We Were Very Poor, We Didnt Have A TV At Home - Millionaire Footballer, Kelechi Iheanacho

Date: 22-02-2016 10:49 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 22-02-2016 10:49 PM (8 years ago)
 Rising star Kelechi Iheanacho in his first major interview since bursting into the big scene revealed that he came from a poor background and had to work hard to get to the level he is currently .

The 19-year-old  has flourished in this season’s FA Cup, scoring at Norwich in the third round before a hat-trick against Aston Villa in the fourth . Iheanacho has scored nine goals already in his debut year for Manchester City .

The Imo state born Nigerian forward said he had to pay 50 naira to watch the biggest stars play in the Premier League .And sometimes when he couldn't even afford the money , he would sneak in for the second half and pay half of the money .
‘We didn’t have the money,’ he says. ‘Maybe after the game I’d hear the scores and all that. I’d be at home playing football and my friends would come back after being there to tell me. We didn’t have a television at home.

Sometimes I watched the Spanish league — it was a bit cheaper, maybe 30 naira,’ he adds. ‘But the Premier League was 50. Sometimes I’d watch the Premier League if I found the money, or I’d go there and beg them to let me in. Or sneak in for the second half and pay half the money.I support Barcelona because I watched the Spanish league. I saw Yaya [Toure] playing for Barcelona... and now I’m playing with him. It’s a dream come true. I have to be my own man but he is a big influence in Africa. He has done a lot in Africa and I hope to do that as well.’

Iheanacho was to sign for Porto early in his career but he has no regrets on turning his back on the Portuguese club when City came knocking two years ago.  He said :

‘I wasn’t expecting that,’ he says. ‘I was working with the EDS [Elite Development Squad]. He said I was going with them to Australia in pre-season and after we came back I was in the first team. I was a bit surprised.You feel a bit nervous, these are great players. It’s important to listen.I’m happy playing with them now and they give me confidence to play, they encourage me a lot. That doesn’t mean I’ll disrespect them or feel I’m one of them now. I wouldn’t just do anything I liked — I’ve got to keep my head down, keep working hard.’

Iheanacho's mum Mercy who was a teacher  passed away in 2013, a few months before his life-changing Under 17 World Cup, and her memory serves as a constant source of determination.

'It was hard for us when my mother left us,’ Iheanacho reflects, suddenly holding back tears. ‘We couldn’t do anything so I said to myself "move on and keep working hard".She makes me work harder. When I’m not doing something right, or when I’m not playing or working hard enough, then I remember her. She pushed me to work hard.'

‘There are jobs [back home] but football has always been with me. When I was growing up they didn’t want me to do it because my mother was a teacher — they wanted me to go to school. But I love football and wanted to play — they wanted to stop me but couldn’t.

‘They wouldn’t allow me to play out after school but I went out anyway. Maybe I lost a bit of focus on my studies .It’s amazing when you go back home now, when you remember how you were before. You go back home and all those people are calling your name, shouting. I get mobbed by the kids. They want to see you, want to know you.’

Good story from Iheanacho and I wish him the very best !

Posted: at 22-02-2016 10:49 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 22-02-2016 10:56 PM (8 years ago)
There is always a story for every man.
Posted: at 22-02-2016 10:56 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ujmaria at 22-02-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago)
Such is life dear
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 22-02-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago)
E no easy, but you now balling with Aguero, thats the story. The other part of not having TV and all, na story story, if you not balling with Yaya Toure and Aguero, no one is hearing those pathetic story

Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yebo15 at 22-02-2016 11:11 PM (8 years ago)
Congratulations big big but the greatest thing you can do in life is to use your new level to help others.
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:11 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ficull at 22-02-2016 11:29 PM (8 years ago)
You are the next BIG thing outta Africa. Enjoy d moment. Cheers
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 22-02-2016 11:33 PM (8 years ago)
I know naija is full of poverty with no electricity and stuff, but without TV wow that is out of order.. congrats bro and spend wisely
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:33 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- charisVEC at 22-02-2016 11:56 PM (8 years ago)
I see..That's lyf 4 u,no conditionis permanent jus belive..,issokay
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 23-02-2016 12:29 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Adams Victor on 22-02-2016 11:11 PM
Congratulations big big but the greatest thing you can do in life is to use your new level to help others.
Why is it helping others that matter with African ! He should solidify his career first before you start putting pressure of helping others on 18yr old boy .The mind set of helping others is creating nuisance and laziness in society .Every man must strive for himself without hoping on outsider to come give u a lift .

Posted: at 23-02-2016 12:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 23-02-2016 01:16 AM (8 years ago)
That's how God works my son. Enjoy ur new found status and be good

Posted: at 23-02-2016 01:16 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 23-02-2016 01:20 AM (8 years ago)
God did his work perfectly
Posted: at 23-02-2016 01:20 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 23-02-2016 04:32 AM (8 years ago)
I saw
Posted: at 23-02-2016 04:32 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Blessed75 at 23-02-2016 05:02 AM (8 years ago)
God has remember and your family and noting can stop you moving forward
Posted: at 23-02-2016 05:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- austinesnow at 23-02-2016 07:09 AM (8 years ago)
God is good...am even amazed with ur success imagin playing with big team u hv bin watching at ur teenage age.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 07:09 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- oscarpatt at 23-02-2016 07:16 AM (8 years ago)
Who cares
Posted: at 23-02-2016 07:16 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Powerfulify at 23-02-2016 07:28 AM (8 years ago)
Gud job my dear
Posted: at 23-02-2016 07:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lilchuks28 at 23-02-2016 07:30 AM (8 years ago)
That is life for you....Que Sera Sera
Posted: at 23-02-2016 07:30 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DAMILARE100 at 23-02-2016 08:12 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Adams Victor on 22-02-2016 11:11 PM
...Can you practice what you preach? How many people have you helped with the little you have? Am sure you have more than a pair of shoes, does that mean you haven't seen someone walking bear-footed? Yeye de smell
Posted: at 23-02-2016 08:12 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 23-02-2016 08:14 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Williams Vancouver on 23-02-2016 12:29 AM
Why is it helping others that matter with African ! He should solidify his career first before you start putting pressure of helping others on 18yr old boy .The mind set of helping others is creating nuisance and laziness in society .Every man must strive for himself without hoping on outsider to come give u a lift .
I tire for them oooo.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 08:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 23-02-2016 08:20 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Daniel Bosai on 22-02-2016 11:09 PM
E no easy, but you now balling with Aguero, thats the story. The other part of not having TV and all, na story story, if you not balling with Yaya Toure and Aguero, no one is hearing those pathetic story
MEANING..... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLL L... ...
Posted: at 23-02-2016 08:20 AM (8 years ago) | Hero