Man Narrates How Uniformed Officers Refused To Help A Sick Man On Third Mainland Bridge

Date: 08-12-2015 9:18 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-12-2015 09:18 PM (8 years ago)

A man on Facebook IIsa Alda has narrated how he and his brother stumbled on a sick man on Third mainland bridge this evening and all the uniformed officers refused to help the man.

Read his post below:
In the last 1 hour, I have cried more than I have in ages.

My baby brother and I were/are on our way to Redemption Camp for the Holy Ghost Service when we encountered a bit of traffic on the 3rd Mainland Bridge.
I thought it strange considering the time but hey...

We then happened upon a man who we thought was dead in the middle of the road but as our car drove by, I noticed he was still breathing. We stopped immediately. Another vehicle stopped too.

There was no question about lifting the guy because we would have ended up in prison and charged with hit and run.

My brother trekked on Third Mainland Bridge to try to find an ambulance while myself and the other guy that stopped called the contact numbers of the police.
At this time, I was directing the traffic on 3rd Mainland Bridge away from the body of the guy in the middle of the road till he was moved to the pavement.

4 Military men passed on "Okadas" and said "Eeeyah" and moved on. The police passed by with sirens and shook their heads. They didn't stop.

A LASTMA official on a bike stopped. He didn't have a vehicle so he called his bosses who told him "they" were not coming.

I was stunned.
Then came a policeman with the new vehicles given by Ambode and he called his bosses who instructed him not to carry the guy in the "new" car. It wasn't to be stained with blood.

I broke down in tears at this point.

The reality was that the new police car was worth more than the Nigerian life.

This was my Nigeria. This was my Lagos.

We eventually stopped the ambulance of the Gbagada General Hospital and the driver agreed to carry the man, ONLY if the police escorted him.

So I understand the following

1. I cannot help a citizen who is injured because I will end up in prison first while they determine that I am not responsible.

2. The Uniform is a joke in Nigeria. It has no respect for the Nigerian life if you do not have money.

3. The new vehicles are better than the Nigerian life. Don't have an accident near one.

4. I need to relocate to New Zealand.

This is so sad. I hope this man survives.......

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-12-2015 09:18 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 8-12-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago)
Do you think this officers knows what their duties are, a police officer need to help the society bring peace and even help those that are not strong. If not then why (police is your friend)
Posted: at 8-12-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 8-12-2015 09:57 PM (8 years ago)
Oh my God, this is so terrible. That is 9ja for you, we dnt just have feeling for ourselve. I dnt knw perhaps some people think they are not going to die again, mayb that is why human dnt have meaning to them, We are just so heartless in this country. i hope the man survive it.
Posted: at 8-12-2015 09:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-12-2015 10:07 PM (8 years ago)
ooh boy welcome to zoo country where nothing works/ no mercy!!   
Posted: at 8-12-2015 10:07 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 8-12-2015 10:16 PM (8 years ago)
Hahaha,na today? Unless na money matter,then you will see all this forces go dey force themselves who will be the first,useless nation.
Posted: at 8-12-2015 10:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 8-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago)
Welcum to Nigeria where d security men are d killers and d destroyers of country. I pray d guy get well soon.
Posted: at 8-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- privacy at 8-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago)
Nawa ooo for naija
Posted: at 8-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 8-12-2015 10:55 PM (8 years ago)
U had a fcuking car u bloody idiot why didn't u take him to hospital and why r u complaining...?
U r an ars*hole u no fit help d poor guy bcos of ur own selfish, thoughtless, inhuman, meaningless reason...
Y u con come here for story like say u be good samaritan, people like u p!ss me off..
I can't understand y people dey comment dey blame police and u no how our police be so y wait for police..
And u dey go church go pray as at dat time... U r an idiot...
For people wey dey comment and blame police u lot r sick make una read am AGAIN...
Posted: at 8-12-2015 10:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kingcalors at 8-12-2015 11:28 PM (8 years ago)
THIS IS WHY THIS COUNTRY NEEDS TO SPLIT Into 4
Posted: at 8-12-2015 11:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yebo15 at 9-12-2015 12:05 AM (8 years ago)
It's a pity Nigeria is all man for himself and I wonder why some will be allowed to post insulting comment here.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 12:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Powerfulify at 9-12-2015 01:38 AM (8 years ago)
If I'm in position to do anything u (dickieponga) or whatever u name urself, I will  ban u 4rm posting anything here bcos ur comments is always negative, wait a minute r u sure dat u don't know what happened to that victim on that bridge? What a heartless human being  r u? Any way I don't have time 4 u but I pray u find urself in dat condition (obiakpo) like u.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 01:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 9-12-2015 07:48 AM (8 years ago)
That's Nigeria for u. I pray the guy gets well

Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 9-12-2015 08:30 AM (8 years ago)
That is why we cant never stand and meet the level of overseas country. You can never see oversea uniform men behave like this. They respect and cherish there people, we in this country dnt have value for ourselve.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 08:30 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 9-12-2015 08:32 AM (8 years ago)
May God continue to help us. May God not put any of us in a situation where we will need help Like  that man found on the road.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 08:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benbella1 at 9-12-2015 09:57 AM (8 years ago)
that means u are a new comer, welcome to the zoo.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:57 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 9-12-2015 07:57 PM (8 years ago)
Not until we nigerians transform and change our mentality towards each other,there's no way nigeria would be a better place,talk of Corruption,Generosity,Kind attittude toward each other"Zero"(0).May God help us understand.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 15-12-2015 01:33 PM (8 years ago)
hmmm, all our security agencies no know deir duties again.
Posted: at 15-12-2015 01:33 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 26-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on  8-12-2015 10:55 PM
U had a fcuking car u bloody idiot why didn't u take him to hospital and why r u complaining...?
U r an ars*hole u no fit help d poor guy bcos of ur own selfish, thoughtless, inhuman, meaningless reason...
Y u con come here for story like say u be good samaritan, people like u p!ss me off..
I can't understand y people dey comment dey blame police and u no how our police be so y wait for police..
And u dey go church go pray as at dat time... U r an idiot...
For people wey dey comment and blame police u lot r sick make una read am AGAIN...

So are you saying police was nt to be blame, @poster have said it all that uniform men nt only police pass there.
Posted: at 26-12-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero