MADNESS! Buhari Offers Europe Solution To Immigration Crisis

Date: 01-12-2015 9:31 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 1-12-2015 09:31 PM (8 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday in Paris asked developed countries to make strong financial commitments to the 14 billion dollars urgently needed to revive the Lake Chad and save communities dependent on the river from extinction, noting that, this will curb migration to Europe.

Addressing a high level meeting on “Climate Change Challenges and Solutions in Africa”, on the sidelines of the on-going UN Climate Change Conference, COP 21, President Buhari said no fewer than five million people living in the Lake Chad Basin countries have been displaced by the depletion of the lake due to climate change.

The President said the shrinkage of Lake Chad, a former island sea, had resulted in increased social conflicts, high rates of migration and cross border movements.

“Nigeria has a large population of over 170 million people and in some parts of Northern Nigeria, a farm that used to belong to 10 people now belongs to over 100 people. They have no other place to live and no land for cultivation,’’ he said.

President Buhari recalled that a research conducted by a professor in a London university and published more than three decades ago had predicted that unless one or some of the rivers from the Central African region are diverted to empty into the Lake Chad basin, the river will dry up.

He noted that sadly that prediction has become reality as the lake which covers over 25,000 square kilometers in 1925 have shrunk to 2,500 square kilometers.
“The amount of resources required and the high technological expertise and infrastructure needed to be undertaken to revive the Lake Chad has to be mainly financed by the G7 and the United States.

“The cost is great and more than 14 billion dollars is needed to revive the Lake.
“But if that is achieved, at least five million people from Central African Republic to the Lake Chad Basin countries (Chad, Niger, Nigeria and Benin) will be rehabilitated.

“When this is done those who are daring to cross the Sahara desert and the Mediterranean to come to Europe will remain at home because they have land where they can cultivate and earn a respectable living,’’ he said.

President Buhari used the occasion of his address on the second day of the climate change conference to reiterate his appeal to leaders from the developed countries to make revival of the Lake Chad a top priority.

On Nigeria’s plans to tackle climate change, President Buhari told the meeting attended by the French President, UN Secretary-General and several African leaders that the country was blessed with natural gas to boost the country’s energy needs.

He said although the technology to optimally utilize natural gas in the country was expensive for the country to maintain, Nigeria welcomes international partnerships and initiatives for lower carbon in the oil and gas sector that focuses on reducing natural gas flaring and capturing the product for commercial use.

Recognizing the acute threats that climate change posed to Nigeria’s development, President Buhari said his administration was ready to embrace several opportunities presented by the challenges posed by climate change.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 1-12-2015 09:31 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 1-12-2015 09:49 PM (8 years ago)
This is a great move mr buhari.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 09:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- angel_bisola at 1-12-2015 09:58 PM (8 years ago)
Well said
Posted: at 1-12-2015 09:58 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 1-12-2015 10:00 PM (8 years ago)
If Nigeria has d highest population pls do somethg abt it up north. Dem dey shit pikin like fowl wey dey lay eggs. They over populating dis country and its embarrassing. Meanwhile u shld also tell d foreigners dat u will provide everythg for ur pple so they won't migrate. Mcthewwww yeye dey smell
Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:00 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mcolours at 1-12-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
 ???O presido
Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Deltaboy1 at 1-12-2015 10:09 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: winace on  1-12-2015 10:00 PM
If Nigeria has d highest population pls do somethg abt it up north. Dem dey shit pikin like fowl wey dey lay eggs. They over populating dis country and its embarrassing. Meanwhile u shld also tell d foreigners dat u will provide everythg for ur pple so they won't migrate. Mcthewwww yeye dey smell
you spoke my mind, those  northerners people likes children so much, and the funny aspect is that they are so poor to take care of the kids, no education
Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 1-12-2015 10:20 PM (8 years ago)
@poster.... Na our presido madness dey worry ?

Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 1-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago)
na wa ooooooo
Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- chealseafc at 1-12-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago)
i will comment later pls.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Activated at 1-12-2015 10:30 PM (8 years ago)
This man is clearly earmarking a nothern Agenda for his tenure.

For goodness sake what has lake Chad basin got to do with migration to Europe. The largest migrants being accepted in Italy or other European countries are Arabs. In West Africa they are mostly from Mali, Senegal or other countries with high proximity to Sahara desert. As per Nigerians the highest migrants to Europe are Igbos, Edos or other people of southern stock.

For goodness sake what has lake chad got to do with the migration of these people to Europe. So you went to a summit where meaningful issues are discussed to talk utter balderdash. My brother you have a problem.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 10:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- 4realuche at 1-12-2015 11:24 PM (8 years ago)
Himmmmm
Posted: at 1-12-2015 11:24 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- nwaafoigbo at 1-12-2015 11:27 PM (8 years ago)
in biafra we standy.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 11:27 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wikigenius at 1-12-2015 11:43 PM (8 years ago)
Nice advice
Posted: at 1-12-2015 11:43 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oworen25 at 1-12-2015 11:48 PM (8 years ago)
Baba please come back and help solve the problem of our country those guys are going to deal with their situation as well
Posted: at 1-12-2015 11:48 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 2-12-2015 12:24 AM (8 years ago)
The presido! The presido!! The presido!!! How many times have i called to u. Old people have only dreams,  while young once have visions. I think a little more younger person would have been good representative president for Nigeria more them PHB. Naija which way now? Next time let us open our eyes.
Posted: at 2-12-2015 12:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 2-12-2015 12:52 AM (8 years ago)
Dats d least of our problems right now, oyinbo don fcuk up d climate already...
Posted: at 2-12-2015 12:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Asksmeagain at 2-12-2015 01:01 AM (8 years ago)
"Dem dey shit pikin like fowl wey dey lay eggs." Wenace u get mouth o.. i cant stop laughing.

Posted: at 2-12-2015 01:01 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ayodun1 at 2-12-2015 01:04 AM (8 years ago)
Some advice could be so good but they can't be keen to.

Posted: at 2-12-2015 01:04 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 2-12-2015 01:06 AM (8 years ago)
Africa on it own is just too backward... Our leaders need to come together to save the continent.

Posted: at 2-12-2015 01:06 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pascaludube at 2-12-2015 02:33 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Activated on  1-12-2015 10:30 PM
This man is clearly earmarking a nothern Agenda for his tenure.

For goodness sake what has lake Chad basin got to do with migration to Europe. The largest migrants being accepted in Italy or other European countries are Arabs. In West Africa they are mostly from Mali, Senegal or other countries with high proximity to Sahara desert. As per Nigerians the highest migrants to Europe are Igbos, Edos or other people of southern stock.

For goodness sake what has lake chad got to do with the migration of these people to Europe. So you went to a summit where meaningful issues are discussed to talk utter balderdash. My brother you have a problem.

God bless you my brother.I was just pondering over this b4 you wrote it.
That is what happens when you make a clueless man your president.
For God sake if you want to curb the influx of migrants into Europe,do it by stopping corruption,build infrastructures ,and invest in education and jobs.
And you are here telling me about lake Chad that has little or nothing to contribute directly to wider Nigerians other than north.
Posted: at 2-12-2015 02:33 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

4. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

5. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

6. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

7. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

8. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

9. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

10. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

11. 400L Nasarawa Varsity Student, John Rudeh Declared Missing After Palliative Stampede

12. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

13. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)