Over 3 Million Nigerians Living Illegally in UK – Says Senate

Date: 18-12-2015 4:13 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 18-12-2015 04:13 PM (8 years ago)

No fewer than three million Nigerians are living illegally in the United Kingdom (UK), the Senate said yesterday through its Committee on Foreign Affairs.
Committee Chairman Alhaja Monsurat Sunmonu made the statement after a meeting with officials of the Nigeria Immigration Service at the upper chamber of the National Assembly.
She said an Assistant Deputy Comptroller–General, Investigations, Intelligence and Enforcement of the NIS,   Mr. T. A   Hundeyin, also confirmed that the 48 Nigerians recently deported from the UK committed various types of crimes and had served prison terms.

Her words:
“The deputy comptroller just confirmed to us that it is not true that 29, 000 Nigerians are being deported from the United Kingdom or that the UK government intends to deport 29, 000 Nigerians.
“He (however) said that only 48 Nigerians  were deported and he had shown us their names and records that actually confirmed that they had all served their prison sentences so that is why they are being deported.”

She said further:
”About three million Nigerians are illegally living in the United Kingdom and that if three million Nigerians are living there illegally and they are only removing just 48 people confirmed to have committed crime and jailed, then the situation is not too bad.”

“We will not relent in our efforts on checking and doing our oversight functions. If it requires for us to go there and visit them, and to ask questions, we won’t mind to go there and to give Nigerians and to give them the history and the records of what we find out.”

Posted: at 18-12-2015 04:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 18-12-2015 04:31 PM (8 years ago)
Over 3 Million Nigerians Living Illegally in UK, that a lie!!! senate where una get your fact and findings from?
Posted: at 18-12-2015 04:31 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- beautysharp at 18-12-2015 05:08 PM (8 years ago)
Over 3million Nigerians living ILLEGALLY in UK. Then how many are legally staying there? 10million I guess pls stop painting Nigeria black. If u want to travel to UK and don't have d cash look for another alternative because with this ur propaganda even an unborn child can testify that u are lying
Posted: at 18-12-2015 05:08 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- crocatum at 18-12-2015 05:44 PM (8 years ago)
If they are serious, they should think about the growth of poverty and ignorance in the streets or they could sit together and start planning for our future, they should talk less, and do more.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 05:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maizaxx at 18-12-2015 07:03 PM (8 years ago)
But is that strange? What does the average Nigerian gets in his country? So you should expect that. In the 70's how many Nigerians were eager to go out of the country compared to now. The senators should have a rethink of the present situation and do something or else that number will quadruple in the next couple of months
Posted: at 18-12-2015 07:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 18-12-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago)
Daddies you can lie o,this ur figure is just so over emphasies,pls give us a resonable figure.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 18-12-2015 08:51 PM (8 years ago)
AND WHAT IS D pOpULTiON OF UK  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ::)يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 18-12-2015 08:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 18-12-2015 09:36 PM (8 years ago)
Next pls
Posted: at 18-12-2015 09:36 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ladyjayrita at 18-12-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago)
Lie lie see ur head,in ur country how my Nigerias have what they want? U don't know but yet u try to be telling us that is only 48 that has been deported and over three millions are illegally, says who!!!
Posted: at 18-12-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 18-12-2015 11:47 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmm
Posted: at 18-12-2015 11:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ayodun1 at 19-12-2015 12:28 AM (8 years ago)
Wetin man go do now..... No be their fault now. Man must survive.

Posted: at 19-12-2015 12:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 19-12-2015 12:57 AM (8 years ago)
Chai, over 3M nigeria living in uk. Nigerian don run away finish
Posted: at 19-12-2015 12:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 19-12-2015 01:19 AM (8 years ago)
Over 3 Million Nigerians Living Illegally in UK – Says Senate, however this is true.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 01:19 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 19-12-2015 01:28 AM (8 years ago)
See is not all about the government saying that the people living in UK are kini kor kini kor, they should start doing something with our economy so that people who think that the country is not helping them can find their way back home.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 01:28 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Zadok1 at 19-12-2015 07:18 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 18-12-2015 04:31 PM
Over 3 Million Nigerians Living Illegally in UK, that a lie!!! senate where una get your fact and findings from?
If 3 million are living illegal then 2 million with documents that's mean 5million living uk
then why should Nigeria exist. dessolve Nigerian now and save African continent .
Posted: at 19-12-2015 07:18 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zezprincess at 19-12-2015 10:59 AM (8 years ago)
Abeg senate make una try to dey get una facts well,not to sit at national assembly talking rubbish,at the end of the day,una go collect una salaries,How many nigerians are dead since buhari regime??? I dey wait for you senate make una tell me the numbers.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 10:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- stephen77 at 19-12-2015 12:03 PM (8 years ago)
This shows the level of intelligence of our Law makers and the Immigration. It is rather sad. There are 201,000+ legal Nigerians in Uk by 2011 census and there are about 2,000,000 blacks (3%) of the 64 million population. I think there will be between 30,000- 40,000 Nigerian maximum living without papers.The UK immigration says that they have 29,000 that have been refused papers and should be deported.

government officials should always give us facts.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 12:03 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- botlex at 19-12-2015 12:33 PM (8 years ago)
Three million Nigerians living without papers illegally in the UK. That's a big fat lie, wonder where u guys get your facts from.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 12:33 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diezo at 19-12-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago)
يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 19-12-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonix22001 at 19-12-2015 11:38 PM (8 years ago)
that yeye UK sef! i wonder y pple go dey there dey suffer and waste their lives. mctwee
Posted: at 19-12-2015 11:38 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

2. 86 Makeshift Apartments Where Tenants Pay N250,000 Annually Uncovered Beneath Lagos Bridge

3. Netizens Dig Up Tunde Ednut’s Throwback Performance At Children's Party Amidst Wizkid & Davido

4. Veteran Actress, Sola Sobowale Recounts Difficult Life She Lives Abroad

5. VIDEO; Nigerian Boy Stirs Reactions After Flaunting His Older White Lover

6. He Is Undoubtedly The 001 Of The Nigerian Music Industry – Senator Dino Melaye Gives Davido Nod

7. Phyna’s Alleged Ex Boyfriend Threatens To Expose Her To World If She Talks About Davido

8. VID: Xxssive Reveals That Wizkid Might Have Been Paid to Start Fight With Davido

9. "Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello" – Actor Segun Arinze Tells EFCC

10. EFCC Slammed With N10m Damages For Declaring Pastor, Wife Wanted Without Court Order

11. Barcelona Set To Tackle Financial Woes By Clearing Out Eight Players (Full List)

12. Former Big Brother Naija Star, Chomzy Welcomes Baby Boy With Husband

13. Edo Governor Obaseki Reveals Why He Approved N70,000 Minimum Wage

14. Chelsea v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

15. 'No Minimum Wage By End Of May, No Peace' – Labour Threatens Nigerian Govt

16. "Why We Choose Collaboration Over Beef" – Fireboy On Why He's Working With Rema

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)