is typhoid fever overdiagnosed?

Date: 05-08-2008 3:24 pm (15 years ago) | Author: abayomi waheed
- at 5-08-2008 03:24 PM (15 years ago)
 Roll Eyes,
Have you been to the hospital of recent complaining of fever, headache with or without vomiting? Was loss of appetite and malaise included in your list of symptoms? Did you do a Widal's reaction test? Chances are that your titre would have been high to warrant a "diagnosis" of typhoid fever. It would seem that all illnesses are typhoid fever at the rate at which it is being diagnosed. I should know because I have seen so many cases of "typhoid" that were eventually diagnosed as acute appendicitis, ectopic pregnancy, diabetic ketoacidosis etc. Who is to blame for this? While admitting that typhoid is real, I make bold  to say it is overdiagnosed! Whose fault? How many times have you done the test in the last twelve months? How many times did your result come out negative? See what  I mean?

Posted: at 5-08-2008 03:24 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- khadijah at 5-08-2008 04:35 PM (15 years ago)
its all precautions..they cant afford to take chances
Posted: at 5-08-2008 04:35 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abayomiwaheed at 5-08-2008 04:42 PM (15 years ago)
You still dont get my point! I am a medical doctor and I know why I'm saying this. Most cases of "typhoid" are not.
Posted: at 5-08-2008 04:42 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- khadijah at 5-08-2008 05:23 PM (15 years ago)
i dont get the point then...or re u just sayin many of these GPs arent qualified
Posted: at 5-08-2008 05:23 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solazed at 5-08-2008 05:31 PM (15 years ago)
typhoid is not over-diagnosed, it is MISDIAGNOSE; take note of the difference

Posted: at 5-08-2008 05:31 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abayomiwaheed at 6-08-2008 08:56 PM (15 years ago)
The point is this: most cases of "typhoid" are actually not typhoid! Traditional doctors, quacks, auxillary nurses, infact some medical practitioners (there is always a Judas amongst 12s!) would not like this. But it's the truth! This misdiagnosis has resulted in preventable deaths. Here is an exercise to test my assertion: Go to 5 different labs or hospitals especially in the suburbs of Lagos (I presume you live in Lagos) when you are perfectly well and request for Widal's reaction test. Don't forget to feign headache, malaise, fever. I will PAY for the negative results. Please be honest about it. And I hope you are not an hyponchondriac. I repeat I'll pay for the negative results. It's even worse if you patronise traditional doctors and auxillary nurses. (I wonder what the government is doing about this. Anyway more on this later.) Don't get me wrong, there are good and bad GPs.
Posted: at 6-08-2008 08:56 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- mazi at 8-08-2008 08:13 AM (15 years ago)
hving said dat, who does the test or who is  suppose to run the test? doctors or lab. techs.? it is a serious concern. are there other verified symptoms or signs to know when it is typhiod?
and again i don't know ur years of experience as a medical doctor and ur area of speciality to really proof wot u r saying?
it is a very loose and unreliable assertion as u don't hv emperical proof of wot u r saying. untill u hv a documented proof don't add to ppl's worries.
Posted: at 8-08-2008 08:13 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 01:55 PM (8 years ago)
Wetin I go talk nw
Posted: at 14-03-2016 01:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-06-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago) | Hero