I Was Told To Kill My Parents The Day I Was Captured - Boko Haram Child Slave

Date: 23-11-2015 10:04 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 23-11-2015 10:04 AM (8 years ago)

“I was asked to kill my parents on the day I was captured,” said 16-year-old Babagana, a former Boko Haram child slave. “I had no courage, so they killed them in front of me.”
“That is how Boko Haram operates
,” he told me when I saw him in March in Borno State. “They first take out your parents so you have no one else to fall back to.”This may be the most tragic fact about the fight raging in northeast Nigeria: It is a war waged by children against children. Minors make up nearly a quarter of Boko Haram’s soldiers. Some recruits are as young as 10 and are inducted by raids on villages. They are brutalized and forced to commit atrocities on fellow kidnap victims and even on their own families. Militants kill children who attempt to escape from captivity. Recently village militias have been enlisting young kids to fight against Boko Haram, as well. And the plague is spreading.
This week, the Nigerian army rescued almost 300 girls and women taken captive by Boko Haram, and even though they were not the Chibok schoolgirls who were kidnapped more than a year ago now, there was a great sense of pride and relief that the Nigerian Army was able to do this.
But many stories have not had such happy endings.
Last month the Chadian Army announced that it had rescued 43 children held by Boko Haram in Damask, Borno State. All had been soldiers in the Boko Haram ranks, but they were not from Nigeria. The news of the rescue had at first given hope to local people. In March, militants abducted over 400 women and children from the same town in Borno, and I spoke with Bukkar Hassan, who had two sisters among the 400 kidnapped. He was set to travel to Damask, thinking the girls could be among the rescued kids only to be told that the lucky children were all of Chadian origin. Hassan began to weep. For kids living in a state of constant fear, violence becomes a way of life and the psychological trauma is incalculable.
Fearing abduction, streams of children, often with parents in tow, leave their homes every night and walk for hours from surrounding villages to reach the relative safety of major towns, only to trek their way home again by daybreak.
We’re seeing a high level of suffering,” says Musa Kubo, a senior government official in Nigeria’s northeastern Borno State. “Thousands of people in the northeast, mostly children, are just struggling to survive.” Since the insurgency began in 2009, thousands of children have been abducted to work as child soldiers and porters, or to serve as “wives” of rebels and bear their children, like those hundreds of girls taken from Chibok school just a year ago. The numbers have soared, with nearly a thousand children abducted in the past 18 months alone.

There are dramatic rates of acute malnutrition among the displaced children in Nigeria: 35 percent in some areas. The Nigerian military, with help from troops from Chad, Cameroon and Niger, has claimed major gains against the Islamists in recent weeks, recapturing many towns held by the insurgents, and the newly elected Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari is a military man committed to eradicating the insurgency. But the impact of the fighting and violence has caused the humanitarian situation in the area to deteriorate rapidly over the past year. And the contrast between the embattled northeast and the prosperous southern regions of the country grows more extreme all the time. The bustling commercial capital of Lagos, located in the south, exemplifies Nigeria’s transformation from a country plagued by economic decay to prosperity. With an average GDP growth of more than 6 percent over the past 10 years, Nigeria can come across as a compelling story of hope for other African nations.

Posted: at 23-11-2015 10:04 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uplogsa at 23-11-2015 10:24 AM (8 years ago)
Let the owners of the problem solve the problem#buhari#apc#north
Posted: at 23-11-2015 10:24 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 23-11-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
na wa ooo
Posted: at 23-11-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 23-11-2015 10:49 AM (8 years ago)
Muhammadu buhari,you gave nigerians hope&assurance that boko haram&terrorist attack will be a thing of past come this december,we are waitingoooo,so that we will enjoy this christmas with full eyes open.Happy christmas in advance!
Posted: at 23-11-2015 10:49 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- sugarwealth at 23-11-2015 12:28 PM (8 years ago)
Bokoharam appears to be getting stronger by the day. So where is all this news coming from that soldiers are killing the insurgents...?
Posted: at 23-11-2015 12:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugarwealth at 23-11-2015 12:29 PM (8 years ago)
Buhari I just dey take style look you with one corner of my eye. This boko issue is what I will use and judge you
Posted: at 23-11-2015 12:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngrashy at 23-11-2015 01:47 PM (8 years ago)
Boko haram re not muslims
Posted: at 23-11-2015 01:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 23-11-2015 05:56 PM (8 years ago)
Sad, barbaric act....
Posted: at 23-11-2015 05:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-11-2015 06:16 PM (8 years ago)
seriously boko haram are so evil. human life dnt hav any meaning to them. they really hav evil heart. why are they like this now.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 06:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-11-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago)
i knw one day by God grace you people we surely cm to your end in this country. people are really suffer becz of you people.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-11-2015 06:24 PM (8 years ago)
i knw mr buhari was man of his word. he will make his promise cm to reality by december to end you people in this country. and this chibok girl we be free for real.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 06:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 24-11-2015 11:24 PM (8 years ago)
If dem dey rescue all dis plenty pple then dat means they have rescued d "chibok girls" na. And na so dem plenty for north wey dis rescue mo dey finish
Posted: at 24-11-2015 11:24 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 25-11-2015 12:33 AM (8 years ago)
Make una monitor d small boy well b4 he go blow everybody cos na fro small pikin I de start.
Posted: at 25-11-2015 12:33 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Disgraceful Videos Of Student Bullying In Nigeria's Boarding School, Lead British School Abuja

2. IK Ogbonna Writes Romantically To Alleged Lover, Ini Edo On Her Birthday, Shares Video

3. Kanye West Shocks Many As He Says He Wants To Have Threesome With Ex 1st Lady, Michelle Obama

4. Kenyan Police Reportedly Arrest Binance Executive, Nadeem Anjarwalla Who Fled Nigeria

5. BBN Star, Liquorose Sparks BBL Rumours In Recent Video With Actor, Deyemi Okanlawon

6. 500 Lawyers Storm Supreme Court Over Planned Arrest Of Ex-kogi Gov, Yahaya Bello On Fraud

7. PROUD MOTHER: Mercy Aigbe Gushes Over Daughter, Michelle As She Shares Photos Of Her

8. Singer, Fireboy Recounts How He Failed Trying To Copy Beyonce's Stage Presence

9. Naira Abuse: I’m Only Artist Who Stops Supporters From Spraying Me Says Seun Kuti

10. Many Dead As Two Navy Helicopters Crash After Colliding Mid-Air In Malaysia

11. Total Blackout Hits Three States As Vandals Destroy TCN Towers

12. SAD: Five Missing Children Found Suffocated To Death Inside Car In Niger State

13. Police, Ogun State Govt On Trail Of Killers Of Babcock University Lecturer

14. "Most Hit Songs In Nigeria Are Not Good Music" – Nigerian Singer Ric Hassani Claims

15. Mercy Chinwo Not Aware EeZee Tee Treated Me Unfairly – Producer Dr Roy Says After Calling Her

16. NSCDC Intercepts 10 'Potential' Human Trafficking Victims In FCT

17. How Strange Illness Claims 8 Lives In Sokoto, 208 Cases Identified

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo