On Tuesday, opposition leader General Muhammadu Buhari was elected President of Nigeria. Many across northern Nigeria, especially in Daura his birthplace, have been celebrating ever since.
The BBC's Abdullahi Kaura Abubakar visited the very house where Gen Buhari was born and here are photos. I munched them from the video the news site released and they truly reflect Buhari's humble beginnings. His relatives still live there.
Below is also pictured Gen Buhari's sister Rakiya Amadodo Muhammadu, who says she's excited and elated that he's been elected president of Nigeria.
Buhari's best friend Alhaji Lawal Aliyi.
House where GMB was born
For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 2-04-2015 07:11 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Ennyolalekan at 2-04-2015 07:18 AM (10 years ago) (m)
Sighted
Posted: at 2-04-2015 07:18 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Writing is my passion and facts-proofing is my hobby, I have been writing at Gistmania for close to a decade now and It is one of the most exciting things I do. Outside writing, I love enjoying time with my loved ones - if you have any tip for me, please do get in touch
Posted: at 2-04-2015 07:20 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
He couldnt change his home and native . Yet he wants to change Nigeria as a whole. He will only change and reward boko haram he started
You don't know anything about Buhari so you don't need to criticize him.. The former British Ambassador to Nigeria said in Chatam House that he is indeed surprised to see the kind of modest life Buhari lives as a Nigeria former head of state and a politician..so you don't expect such person to replace his family house with a mansion..Our mentality is part of our problems, we expect our politicians to be corruption free and yet we want them to build mansions for their relatives,forgetting that they are supposed to serve us and earn salaries...In fact, we need change of crazy mentality...
Posted: at 2-04-2015 12:24 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
All hail Sai Buhari. A true African President who is not a thief. Gen. Buhari a man of high integrity. Your excellency we want WAI back sir. Down with 419.
Sai Buhari ✌ ✌ ✌
Posted: at 2-04-2015 02:50 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
steveoneal at 2-04-2015 05:15 PM (10 years ago) (m)
Quote from: tmaxdon on 2-04-2015 12:24 PM
You don't know anything about Buhari so you don't need to criticize him.. The former British Ambassador to Nigeria said in Chatam House that he is indeed surprised to see the kind of modest life Buhari lives as a Nigeria former head of state and a politician..so you don't expect such person to replace his family house with a mansion..Our mentality is part of our problems, we expect our politicians to be corruption free and yet we want them to build mansions for their relatives,forgetting that they are supposed to serve us and earn salaries...In fact, we need change of crazy mentality...
You just save me time by explaning to that idiot, what i intended to tell him or her,, thats their mentality.. buhari still remains the poorest if i may use that word, among all the presidents nigeria has ever had, not that he couldnt enrich himself,, but he is so discplined.. but some idiots here would come now and start abusing him over this pictures, ,,, stupid people that lack logical , inductive and deductive reasoning..
Posted: at 2-04-2015 05:15 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
steveoneal at 2-04-2015 05:16 PM (10 years ago) (m)
Quote from: Judah1 on 2-04-2015 02:50 PM
All hail Sai Buhari. A true African President who is not a thief. Gen. Buhari a man of high integrity. Your excellency we want WAI back sir. Down with 419.
Sai Buhari ✌ ✌ ✌
confirm, na so he be.
Posted: at 2-04-2015 05:16 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
We thnk God for his life nd bakgrnd, @ least he ddnt build mansion for himsef ,vanity is vanity, jona nd dame d money nd houses wey dey pack dere is God for dem ooo
Posted: at 3-04-2015 10:40 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie