Lagos State Governor, Mr Babatunde Fashola, SAN, has declared that the state Continuously Operating Reference Station (CORS) and Global Positioning System (GPS) which has been successfully completed will soon come up live.
GPS is a satellite-based radio navigation system, which allows users to determine their location anywhere in the world at any time of the day.
On the other hand, the CORS operates continuously from a permanent and stable location to track down dozens of GPS and Global Navigation Satellites (GNSS), receives and stores the data, removes any errors and transmits the enhanced satellite data to users in real time.
Fashola who was at a stakeholders meeting Thursday, at Alausa to ascertain the progress of the project, expressed satisfaction and confirmed the successful completion of the project.
The Managing Director of GeoQinetiq limited, the firm that handled the project, Mrs Juliet Ezechie, in an interview shortly after the meeting, said the CORS data will soon be made available to MDAs, contractors, construction companies, engineers and surveyors to enable them fix and validating exact position information in the field through out the state to an accuracy of under 1cm
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 25-11-2009 08:22 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
black_samurai at 25-11-2009 12:40 PM (15 years ago) (m)
Bullshit! It should be nationwide. I hate Nigeria for these. Elsewhere on the globe, its either such development is channeled all over the country or nothing. Means if i'm using a navigator, it'll work only in Lagos state and not even in the neighboring states. Besides, its not supposed to be a state govt project except if its a particular GPS protocol.
Speach is silver, silence is Gold!
Posted: at 25-11-2009 12:40 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
itong4u2nv at 25-11-2009 11:11 PM (15 years ago) (m)
see...its not by talking oh....that thing cannot work unless there is good road network...all those batcher houses and ajegunle areas.....do you think it will work there? abeg.....let them do something about the roads first before GPS...no offence..
Posted: at 25-11-2009 11:11 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
DEBONAIR at 26-11-2009 12:53 PM (15 years ago) (m)
GOOD THINGS DONT COME AROUND SO ESAY BUT WHEN ONE DOES, ITS GOOD TO SHARE AGAIN AND I THINK YOU DESERVE ENJOY SUCH BENEFIT TOO AS A MEMBER OF THIS COMMUNITY... OWN A LAPTOP TODAY BY JUST READING MAILS...NO REGISTRATION CHARGE,NO COUNTRY RESTRICTION... JUST CLICK ON THIS LINK: http://ezlaptop.com/?r=784168 AND REGISTER THERE.
Posted: at 26-11-2009 12:53 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
Lagos State Governor, Mr Babatunde Fashola, SAN, has declared that the state Continuously Operating Reference Station (CORS) and Global Positioning System (GPS) which has been successfully completed will soon come up live.
GPS is a satellite-based radio navigation system, which allows users to determine their location anywhere in the world at any time of the day.
On the other hand, the CORS operates continuously from a permanent and stable location to track down dozens of GPS and Global Navigation Satellites (GNSS), receives and stores the data, removes any errors and transmits the enhanced satellite data to users in real time.
Fashola who was at a stakeholders meeting Thursday, at Alausa to ascertain the progress of the project, expressed satisfaction and confirmed the successful completion of the project.
The Managing Director of GeoQinetiq limited, the firm that handled the project, Mrs Juliet Ezechie, in an interview shortly after the meeting, said the CORS data will soon be made available to MDAs, contractors, construction companies, engineers and surveyors to enable them fix and validating exact position information in the field through out the state to an accuracy of under 1cm
good
Posted: at 26-11-2009 02:18 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac