The senator representing Bayelsa East Senatorial district, Ben Bruce, said on Sunday that Nigerians should give President Muhammadu Buhari time to meet their expectations.
Mr. Bruce stated this in a series of tweets on his tweeter handle, @benmurraybruce.
“Again, I repeat that nations grow over time not overnight. Give President @MBuhari time. Nigerians elected a man not a magician,” the senator said.
Mr. Bruce, who before his election as senator, was the chairman of Sliverbird television, said though he belonged to a different political party as the president, he did not consider himself an opposition.
“My idea of opposition isn’t to attack Buhari\APC.Opposition to me is proffering alternative solutions/ideas for the betterment of Nigeria,” he said.
“Even the term ‘Opposition’ is a misnomers borrowed from other political climes. I prefer ‘alternative.’ I’m an alternative not an opposition,” he said.
The Bayelsa politician also cautioned elected officials against attacking their predecessors.
“The more you attack your predecessor the more the bar is set for you. Know how slippery a road is before knocking those who slipped on it,” he said.
“Nigeria is broke because we spend on consumption rather than on productive activities, on salaries instead of projects. We must flip,” he said. For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 5-07-2015 10:19 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
“My idea of opposition isn’t to attack Buhari\APC. Opposition to me is proffering alternative solutions/ideas for the betterment of Nigeria,” ……. Ben Murray-Bruce.
Common sense is working with some people.
Posted: at 5-07-2015 10:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Nigerian govt have no business on fuel subsidies but the criminals crippled the nation for almost 2 months with that useless Ojota strike just to have their way
Posted: at 6-07-2015 01:26 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Don't mind them, let them keep running their mouths anyhow. What Jonathan could not achieve in 6 years, they want Buhari to do just in one month? You guys should just wake up and smell the coffee or crawl back into the wood work you came out from jare!!!!
Posted: at 6-07-2015 11:19 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Ben Bruce should have started much earlier by telling Buhari/APC that they are humans as such, should not promise Nigerians magic during their electioneering campaigns?!!!
Nigerians are NOT fools, so.....=//= NO EXCUSES!!!!
Posted: at 6-07-2015 11:41 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie