SEASON 5! In 7 Points, Soundcity Blasts Jude Okoye And Psquare Again

Date: 11-09-2015 9:56 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-09-2015 09:56 PM (8 years ago)

The battle between urban music channel Soundcity and pop duo Psquare rages on. Soundcity has just issued yet another statement where they react to all allegations leveled against them by Psqaure and their manager Jude Okoye. In 7 cogent points, Soundcity clears the air in what the refer to as the ‘Last time’ they’ll be commenting on the issue.

Dear Jude and @SoundcityTV Fans, Thank you for your tweets Jude; we will certainly address each of these tweets, especially since they are some sorts of allegation:

• Of course, we did not think we are doing your group a ‘Favour’. Just like any other artistes, if you have a great material, we will showcase it on our channel and various platforms. Supporting, promoting, nurturing a talent isn’t a favour. It is obligatory, indeed?
  • ‘Begging PSquare’ to Tour with? We needed the content? Soundcity is a music and lifestyle channel, music and music programming forms 80% of our content while lifestyle handles the remainder. We are pretty sure the expense of touring with you then was much more than rotating music videos, make a business case out of this and you’ll see for yourself why we wouldn’t have ‘begged’ as you have claimed in your tweets…but hey! We did it for the LOVE!
  • Your job is to co-direct videos, and manage the group and ensure you do things in their best interest ‘reasonably’. Ours is to play the videos if we see them deem fit. Luckily, all your videos are co-directed with Clarence Peters, one of Nigeria’s biggest music video directors, partly a Soundcity Alumni. Please read between the lines of ‘reserving the rights to play.’ to fully understand what it means. Meanwhile, interestingly…our job also partly runs along us advising your group as per better professional input from us, for free.
  • We suggest rather than you wanting to ‘create’ a union in ‘we artiste’…you should speak and deal with your group squarely. NOBODY ever asked for your group to perform for FREE, only that we asked for a reasonable performance fee. You wanted to charge 10 or 12 Million or so. We are glad that a lot of artistes came through and yes; they played to their fans at the free event, for free.
  • We don’t pay Royalties? Your job as a manager is to ensure your artistes’ get their royalty pay cheques. Check with COSON and MCSN, SOUNDCITY pays Royalties every calendar year for music use on Soundcity and on sister channels, the platform carriers (DStv) doubles that effort too. Perhaps you should ask your colleagues in the industry about how that works. COSON is the Copyright Society of Nigeria and MCSN is the Musical Copyright Society of Nigeria, also you can learn more about COSON here http://www.cosonng.com
  • What Blackmail? You decided not to work with our brand, we decided not to work with your brand by withdrawing your videos from our channel and completely stopped doing business with you. Not sure that’s what ‘Blackmail’ means. You took a decision, we took ours too. Simple.
  • Lastly, we will do something rewarding for you today! Please tune in by 3PM to watch #PSQUARE: THEN & NOW! Fans will be able to catch videos from the early years to present and also, #PSQUARE vs. #USHER: ORIGINAL DANCE OFF! By 3:30 PM today. Really, there is no such thing as ‘Boycott’ in premium entertainment. Actually, scratch that! We should but we won’t. We will do #CHRISBROWN vs #USHER: DANCEOFF for 3PM today instead, #ChrisBrown is trending right now on the Internet.

This is the last time we are speaking on this, we have a number one TV channel to run. Thank you....

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 11-09-2015 09:56 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 11-09-2015 10:02 PM (8 years ago)
so una no fit settle amicable abi
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:02 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- freethinker at 11-09-2015 10:05 PM (8 years ago)
na una sabi
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gilentity at 11-09-2015 10:17 PM (8 years ago)
Breez don blow fowl yansh dey open
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:17 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- PoliticxGuru at 11-09-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago)
Dis movie don reach season 5 now now, i still dey season 2 episode 3, ha i don miss b dat ooooo
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- OOSSYY at 11-09-2015 10:35 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: PoliticxGuru on 11-09-2015 10:29 PM
Dis movie don reach season 5 now now, i still dey season 2 episode 3, ha i don miss b dat ooooo
POLI,U ARE TALKING AS IF U DONT KNOW WHAT NAIJAPALS FAKE NEWS POSTERS CAN DO, THEY CAN EASILY FABRICATE AND POST SOME FAKE NEWS HERE ABOUT THE SOUNDCITY AND THE PSQUARE
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:35 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- innocentbola at 11-09-2015 10:52 PM (8 years ago)
BUT THIS HAS ALREADY BEEN POSTED HERE TODAY AS SEASON 4! SO WHY POSTING IT AGAIN TELLING US IT IS SEASON 5??? POSTER ANSWER THIS QUESTION O!
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:52 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- barackderay at 11-09-2015 10:59 PM (8 years ago)
dis is jamb story ....
settle yasef Amicably
Posted: at 11-09-2015 10:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- 29ice4real at 11-09-2015 11:20 PM (8 years ago)
Souncity say na "This is the last time we are speaking on this" 4 season 5. But season 7 wa me dey, dey are stil talkin.. haba naijapals...
Posted: at 11-09-2015 11:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 11-09-2015 11:57 PM (8 years ago)
hummm
Posted: at 11-09-2015 11:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DJSNIPPER at 12-09-2015 01:18 AM (8 years ago)
Guess who will be next.
Posted: at 12-09-2015 01:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DJSNIPPER at 12-09-2015 01:20 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: gilbert on 11-09-2015 10:17 PM
Breez don blow fowl yansh dey open

audience are too illiterate to read this fantastic piece. Except Radio Kano will reverse-transliterate to audio.
Posted: at 12-09-2015 01:20 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jereva at 12-09-2015 01:53 AM (8 years ago)
Dayum...#Schooled.
Posted: at 12-09-2015 01:53 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- piusemmanuel at 12-09-2015 02:41 AM (8 years ago)
This is taking another level

Posted: at 12-09-2015 02:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 12-09-2015 03:00 AM (8 years ago)
Ok, soundcity have spoken. Now awaiting response from the p square camp.... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes  Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 12-09-2015 03:00 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Tyahaya at 12-09-2015 03:51 AM (8 years ago)
These guys should get a room; suck each other's di*ks and make up, clearly they still want to work keep working together, they are just being too arrogant to admit it, let's give it a month,  a headline will hit online that fake Ushers  and echo pricks have made up.
Posted: at 12-09-2015 03:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 12-09-2015 05:05 AM (8 years ago)
U guys should sort things out......
Posted: at 12-09-2015 05:05 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- hackynoni111 at 12-09-2015 05:09 AM (8 years ago)
make dem settle na
Posted: at 12-09-2015 05:09 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 12-09-2015 05:09 AM (8 years ago)
why dem dey behave like kids na
Posted: at 12-09-2015 05:09 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- piusemmanuel at 12-09-2015 05:11 AM (8 years ago)
good that w now know how this station works

Posted: at 12-09-2015 05:11 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

2. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

3. "Why I Refused To Return Govt Vehicles–Ex-Edo Deputy Gov. Philip Shaibu Opens Up On Impeachment

4. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

5. Actress Yvonne Jegede And Filmmaker Sam Olatunji Slam Angela Okorie For Beefing Mercy Johnson

6. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

7. Bandits Kill 46-Year-Old Nigerian Law Professor, Sarinu Ettor Kabo In Benue State

8. Nigeria Lady Calls Out Her Secondary School Teacher Who Allegedly S3xually Abused Her

9. DJ Cuppy Embraces Single Status, Celebrates Independence

10. Osun State University Teaching Hospital Announces 14-Day Deadline For Unclaimed Bodies

11. Outcry Over Alleged Soldier Assault Resulting In Young Man, Yusuf Shuaibu Adamu's Death In Kano

12. Media Personality, Toke Makinwa Reveals She Wants To Start Fellowship Group

13. Liverpool v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

14. Chelsea v West Ham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

9. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed