PHOTO: Major Hemp Distributors In Abia Arrested With 50Kg Worth Of Cannabis

Date: 05-12-2015 10:11 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-12-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago)

A raid by narcotics agents of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, has led to the discovery of 137kgs of cannabis and the arrest of two suspects in Abia State. The NDLEA commander in the state, Mr. Dele Akingbade, said the two suspects, 35-year-old Fidelis Ogbonna and 68-year-old Ududem Nwoke, were major hemp distributors in the state.

Akingbade said a cannabis warehouse run by Nwoke was discovered during the raid. It was there the NDLEA discovered nine bags of cannabis weighing 87kg.

When Ogbonna was arrested, a vehicle he used for the distribution was also impounded. 50kg of cannabis ready for distribution was reportedly recovered by the NDLEA agents in the process.

Fidelis, a native of Aboh Mbaise Local Government Area of Imo State, said he is married with three children. He explained that he could not go beyond primary school level in his education and it has forced him to rely on the proceeds of the cannabis business to fend for his family.

“My father died when I was a little child and I have suffered. A friend introduced me to the cannabis business. I use the proceeds to take care of my family. I also use my personal car to distribute it to avoid suspicion,” he said.

Nwoke also gave a similar confession. He said he had been sustaining his family with cannabis proceeds.

The suspect, a native of Obowo Local Government Area of Imo State told investigators that he has no formal education and is married with two children.

“Cannabis sale is my only source of livelihood,” he said.

Officials told Saturday Punch that his son, who had been assisting his father in the cannabis trade, is currently on the run.

According to a statement by NDLEA spokesperson, Mr. Mitchell Ofoyeju, the suspects will soon be charged to court for unlawful possession and trafficking of cannabis contrary to Section 11 sub-section C and D of the NDLEA Act.

He quoted the acting Chairman of the agency, Mrs. Roli Bode-George, as expressing optimism that the agency’s anti-drug strategies would continue to yield positive results in the country. “These arrests and seizures are products of painstaking surveillance and the public should look forward to a systematic dismantling of drug trafficking cartels in the days ahead,” Bode-George said.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 5-12-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Activated at 5-12-2015 10:39 AM (8 years ago)
Cannabis is already being legalised in so many American states. Up north here youths use this thing indiscriminately and openly and no one bothers them.
Cannabis have been found to be less addictive than caffeine which is found in most coffees.

Bottomline is that it looks like rules are well enforced in the south and no one seems to give a shit up north here.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 10:39 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 5-12-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
send them to jail
Posted: at 5-12-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 5-12-2015 10:51 AM (8 years ago)
Abeg,release them,let them go,Bia police men &force agents involved,na today una know say them dey sell am or cos them no dey settle you guys again??? Rubbish,Hemp wey also everybody dey smoke,police,army,soilders,government officials even magistrate&judge de smoke.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 10:51 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 5-12-2015 11:04 AM (8 years ago)
i can smell a very bad Christmas for these guys.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 11:04 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 5-12-2015 11:32 AM (8 years ago)
This guys want to kill people with this kind of drugs, they should go and face judgment.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 11:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 5-12-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago)
With this drug in circulation, addiction, and acts inspired by the devil did it, will be well nourished, it might even be that violence can also depend on the circulation of drugs.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 5-12-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago)
Wow drug barons
Posted: at 5-12-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 5-12-2015 12:56 PM (8 years ago)
Seriously wit all dis arrest, d Igbo is much more on d street than we can imagine. If u want to kill a snake, u can't cut d middle of d snake but d head first. NDLEA, go to d source. D planter, not d distributor.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 12:56 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Aniagain at 5-12-2015 12:57 PM (8 years ago)
Its high they take wit d people dealing wit or smoking weeds, am nt a smoker bt I dnt see much big deal in weed smokin

Posted: at 5-12-2015 12:57 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 5-12-2015 02:39 PM (8 years ago)
That was gud...una time has end.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 02:39 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 5-12-2015 02:41 PM (8 years ago)
137kg of cannabis, omo una wan kill people?
Posted: at 5-12-2015 02:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wikigenius at 5-12-2015 03:26 PM (8 years ago)
In nigeria again, wen will dis country b gud
Posted: at 5-12-2015 03:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 5-12-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Gozzy gozzy on  5-12-2015 10:39 AM
Cannabis is already being legalised in so many American states. Up north here youths use this thing indiscriminately and openly and no one bothers them.
Cannabis have been found to be less addictive than caffeine which is found in most coffees.

Bottomline is that it looks like rules are well enforced in the south and no one seems to give a shit up north here.

You right guy, it has been legalizd in some country. why nigeria cant change there mentality against it. you guys shoul leave these man alone.
Posted: at 5-12-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 5-12-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago)
This na wetin the guy dey use chop. Man must chop no matter how him do am, hustling is the game
Posted: at 5-12-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 6-12-2015 12:54 AM (8 years ago)
Mrs Roli bode george, no bi the one wey her husband dey steal Nigeria money. Kingpin wey dey arrest poor man.
Posted: at 6-12-2015 12:54 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 6-12-2015 03:48 PM (8 years ago)
tor, na him tym reach fr ndlea to arrest am, mak him dey go spend christmas fr jail. nawa 4 ibo oo. some dey road dey protest while some dey distribute cannabis
Posted: at 6-12-2015 03:48 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 6-12-2015 05:44 PM (8 years ago)
I no no say weed dey sell like dat, i tink say everybody dey plant am for dere own back garden....Am shocked...
Posted: at 6-12-2015 05:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- charisVEC at 6-03-2016 12:19 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaooooo...illegal bziness...u guys suppose knw dat is nt a legal bziness..jail tins 4 u men
Posted: at 6-03-2016 12:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

4. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

5. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

6. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

7. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

8. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

9. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

10. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

11. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

12. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

13. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

14. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

15. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

16. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

17. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

18. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

19. BREAKING: Tragedy As 4 Year Old Boy Dies In Abuja School Amid Suspicion Of Foul Play

20. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

10. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So