BREAKING! Sunday Oliseh Quits As Super Eagles Chief Coach

Date: 26-02-2016 6:34 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-02-2016 06:34 AM (8 years ago)

Sunday Oliseh has resigned as Super Eagles coach. The former national team skipper, who was appointed last year, made the shock announcement in the early hours of Friday via his twitter account.

This is what he posted a few hours ago: “Due to Contract violations, lack of Support, Unpaid wages, Benefits to my players, Asst.Coaches & amp; myself, I resign as Super Eagles Chief Coach

He goes on to further tweet:
“feel fortunate, blessed and eternally grateful for having had the honour to Play, Captain & Coach this great Nation of ours, Nigeria.”

Oliseh, whose screamer against Spain at the 1998 World Cup finals in France is rated as one of the top goals scored at the Mundial, had been having it rough with his employers, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) over the poor showing of his team at the African Championships in Rwanda and his follow up self shot video where he cast aspersions not only on the federation but Nigerians as a whole with his “insane’ rant.

Although he later apologised, it was clear his position had become unattainable.

Oliseh, a former Juventus and Dortmund star, decided to throw in the towel barely three weeks to the crucial double Nations cup header against Egypt in Kaduna (March 25) and four days later in the Egyptian port city of Alexandra.

Following the Eagles’ indifferent performances in the continent’s top competition for national teams (the Eagles currently sit second in Group G of the Afcon 2017 qualifiers with four points, two behind table leaders Egypt); Nigeria needs to take at least four points off the Pharaohs if they are to keep their qualification hopes alive.

Apparently aware of the possibility of Oliseh resigning, the NFF has reportedly put former national team handler, Shaibu Amodu on standby to take charge of the Eagles for the crucial ties.

However, Supersport.com is reporting that Oliseh sent in his resignation to the NFF on Thursday after collecting the back-log of his salaries which were owed him by the Federation.

Dr Mohammed Sanusi, General Secretary of the NFF, confirmed to supersport.com that the former Ajax Amsterdam midfielder has indeed resigned from his post as the coach of the Super Eagles.

“Yes, we have received a letter from him and I can tell you he has resigned as coach of the national team (Super Eagles),”he said.

“I can tell you the content of the letter yet because we haven’t met to deliberate on it. We are in Zurich for the FIFA Congress but as soon as we are through with the meeting, you will be in the know,” Sanusi added.

The former Super Eagles skipper had earlier told sports news site that: “I asked the technical committee for videos and analysis of Egypt since July. Since then I haven’t got it. I am not blaming NFF for anything. We all know the situation in the country right now. However, I must state that there are challenges we are facing.”

Oliseh has been in charge of 11 games, winning five, drawing four and losing two.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 26-02-2016 06:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OOSSYY at 26-02-2016 06:50 AM (8 years ago)
BIG SHAME ON U SUNDAY OLISEH, U THINK SAY NA EASY SOMETHING TO COACH SUPER EAGLES. WHEN STEPHEN KESHI WAS THE COACH, U WERE HIS NUMBER ONE ENEMY,WORKING UNDER GROUND FOR HIM TO BE SACKED.NOW U DON RUN.U BIG MOUTHED CHALATAN
Posted: at 26-02-2016 06:50 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 26-02-2016 07:15 AM (8 years ago)
Na u sabi.
Posted: at 26-02-2016 07:15 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-02-2016 07:34 AM (8 years ago)
Chiee,, NobsmallTin o
Posted: at 26-02-2016 07:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- charisVEC at 26-02-2016 07:40 AM (8 years ago)
I see...issokay
Posted: at 26-02-2016 07:40 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 26-02-2016 08:02 AM (8 years ago)
LMAO! Then some people come here to blame Mikel and other stars that they dont play for Nigeria the way they are playing for their clubs in Europe, what people need to understand is that Nigeria is inflicted with the culture of my first, Me, Myself and I and at the end of the day, no one is willing the sacrifice, out of a huge budget of 5 trillion naira how come there isnt enough money for NFF to satisfy their contractual duties without haggles on money and money and money, where you have our foreign counterparts like spain and england spending a fortune directly on their players through the FA and you want to compare this? Unfortunately, am sure someone else will pick up the job, sorry Oliseh, this will eventually turn out to be your faith and lack of patriotism etc. But deep inside us, we all know where the problem came from and it is really not your fault, but honestly, just prepare to take all the blame because of your fans ***** in akons voice ****

Posted: at 26-02-2016 08:02 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 26-02-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
aaaah finally he has given up....i said it that
this guy go run....leave that office.well
we wish him all the best oh....
Posted: at 26-02-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 26-02-2016 08:14 AM (8 years ago)
U don run after u scatter our national team,resignation here n there, na wetin we dey hear.fake coach,fake players,fake NFF,fake fans
Posted: at 26-02-2016 08:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 26-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago)
Oliseh forgot that quitters don't win while winners don't quit.

Posted: at 26-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 26-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago)
Oliseh forgot that quitters don't win while winners don't quit.

Posted: at 26-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yebo15 at 26-02-2016 08:29 AM (8 years ago)
I see one thing common among every of our Nigeria national coaches most especially the super eagle that they are always been owed by the nff the truth is that we can't know as much as the coaches and nff .
Posted: at 26-02-2016 08:29 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- lilchuks28 at 26-02-2016 09:18 AM (8 years ago)
Keshi was the best Super Eagles coach Nigeria ever had, but when he was there, this insane nigga called Oliseh was busy criticising him and calling for his sack..... then he step up to Keshi shoe only to destabilised the Nigeria team and quit....only God nah go purnish you....yeye man....Que Sera Sera
Posted: at 26-02-2016 09:18 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 26-02-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago)
It's been coming, I know this news is inevitable

Posted: at 26-02-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 26-02-2016 10:00 AM (8 years ago)
why everything for naija na polities? see how una kill super eagles with una polities, from super eagles to baby chickens
Posted: at 26-02-2016 10:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benokafor at 26-02-2016 10:26 AM (8 years ago)
ENDTIME SUPER EAGLE COACH
Posted: at 26-02-2016 10:26 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 26-02-2016 10:47 AM (8 years ago)
QUIETER SON OF A BITCH
Posted: at 26-02-2016 10:47 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Haso112 at 26-02-2016 11:18 AM (8 years ago)
Hahahaha, interesting news... Oliseh Chickened out.... Shit's real, the kitchen was too hot.. Politics, Juju, N.F.F, and I must not forget.. ENYEAMA... loool
Posted: at 26-02-2016 11:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 26-02-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago)
AND GOVERNMENT CAN SPEND RUBBISH MONEY ON BUHARI TRIPS,,,,GONE WITH THE WIND..SUNDAY NEXT TIME be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 26-02-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- precutty at 26-02-2016 12:06 PM (8 years ago)
is alright, violation of contract ni
Posted: at 26-02-2016 12:06 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- bright1love at 26-02-2016 12:22 PM (8 years ago)
phyuk YOU OLISEH
Posted: at 26-02-2016 12:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming