OAU Student Union President Suspended For 6 Semesters For Allegedly Assaulting A Professor

Date: 27-01-2016 2:04 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 27-01-2016 02:04 PM (8 years ago)

The leadership of the Student Union Government of OAU have been suspended by the school authorities on a lengthy note over a case of assault.
Authorities of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State, have suspended three student union leaders for allegedly assaulting a professor, according to My School Gist.

The students are the President of the Student Union body, Omotayo Akande who bagged six semesters (three years); PRO, Emmanuel Ojedokun – four semesters (two years); and Secretary General, Seun Oketooto – four semesters (two years).

The trio are all final year students and they would have started their examinations in the next two months. Students of the university, however, argued that the suspension of their leaders have to do with their recent agitation for better welfare conditions on campus.

It would be recalled that students of the OAU had staged a day peaceful protest, lecture boycott and later media campaign against the poor state of infrastructure in the university. Subsequently after the students agitation for better welfare, the authorities of OAU shut down the university by declaring a mid-semester break which lasted for about a month.

The authorities had since the closure of the school also suspended student unionism on the campus. It was further learnt that some hall (hostel) executives in the university are currently facing a panel for their roles in the protest against poor welfare on the campus.

The suspended OAU Student Union President, Mr. Omotayo Akande, confirmed the suspension in a statement aimed at dousing confusion among students. Akande, who is a 500-level Chemical Engineering student said,
“We will like to note that the union is currently examining the situation and will try to adopt the best approach to handle the victimisation and achieve not only our reinstatement but also ensure that the cause for a better welfare condition is achieved in the university.”

He claimed that none of the suspended students had any record of impoliteness, adding that the protest was embarked upon after diplomacy failed. Meanwhile, the Alliance of Nigerian Students Against Neo-Liberal Attacks has faulted the suspension of the students.

The group described the action as not only escapist but also undemocratic.

It added,
“We wish to state that we strongly condemn the victimisation of student activists by the authorities under any guise; and we advise the OAU management to desist from such a vindictive action.”

Posted: at 27-01-2016 02:04 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- rashjr at 27-01-2016 02:18 PM (8 years ago)
I fully support you guys.......
Posted: at 27-01-2016 02:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- rashjr at 27-01-2016 02:19 PM (8 years ago)
I fully support you guys.......
Posted: at 27-01-2016 02:19 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 27-01-2016 02:46 PM (8 years ago)
sounds good.. no  place for hooliganism on campus
Posted: at 27-01-2016 02:46 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Keffejude at 27-01-2016 03:28 PM (8 years ago)
there is more 2 this story, i belive 4 those students 2be elected as heads of student union in such a respectable uni it means they are responsible. d so-called prof must be walking a path of guilt n corruption else wetin concern frog with lizard tale?? a proper investigation into this matter should be carried out. besides na local uni self i would advice d students 2 fight bk legally or simply seek admission n change 2 a better uni
Posted: at 27-01-2016 03:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 27-01-2016 03:30 PM (8 years ago)
Solidly behind u guys
Posted: at 27-01-2016 03:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 27-01-2016 03:59 PM (8 years ago)
OAU right from day one like to dey violate the right of students,Aluta continual,never give up on ur dreams.
Posted: at 27-01-2016 03:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 27-01-2016 04:15 PM (8 years ago)
Welfare condition of a campus is a necessity yet should have been handled with all manners of professionalism. GREAT IFE!!!
Posted: at 27-01-2016 04:15 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 27-01-2016 06:36 PM (8 years ago)
too bad
Posted: at 27-01-2016 06:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 27-01-2016 06:43 PM (8 years ago)
Law of carma
Posted: at 27-01-2016 06:43 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 27-01-2016 08:29 PM (8 years ago)
U d poor always suffer had it b dat d guys ar frm political hme dis shit wnt hapen
Posted: at 27-01-2016 08:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 27-01-2016 09:25 PM (8 years ago)
Ah after jt two months to graduate?Huh? Wahala dey o
Posted: at 27-01-2016 09:25 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 27-01-2016 11:14 PM (8 years ago)
solidarity is for ever we shall always fight for our right....guys wake up from ur dream and fight for right.....rubbish, is dat ur mama send u to skull for be dat? dance to d tone now
Posted: at 27-01-2016 11:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 28-01-2016 12:41 AM (8 years ago)
What nonsense! I'm convinced those guys hasn't done anything to deserve suspension, I strongly believe the school authority is just pained that the students led protest against them

Posted: at 28-01-2016 12:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 28-01-2016 07:02 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 27-01-2016 02:46 PM
sounds good.. no  place for hooliganism on campus
,,Does tha mean they should die in silent?
Posted: at 28-01-2016 07:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tunasco4u at 28-01-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago)
Mayb he has forgot his stand
Posted: at 28-01-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oworen25 at 29-01-2016 05:58 PM (8 years ago)
This one I really support this one because most of this students when they join cult they think that they can talk to anyone anyhow
Posted: at 29-01-2016 05:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 29-01-2016 11:26 PM (8 years ago)
GOGOMAN YOU ARE VERY
STUPID AND A BRAINLESS
IDIOT SO BECAUSE ITS
BUHARI OR APC NO ONE
SHOULD TALK USELESS
IDIOT... NOW I KNOW YOU ARE A BORN BASTARD WHAT HAVE
YOU BENEFITED FROM YOUR
USELESS god BOKARI THE
MOST TRAVELLED PRESIDENT
IN WORLD WITHOUT BRAIN..IF
IT WAS GOODLUCK YOUR KUNU MOUTH WILL BE RUNING
LIKE TOILET MONKEY FROM
THE ZOO see oppression Buhari's APC bribed a yoruba boy
studying at Universiti sains Islam
Malaysia with N7 million in
December 2014 for his facebook
propaganda posts. The same boy
was the one whose friend reported to the university management that
he was suffering from terminal
disease called HIV besides being
a scammer and fraudster. To my
chagrin, the person who made the
report got expelled and deported back to Nigeria
Posted: at 29-01-2016 11:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 29-01-2016 11:27 PM (8 years ago)
GOGOMAN YOU ARE VERY
STUPID AND A BRAINLESS
IDIOT SO BECAUSE ITS
BUHARI OR APC NO ONE
SHOULD TALK USELESS
IDIOT... NOW I KNOW YOU ARE A BORN BASTARD WHAT HAVE
YOU BENEFITED FROM YOUR
USELESS god BOKARI THE
MOST TRAVELLED PRESIDENT
IN WORLD WITHOUT BRAIN..IF
IT WAS GOODLUCK YOUR KUNU MOUTH WILL BE RUNING
LIKE TOILET MONKEY FROM
THE ZOO see oppression Buhari's APC bribed a yoruba boy
studying at Universiti sains Islam
Malaysia with N7 million in
December 2014 for his facebook
propaganda posts. The same boy
was the one whose friend reported to the university management that
he was suffering from terminal
disease called HIV besides being
a scammer and fraudster. To my
chagrin, the person who made the
report got expelled and deported back to Nigeria
Posted: at 29-01-2016 11:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 31-01-2016 08:39 PM (8 years ago)
d so-called prof must be walking a path of guilt n corruption else wetin concern frog with lizard tale??
Posted: at 31-01-2016 08:39 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu