LOL! Reader Recalls His Bad Experience At Ikoyi Passport Office (MUST READ)

Date: 10-07-2015 4:27 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 10-07-2015 04:27 PM (8 years ago)

Hilarious but at the same time, it is a very serious issue. Bayo Adeyinka who claimed he was at the Ikoyi passport office today explained how he was made to cough out extra cash to ‘touts’ and how most of them who were early callers were made to pray for 20mins ‘by force’ before their offices were officially declared opened. I laughed all through his writeup, quite funny and engaging, but then the truth is corruption must stop at Ikoyi Passport Office and all passport offices in Lagos. Please read;

There are times I feel that we put unnecessary emphasis on the corruption of political officers and appointees while neglecting that of civil servants. With my experience at the Ikoyi Passport Office in the last 24 hours, I am of the opinion that anyone serious about dealing with corruption should start from that place. In spite of a large sign that says 'Don't patronize touts', touts were all over the place disguised as photographers and lobbying on behalf of immigration officers. Continue...

There were even cyber cafe attendants who collated customer's files on behalf of the Passport Office! At the end of the day, they made nonsense of the online registration by demanding an extra 10k for "verification and processing"-with a subtle punch line that "it's not under compulsion".

I asked her what would happen if I decide not to pay 10k since I already registered online and she just smiled. Not a single word. When I asked her what will happen if I part with the 10k, she said I can even collect same day. Just imagine 10k extra per person in addition to the official rate of 24k for a 64-page passport!

And yet this same people forced us to pray for 20 minutes at 8 am when the office opened. An Immigration Officer came to where we were ushered in to sit and led a three-pronged prayer service which he divided into "praise and worship, apology and request"- using his own words. We started by singing "Good Morning Jesus". In a few minutes, a man beside me started speaking in tongues and another clasped his hands and shook his head so much I was startled momentarily. In a short while, the Immigration Officer started "prophetic prayers". " The passport you have come to collect shall take you places in Jesus Name. Whatever visa you apply for with this passport, you shall never be denied in Jesus Name. You will achieve beyond your expectations with this passport".

Those were his exact words and I'm not exaggerating. Then he started exhorting people to make any request they want from God. "If you're looking for husband, this is your time. Ask God and He will not deny you". Looking for husband at the Passport Office? He also asked us to pray for the "network so that it will not be slow today". At 8.20am, another officer came to lead us to pray in the Islamic manner. He didn't spend more than 3 minutes as all he did was to take the "Fatiha". Why would any government office subject people to forced prayers and waste 20 minutes of their customers' time on prayers? I was told that is the practice on a daily basis and I recollect that I witnessed the same thing when I wanted to register for my driver's license also.

In spite of the religious pretensions, serious racketeering went on. I saw more than one officer negotiating and haggling with hapless citizens. The tout that approached me when I got there told me a 64-page passport was 38k- he even called an Officer Joe in my presence and wanted to introduce me to him. When I told him I already registered online and even paid online, he laughed hysterically. "Iyen o mean anything" (that doesn't mean anything), he said. I would later find out he was right as my name was not called at all despite the fact that I was the first person to arrive at the Passport Office at 6am! It was at 10.30am that I got fed up and called the lady I submitted my form to (whom I later discovered to be a cyber cafe attendant, though she was introduced to me by an officer). She now explained that I had to pay 10k for verification and processing and then my file will be moved.

What can be done about this cesspool of corruption? I believe technology should be used to attack corruption via deployment of cameras all over the place. I also think mystery shoppers should be deployed to catch people in the act. Another citizen, who was equally as riled as I was lamented and said, " Is there hope for this country this way"?

By: Bayo Adeyinka

Posted: at 10-07-2015 04:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adeniyisau at 10-07-2015 04:40 PM (8 years ago)
Corruption everywhere in naija why now
Posted: at 10-07-2015 04:40 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Ken1230 at 10-07-2015 04:51 PM (8 years ago)
Nigeria Immigration Service is corruption and they leave in corruption. If you are outside Nigeria and you lost your passport then you must pay almost N150,000 or you hear it. So nobody will doubt what the guy wrote here.
Posted: at 10-07-2015 04:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenosas at 10-07-2015 05:49 PM (8 years ago)
this guy feels this negative impact, ill-mannered and corruption because I guess you might  not be residing in Nigeria, its one of the reason you might feel like that while majority that live or based in the country see this big problem as normal way of life, thus i understand you feels so painful seeing your country  day to day activities beckon on the highest pedestal of corruption and nothing you can do about it, who are you going to report the problems to, if I may ask?
there is no single organization in Nigeria someone can say or write good about, honestly its a pity and shameful.

Posted: at 10-07-2015 05:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deedotted at 10-07-2015 06:33 PM (8 years ago)
LOLLLLLL, that's why we need post office in naija, if you Apply online you don't need to go anywhere its should be sent to you by post.its so simple but naija way na wa.
Posted: at 10-07-2015 06:33 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 10-07-2015 07:01 PM (8 years ago)
EVERYONE who is someone in the world knows the extent to which Nigeria is stuck deep in corruption. Yesterday it was NNPC, today it's the Passport Ofiice tomorrow it's our employment agency. There is nothing that works without money passing from one corrupt hand to another.  We are stuck in our ways and we accept everything as the norm.  We have succumbed to our disordeliness and corruption. Nothing works.  We all come together when Nigeria is lampooned (abused) by another country - even when the truth is being stated. We call down hellfire on those who condemn us and then sit down complaining about the state of the nation. There is no REAL effort to improve things. The Nigerian people are fed up. Foriegners come in and take advantage of our corruption to enrich themselves - while the citizens become slaves (second time round) but this time in our own country. Nigeria is available to the highest bidder to use and abuse to their satisfaction. We get no respect from our neighbouring countries. We get no respect from our leaders. We get no respect from our fellow country men and women. The name nigeria is mentioned in conversation and people role up their eyes.  And to justify our woes we state that other countries went through what we are going through now. I thought we LEARN from the mistakes of others and not to jump head first into the same problem's?  Setting fire to people in the streets  - because the police are corrupt. Using poor building materials to build syscrappers - because surveyors are corrupt. Poor educational output because our schools and universities are corrupt. High death rates - because our medical and dental services are corrupt. The list goes on and on.

God created the WHOLE WORLD the same day. He did not create the rest of the world on the first day and Africa on the second day!

Posted: at 10-07-2015 07:01 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 10-07-2015 07:50 PM (8 years ago)
Godday Na person name and He is watching from above
Posted: at 10-07-2015 07:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ignis99 at 10-07-2015 08:02 PM (8 years ago)
shooo
Posted: at 10-07-2015 08:02 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jasperjahsy at 10-07-2015 08:47 PM (8 years ago)
even when the western countries enjoy a better life they still cry for more from there government by way of peaceful protest but in Nigeria even the said protest is politicised. corruption skyrockets because no one wants to protest against it. we are too busy
Posted: at 10-07-2015 08:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lisabi at 10-07-2015 08:55 PM (8 years ago)
ITS HAPPENED IN NIGERIA EMBASSY IN SPAIN. AFTER YOU PAID 102 DOLLARS ONLINE, YOU WILL PAY ANOTHER 60 EURO THE DAY YOU ARE SCANNING. LIFE IS NOT EASY FOR MAJORITY OF NIGERIANS LIVING THERE. LAST MONTH EMBASSY GAVE MANY PEOPLE APPOINTMENT FOR SCANNING WHEREAS THERE WAS HOLIDAY IN MADRID THAT DAY.THE HOLIDAY IS  ONLY MADRID NOT ALL OVER SPAIN. MANY PEOPLE THAT CAME FOR SCANNING HAVE TO SLEEP AT BUS STATION AND AIRPORT. PEOPLE THAT CAME FROM SPANISH ISLAND HAVE TO BUY ANOTHER FLIGHT TICKET TO GO BACK WHILE SOME STRANDED
Posted: at 10-07-2015 08:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 10-07-2015 09:20 PM (8 years ago)
is there hope for Nigeria?.
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 10-07-2015 09:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Linconblack at 10-07-2015 09:47 PM (8 years ago)
many times have been ashamed of telling people my nationality here in the united states. You tell them you are a Nigerian they pause and look you well, if it is someone that knows you, you tell you a Nigerian he or she will say ' O..Nigerians are intelligent people' you all know wot that comment mean ( it mean scammers) it it were to be a total stranger you meeting for the first time he or she will say Nigeria is known to be the number 1 scammer in the world lol. I tire for Nigeria my country, everywhere corruption lol
Posted: at 10-07-2015 09:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- eoadex2003 at 10-07-2015 09:52 PM (8 years ago)
Strange world, wicked world
Posted: at 10-07-2015 09:52 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 10-07-2015 10:59 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooh
Posted: at 10-07-2015 10:59 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- echeeche at 11-07-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago)
What can we see more,,,,,too sad
Posted: at 11-07-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- MrZack at 11-07-2015 09:33 AM (8 years ago)
Poster of this story is very correct. We keep hammering on corruption in high places within the government, but we always fail to recognize those corrupt acts that do take place just close to us. until we start dealing with corruption at this lower level, all these mantra of change with the current government would take us no where. I would rather say most government organizations like this would need to be proactive by coming out with an enforcement  section, "that is if they would not end up swimming in the corruption themselves" to identify and prosecute and where necessary root out such corrupt individuals from the system.
Posted: at 11-07-2015 09:33 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 14-08-2015 05:11 PM (8 years ago)
Corruption and decadence everywhere. God help Nigeria
Posted: at 14-08-2015 05:11 PM (8 years ago) | Hero