Microfinance Bank Defrauds Over 200 Market Women In Lagos

Date: 23-11-2015 11:31 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 23-11-2015 11:31 AM (9 years ago)

There was confusion at a certain microfinance bank located on Atitebi Junction on the Old Apapa Road, in the Oyingbo area of Lagos state when no fewer than 200 women got to the bank where they had allegedly opened accounts but discovered it was deserted.
According to Naijapals, the police in the State are on the trail of the employees of the said bank who allegedly defrauded the women of their savings.
The bank, which reportedly used a three-room apartment in a story-building at the junction, started giving out forms around September to the victims, who were mostly market women.
Reports say the aggrieved women who were given forms and account booklets where savings were ticked after each deposit, had been told by the bank to come last Monday to get loans after making three months’ savings, only to discover that the bank officials were nowhere to be found.
While some of the women reportedly deposited N21, 000 hoping to be given loans of N150, 000, others were said to have paid in N15, 000 to be lent N100, 000. Some others also deposited N7, 500 hoping to be lent N50, 000.
However, trouble started when some of the women who had been told to come for their money on Friday, got to the bank at about 10am and met the rooms under lock and key. They were said to have raised the alarm and started to call other women who were customers.
Policemen from the Iponri division were said to have arrived to pacify the women and enjoined them to make a formal report for investigation, because the wailing women caused a gridlock on the road, during which some of them put calls through to the phone numbers on the form, but the lines were reportedly switched off.

Speaking on the incident, one of the women, who identified herself as Yakubu Rukayat, said she had deposited N15, 000, and brought her sister to contribute N21, 000 hoping to get the loans.

According to her,
“Over 200 of us were affected. We were shocked to meet their doors locked on a Monday. The rooms are empty. The door is locked. Look at the form I filled and the passbook they gave me. I deposited N15, 000, and I also brought my sister to pay in N21, 000.

“Most of us are market women from Oyingbo, Makoko and Ebute Meta. On Friday, I still came to the bank and people were depositing the money. I noticed that one of the officials, a lady, asked people to hurry so that they could take their forms for processing. We did not know it was a scam. How will I get all my money back?”

One Iyaniwura, another victim, lamented she had hoped to use the loan to pay her house rent, and to expand her business. She claimed to have deposited N21, 000 too.
However, the Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, PPRO, DSP Joe Offor, who confirmed that the market women had reported the matter to the police, said the police had invited the landlord of the property for questioning and efforts were on to get the runaway officials of the microfinance bank.
Offor said,
“The DPO led policemen to the scene and appealed to the women not to cause violence.
The police have invited the landlord who gave the place to the so-called microfinance bank for questioning,”
the PPRO added.
He said all efforts are being made to apprehend the officials of the bank.

Posted: at 23-11-2015 11:31 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 23-11-2015 11:39 AM (9 years ago)
xmas is coming, alots of JUMANJI  business up and down
Posted: at 23-11-2015 11:39 AM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 23-11-2015 11:57 AM (9 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin,not funny thou,but I must laffoooooo,christmas things,women how can you be deceived?The microfinance pple came on september,telling u pple that after saving up to 3nths(december)dat they will give una loan,Giving out loans during december times is neva done cos is dat december that them(wayo pple)needs money most,anyway let's pray there is still hope.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 11:57 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 23-11-2015 12:10 PM (9 years ago)
Na wa o.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 12:10 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 23-11-2015 12:11 PM (9 years ago)
''Everybody's hustling everybody''.. The world indeed is a ghetto..
Posted: at 23-11-2015 12:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 23-11-2015 12:30 PM (9 years ago)
That's why i don't trust any micro finance banks
Posted: at 23-11-2015 12:30 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 23-11-2015 01:05 PM (9 years ago)
Xmas April fool!lol
Posted: at 23-11-2015 01:05 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-11-2015 03:26 PM (9 years ago)
Can you see ham again. why lagos now, seriously this lagos state has turn to something else. na every blessed day robbering they happen. its was just getting worst day by day.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 03:26 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-11-2015 03:35 PM (9 years ago)
I dnt even knw what lagos state government doing to this all trash. but its not like this in the time of Fashola. i dnt knw what this Ambode really doing to all this mess.
Posted: at 23-11-2015 03:35 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bennieben at 23-11-2015 04:19 PM (9 years ago)
Greed greed greed!!!
Posted: at 23-11-2015 04:19 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 23-11-2015 04:25 PM (9 years ago)
Nawaaoooo nobody waan carry last at all...thers is GOD in heaven oooooo
Posted: at 23-11-2015 04:25 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 23-11-2015 05:04 PM (9 years ago)
Just too bad...

Posted: at 23-11-2015 05:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- sugarwealth at 23-11-2015 05:22 PM (9 years ago)
Chai, poor women. This is just bad. Women that are working hard for their money for that matter... Too bad
Posted: at 23-11-2015 05:22 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 23-11-2015 05:53 PM (9 years ago)
Hahahahaha the old con trick of renting a room for 3mths to con people....
Posted: at 23-11-2015 05:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Oways at 23-11-2015 07:41 PM (9 years ago)
Micro finance bank
Posted: at 23-11-2015 07:41 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 24-11-2015 11:12 PM (9 years ago)
See 419 na. Jt 3 months and u pple start entrusting ur money to them. Too bad
Posted: at 24-11-2015 11:12 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 25-11-2015 12:42 AM (9 years ago)
Na "workshop",de dupers don do dis women office.
Posted: at 25-11-2015 12:42 AM (9 years ago) | Hero