Read the Full Text Of Speech By David Mark @ The Valedictory Session Of The 7th Senate Assembly

Date: 04-06-2015 9:06 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 4-06-2015 09:06 PM (8 years ago)

The Senate today held its valedictory session to mark the end of the 7th Senate Assembly. At the session which was well attended by past Senate Presidents and Senators, the Majority leader, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba said out of the 591 bills brought before them in the last 4 years, only 123 bills were passed. The 46 passed in less than 10 minutes yesterday is included in the 123 bills passed in the 4 year period of the assembly.

In his remark, the Senate President, Senator David Mark said he takes full responsibility for all the commissions and omissions recorded in the 7th Senate Assembly where he served as a leader.

In his speech, Senator Mark said the abduction of the Chibok girls remains a scar on our national psyche.
“I take full responsibility for all the commissions and omissions in the past four years. The last four years have been defining for our country in many respects,” he said. “The country was battered on all sides by security challenges that threatened the very existence of our society. The rise in insurgency and the ruthless mayhem unleashed on Nigerians by the Boko Haram sect resulted in the highest number of lives and property, which our nation has lost in our recent history. What was most horrifying was not only their wanton destruction but their disregard for human lives particularly those of women and children. The abduction of the Chibok school girls still remains a scar on our national psyche. There is no doubt that the Boko Haram crisis exposed serious cracks in our security system, challenged our unity, threatened our future and seriously dented our international image. We considered and approved emergency rule when we thought it was needed and declined request for extension when we thought that such an extension could not stem the tide of terrorism and insurgency in the affected states. Happily, the Nigerian armed forces have made significant gains in the fight against insurgency. The security challenges we faced in the last four years were not restricted to terrorism but included political violence, extremism, communal conflicts, militancy in the Niger Delta, maritime insecurity and transnational crimes. In all these, we gave maximum support to the government. We passed the bill for an act to amend the Terrorism (prevention) Act 2012, and we approved a loan of U.S.$1 billion for the government to procure arms and equipment needed to tackle security challenges in the country."
he said

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 4-06-2015 09:06 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 4-06-2015 09:25 PM (8 years ago)
oooooooh
Posted: at 4-06-2015 09:25 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 4-06-2015 11:30 PM (8 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 4-06-2015 11:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- rizzotti at 5-06-2015 04:42 AM (8 years ago)
is now that u are taking responsibilities,
Posted: at 5-06-2015 04:42 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dennis_005 at 5-06-2015 10:50 AM (8 years ago)
Looters
Posted: at 5-06-2015 10:50 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 5-06-2015 12:56 PM (8 years ago)
I hear you sir
Posted: at 5-06-2015 12:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- chiemep at 5-06-2015 05:21 PM (8 years ago)
i just wonder what they were waiting for since all this time,a former militery man who could not advice the president wisely,on what to do it is really wonderful,all is over now we tank God.
Posted: at 5-06-2015 05:21 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- asobcom at 5-06-2015 10:21 PM (8 years ago)
DM, abeg go on retirement or make God retire u on time......Yeye pple!
Posted: at 5-06-2015 10:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 17-08-2015 09:32 PM (8 years ago)
Very corrupt politician
Posted: at 17-08-2015 09:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero