President Jonathan Likens Nigeria’s Challenges To Israelites’ Journey To Canaan

Date: 11-01-2015 9:21 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-01-2015 09:21 PM (9 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan on Sunday likened the current challenges facing the country to the hardship encountered by the Israelites on their journey from Egypt to the Promised Land.

Jonathan spoke during his foster daughter’s wedding thanksgiving service at the Cathedral Church of the Advent, Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion, Life Camp, Abuja.

He told the congregation that just as the Israelites eventually made it to Canaan despite the numerous challenges that confronted them on the way, Nigeria would get to its desired destination.

The president urged Nigerians to continue to support the government and pray for the country, adding that government would keep doing its best to overcome the challenges.

“This is a period in which the whole world is being challenged, just like some of the passages we read.
“Whenever I think about all these happenings in Nigeria it makes me remember the journey of the Israelites from Egypt to the Promised Land.

“When God promised they were going to be given a land full of milk and honey, ordinarily one would have expected them to just walk in and get the milk and honey.

“But they had to cross the Red Sea; that was a challenge. They had to meet people like Annas and others. That was a big challenge, but because God wanted them to be there they were able to get there.

“Surely, we will get to where we want to go as a nation. We may have the road bumps, we may have the obstacles but we will crush them and pass them.

“All we want to request is your continued support and your prayers, and we promise we will continue to do our best.’’

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the thanksgiving service followed the wedding of the president’s foster daughter, Inebharapu Paul, with Simeon Onyemaechi, on Saturday.
The ceremony, which held at the Ecumenical Centre, Abuja, had attracted important dignitaries including former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

The wedding reception was later held at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

While thanking God for success in the entire marriage process, Jonathan asked the congregation to join him in prayers for peace and happiness to reign in the couple’s home.

The president was joined by his wife, Dame Patience Jonathan; his mother, Eunice, and some of his aides.

NAN also reports that special prayers were offered by the Primate of the Anglican Church, the Most Revd, Nicholas Okoh, for couple, the first family and for the nation.

He later presented a carton of the Anglican annual devotional as a gift to the president as well as the church’s hymn books and calendar to the couple.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 11-01-2015 09:21 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victormorgan at 11-01-2015 09:27 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-01-2015 09:27 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- jamepinto at 11-01-2015 09:34 PM (9 years ago)
story stroy stroy for the gods Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 11-01-2015 09:34 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 11-01-2015 09:37 PM (9 years ago)
it took the Israelites 40 years to reach the promised land.........for 54 years now, Nigeria has not even crossed our Red sea, let alone see the promised land
Posted: at 11-01-2015 09:37 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- isbigo at 11-01-2015 09:56 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on 11-01-2015 09:37 PM
it took the Israelites 40 years to reach the promised land.........for 54 years now, Nigeria has not even crossed our Red sea, let alone see the promised land
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 11-01-2015 09:56 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 11-01-2015 09:59 PM (9 years ago)
So your name is Goodluck Ebele Azikiwe Moses Jonathan ??

Stop fooling yourself by trying to fool us.
Posted: at 11-01-2015 09:59 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ksurrina at 11-01-2015 10:03 PM (9 years ago)
Your own President is letting you to know that you are UNGODLY and DISOBEDIENT. To be compare with the Children of Israel is a SHAME unto anyone who Believe in God. The PARENTS never made it but the CHILDREN did and many of the tribes never receive their inheritance after the death of Joshua. This man have no Knowledge of the things he speaks about. Darkness is truly a Fool's world. Hugs

PS: Nigerians who enjoy displaying the FOOL you are when I write don't bother to response. I have gotten to know that many of you are ILLITERATES "Can't read and write" even though sporting Degree. So I have no time for your OPINIONS and FACTS. I speak with TRUTH because I am not afraid of MEN. I only FEAR Jesus Christ the Lord our God whom I am His Servant. Let the LIGHT SHINE so those who are not perish as you Man worshipping ones can read and draw closer to their God.

Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:03 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 11-01-2015 10:03 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on 11-01-2015 09:37 PM

bro don't worry ............... All is well ...............
The change is gonna happen soon ............. Take heart bros ................ We shall reach our promise land .........
Just be calm and cool ... We shall ve the change very soon !!!................... Just vote wisely bro .........  
Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:03 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 11-01-2015 10:10 PM (9 years ago)
This man called Jona.. Enough of all this shit u are saying abeg
Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:10 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- femjay at 11-01-2015 10:11 PM (9 years ago)
Imagine Jonah doing changing of name .............. Goodluck Ebele" Moses" Jonathan .............. Yeye talk from a. village headmaster ...................

Somebody should. Tell this man to stop fooling himself .................. Nigerians are tired of him....... ............. It cant believe such a clueless man like this will be comparing himself to " Moses ". This man is the highest Comedian of the order ............. Yeye man
Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 11-01-2015 10:16 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: femjay on 11-01-2015 10:11 PM
Imagine Jonah doing changing of name .............. Goodluck Ebele" Moses" Jonathan .............. Yeye talk from a. village headmaster ...................

Somebody should tell this man to stop fooling himself .................. Nigerians are tired of him....... ............. I cant believe such a clueless man like this will be comparing himself to " Moses ". This man is the highest Comedian of the order ............. Yeye man.   

People supporting this man aint see way and light  at all.  take note of this ......... 
Correction
Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:16 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 11-01-2015 10:25 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:25 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- schmit at 11-01-2015 10:44 PM (9 years ago)
Dis man carry election matter enter him daughter wedding, na wa ooo every vote dey important,lol
Posted: at 11-01-2015 10:44 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 12-01-2015 01:01 AM (9 years ago)
talking trash
Posted: at 12-01-2015 01:01 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Dereknosh at 12-01-2015 01:37 AM (9 years ago)
After listening to Jonathan speech in lagos campaign. I can only compare him to a market woman. An opportunist. A symbol of Nigeria failed educational system.
Posted: at 12-01-2015 01:37 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- morgrawl231 at 12-01-2015 05:14 AM (9 years ago)
We all know u to b a politician,,,dont come and preach for us here oo,,,,gone are dos days that u came out and tell us dat sometimes ago ''YOU HAD NO SHOES''
Forget story oga Jonah,,,,,How Isrealite take relate with 9ja?Huh?
Posted: at 12-01-2015 05:14 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- shannon034 at 12-01-2015 05:18 AM (9 years ago)
True talk Mr President
Posted: at 12-01-2015 05:18 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 12-01-2015 06:22 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 12-01-2015 06:22 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 12-01-2015 08:16 AM (9 years ago)
SEE ME PASSING
Posted: at 12-01-2015 08:16 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 12-01-2015 09:40 AM (9 years ago)
You are not saying the truth
Posted: at 12-01-2015 09:40 AM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

4. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

5. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

6. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

7. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

8. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

9. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

10. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

11. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

12. 400L Nasarawa Varsity Student, John Rudeh Declared Missing After Palliative Stampede

13. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

14. He Sees Liam As A Competitor And A Threat- Late Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Laments

15. "Don’t Curse Nigeria, Remove Bad Leaders In 2027" – Tinubu To Religious Leaders

16. Court Remands 42Yr Old Man For Allegedly Defiling & Impregnating 11Yr Old Girl In Lagos

17. 25Yr Old Man, Aminu Ali Bags Life Imprisonment For Sodomizing Boy In Jigawa

18. Chinese Boss Beaten Blue And Black Over Unpaid Salary By Zimbabwean Workers

19. Ningi’s Suspension Is Injustice To Nigerians, Says Arewa Group

20. Oyo Govt To Punish Teachers Over Illegal Fees Collection

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

7. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)