PDP Lost Power For Failing To Adhere To Single Term Agreement – Aliyu Babangida

Date: 17-04-2015 8:37 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-04-2015 08:37 PM (9 years ago)

Niger State governor, Dr. Babangida Aliyu, on Friday, claimed that the defeat of the Peoples Democratic Party at both national and state elections was not surprising to Nigerians, adding that the defeat was as a result of the refusal of the party to adhere to the single term agreement.

The governor spoke in Minna as a special guest of honour at the convocation lecture of the Federal University of Technology, Minna.

Aliyu said: “Many of us saw it coming. When I reminded us that we had an agreement for one term(that President Goodluck Jonathan had agreed to run for one term), they nearly crucified me. When I led the G7(group of seven aggrieved PDP governors), they did not do what we wanted them to do until five members left and they did what we asked them to do.”

The governor, addressing Prof. Ahmed Alkali, Political Adviser to President Goodluck Jonathan, Aliyu said, “Many of us saw the defeat coming. Even when I told some of us (PDP members) that we had a one-term agreement, they nearly crucified me. Now, sir, you have seen the results.

“I recall also that when APC came on board, I was the first person to say I was very happy that ‘now, we have a strong party to put PDP on its toes’ and many people were asking that ‘are you really a member’.

“Up until the last elections, the allegation against me had always been that I was a supporter of APC; and now, you have seen the results.”

Aliyu pointed out other reasons he believed were responsible for the failure of the PDP at the polls.

He said: “Nigerians wanted a change and Nigerians got the change. You will have many reasons. One, PDP has been around for 16 years and there is no way you will be around for 16 years and you will not make mistakes. So, there are many reasons that will be put together and we will be able to understand and guide people.”

According to the governor, corruption did not end at stealing money but indulging in malpractices, admonishing people to desist from acts that were capable of destroying our economy arguing that not only government officials were corrupt, but that it “starts from the home.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-04-2015 08:37 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 17-04-2015 09:01 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 17-04-2015 09:01 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- papadip at 17-04-2015 09:16 PM (9 years ago)
That’s just one of the reasons out of so many.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzukrOXar58" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzukrOXar58</a>

Posted: at 17-04-2015 09:16 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sweetypweety at 17-04-2015 11:40 PM (9 years ago)
Muazu shld carry his black face out of Niger state jare. Talkative !!!
Posted: at 17-04-2015 11:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 18-04-2015 06:25 AM (9 years ago)
I can see now that u have your regret for not jouning APC bc  u choosed to betray the G5 governors. A sitting governor who Could not win a senatorial ticket..It is RIP for u in political activities in Niger state State
Posted: at 18-04-2015 06:25 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 18-04-2015 10:47 AM (9 years ago)
 Grin Grin
Posted: at 18-04-2015 10:47 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 18-04-2015 03:54 PM (9 years ago)
Tell them
Posted: at 18-04-2015 03:54 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 18-04-2015 06:31 PM (9 years ago)
Yea
Posted: at 18-04-2015 06:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 20-08-2015 02:59 AM (8 years ago)
I hear
Posted: at 20-08-2015 02:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero