-2009 09:19 AM (14 years ago)
Operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) have traced about 10 million pounds allegedly laundered by former Group Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Intercontinental Bank Erastus Akingbola to some of his personal foreign accounts.

Daily Trust learnt yesterday that EFCC started probing the foreign accounts of the five former bank chiefs sacked by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) following discoveries that they may have engaged in money laundering.

A senior official who did not want to be named said the latest discovery on Akingbola’s case is the reason why the anti-graft agency is pushing for his repatriation.

The official also said a prima facie case has been established against the former bank chief and the legal department of the commission are in the process of preparing his charge sheet.

According to the source, once EFCC charges Akingbola to court it will inform the government of the country where the monies have been lodged to freeze his accounts.

CBN sacked the former bank chief alongside former Managing Directors of Union Bank Bartholomew Ebong, Afribank Sebastian Adigwe, Finbank Okey Nwosu and Oceanic International Bank Mrs. Cecilia Ibru on August 14 for issuing non-performing loans worth N740billion.

Four of the sacked bank chiefs and 14 ex-directors excluding Akingbola are now facing trial before a federal High Court in Lagos for various offences including conspiracy to influence prices of stocks, granting of unsecured loans, surpassing their banks’ approval limits in granting loans, granting credit facilities without the approval of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and failure to take necessary steps to ensure the correctness of the Quality Bank Return to the CBN.

Akingbola had travelled to the UK a few days before the sack, after holding a meeting with the staff and informing them of the impending CBN action.

The former bank chief currently in the UK was later declared wanted by EFCC for failure to honour invitations to answer questions regarding non-performing loans the Intercontinental Bank had accrued.

So far EFCC has recovered over N35 billion from debtors owing the bank.

Posted: at 16-10-2009 09:19 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- macgreat at 16-10-2009 09:44 AM (14 years ago)
Interesting

Posted: at 16-10-2009 09:44 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Pakudu at 16-10-2009 01:20 PM (14 years ago)
God will help us.
Posted: at 16-10-2009 01:20 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- solo4real at 16-10-2009 01:57 PM (14 years ago)
i am one of the few nigerians who believe there's a lot of political undertone to the recent shakeup in banks.
 I believe Erastus Akingbola is a deeply rooted christian and so i would like to call these stories mere allegations until proven otherwise.
However, if these allegations are founded and proven true, my heart will bleed 4 Nigeria, are there still honest men in this country who can stand the test of time?
Posted: at 16-10-2009 01:57 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Agatex at 16-10-2009 02:20 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: solo4real on 16-10-2009 01:57 PM
i am one of the few nigerians who believe there's a lot of political undertone to the recent shakeup in banks.
 I believe Erastus Akingbola is a deeply rooted christian and so i would like to call these stories mere allegations until proven otherwise.
However, if these allegations are founded and proven true, my heart will bleed 4 Nigeria, are there still honest men in this country who can stand the test of time?

you better start bleeding from the heart cos there is no smoke without fire and are alot of tins to come that ll make your heart bleed more untill the whole blood in your system drains, then you will understand the extent of corruption in Nigeria.
Posted: at 16-10-2009 02:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 16-10-2009 08:24 PM (14 years ago)
okz.... but passin
Posted: at 16-10-2009 08:24 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 16-10-2009 08:26 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: solo4real on 16-10-2009 01:57 PM

i dey laf u  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 16-10-2009 08:26 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Emmanuel4christ at 17-10-2009 02:19 AM (14 years ago)
omg see this man oooo hmmm make i no talk *my beloved country*..do they ever think of death!!! which is inevitable
Posted: at 17-10-2009 02:19 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vicamuda at 17-10-2009 07:25 AM (14 years ago)
Too bad.... hav never been so short of words...what can i say, the irresponsible life style of our leaders in nigeria continues................he was my role model!
Posted: at 17-10-2009 07:25 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 17-10-2009 11:40 AM (14 years ago)
hmmm...........they arent the first.........they are pupils and are still learning the act of thiefing.......EFCC should get their teachers too.......the big fish them

Posted: at 17-10-2009 11:40 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- biamblinks at 17-10-2009 01:27 PM (14 years ago)
Naija Naija
Posted: at 17-10-2009 01:27 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- elusakin at 20-10-2009 07:29 AM (14 years ago)
Story, Story! STORY!!!

Akingbola is a typical yoruba man, he understands a man that coconut was cracked on his head, won't eat out of it.

He doesn't want to be a scape-goat to politicals gangsta.

Thank God he ran away for his life, before it was taken by force from him.

NB:
I smell politics in the banking sectors now. 6 months after Soludo left, imbroglio and brouhaha started happening.
Posted: at 20-10-2009 07:29 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- waco at 21-10-2009 03:08 PM (14 years ago)
so much money in Nigeria.

Posted: at 21-10-2009 03:08 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- elijaha at 23-10-2009 01:07 PM (14 years ago)
well I reserve me opinion now  untill the case is proved beyond a reasonable doubt. A man is not guilty until proved otherwise by the law court. To me personally, This  issue against Akingbola is just a romour yet to be proved otherwise
Posted: at 23-10-2009 01:07 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- onuorahuchenna at 23-10-2009 11:34 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 16-10-2009 09:19 AM
Operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) have traced about 10 million pounds allegedly laundered by former Group Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Intercontinental Bank Erastus Akingbola to some of his personal foreign accounts.

Daily Trust learnt yesterday that EFCC started probing the foreign accounts of the five former bank chiefs sacked by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) following discoveries that they may have engaged in money laundering.

A senior official who did not want to be named said the latest discovery on Akingbola’s case is the reason why the anti-graft agency is pushing for his repatriation.

The official also said a prima facie case has been established against the former bank chief and the legal department of the commission are in the process of preparing his charge sheet.

According to the source, once EFCC charges Akingbola to court it will inform the government of the country where the monies have been lodged to freeze his accounts.

CBN sacked the former bank chief alongside former Managing Directors of Union Bank Bartholomew Ebong, Afribank Sebastian Adigwe, Finbank Okey Nwosu and Oceanic International Bank Mrs. Cecilia Ibru on August 14 for issuing non-performing loans worth N740billion.

Four of the sacked bank chiefs and 14 ex-directors excluding Akingbola are now facing trial before a federal High Court in Lagos for various offences including conspiracy to influence prices of stocks, granting of unsecured loans, surpassing their banks’ approval limits in granting loans, granting credit facilities without the approval of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and failure to take necessary steps to ensure the correctness of the Quality Bank Return to the CBN.

Akingbola had travelled to the UK a few days before the sack, after holding a meeting with the staff and informing them of the impending CBN action.

The former bank chief currently in the UK was later declared wanted by EFCC for failure to honour invitations to answer questions regarding non-performing loans the Intercontinental Bank had accrued.

So far EFCC has recovered over N35 billion from debtors owing the bank.

DGUY THE STORY TOO MUCH, I NO GO FIT FINISH AM YOU MUST LEARN HOW TO SHORTEN YOUR WRITING.
Posted: at 23-10-2009 11:34 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- soki4real at 1-06-2012 02:30 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 1-06-2012 02:30 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming