Do Not Copy PDP’s Bad Habits, Gov Liyel Imoke Advises NLC

Date: 01-05-2015 9:37 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 1-05-2015 09:37 PM (9 years ago)

In what seem​ed​ to be a veiled remorse over the internal crisis that rocked the PDP le​a​d​ing​ to​ its​ defeat​ ​​​in ​last ​elections, G​overnor Liyel Imoke of Cross River State, has advised the ​Nigeria Labour Congress​ not to toe the line of his party- the PDP-​ ​in their activities and electoral processes.

The governor was speaking during the 2015 Workers Day celebration in Calabar. He promised to pay the April salary owed workers and also clear all other outstanding before leaving office.

“Let me use this opportunity to also say what I believe you all want to hear,” he said. “I hope to, before the end of May, pay the April salary, I do not intend to leave office with any debt owed workers.”

It is the first time the governor would attempt to publicly delve into the crack in his party, after PDP lost the  March 28 Presidential election to the APC.
The governor however did not mention what those “bad habits” were.

“Let me congratulate the newly-elected executive of the state chapter of NLC,” he said. “You have done well and I will encourage you not to copy the bad habits of PDP during your elections.

“Let me acknowledge that these are challenging times for all of us, that is why, when you have a leader, he or she must show great understanding and stand by you in hard times.”

Although the PDP went ahead to win the governorship election and the 25 seats in the House of Assembly, some opposition parties in the state have gone ahead to challenge some of the election results announced by Independent National Electoral Commission at the Election Tribunal.

Mr. Imoke pleaded for understanding and support for the governor-elect, Ben Ayade, describing him as ​a person he believes has the passion and vision to take the state to a greater height.

The governor described Cross River State civil servants as the best in Nigeria, while acknowledging the efforts of the women folk.

He described as unfortunate the long strike embarked upon by staff of the State owned University, Cross River State University of Technology​,​ and expressed hope that by Tuesday after his meeting with the leadership of the striking staff, the school would be open for academic activities.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 1-05-2015 09:37 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 1-05-2015 11:05 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 1-05-2015 11:05 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Deepsea81 at 2-05-2015 06:03 AM (9 years ago)
@  joji opiu (32) Get a Life and stop trying to hack peoples device. You should look for the white to hack their bank accounts and information not your fellow blacks idiot
Posted: at 2-05-2015 06:03 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dennis_005 at 2-05-2015 06:48 AM (9 years ago)
Pay the workers their salary pls, stop all this stories man
Posted: at 2-05-2015 06:48 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 2-05-2015 07:39 AM (9 years ago)
really
Posted: at 2-05-2015 07:39 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 2-05-2015 08:46 AM (9 years ago)
OK NA
Posted: at 2-05-2015 08:46 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 3-05-2015 08:14 AM (9 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 3-05-2015 08:14 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 19-08-2015 03:18 PM (8 years ago)
Na dia wahala be dat
Posted: at 19-08-2015 03:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero