Popular Actress, Eku Edewor's Cousin, Maro Itoje, Groomed As England Rugby Captain

Date: 26-02-2016 4:18 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 26-02-2016 04:18 PM (8 years ago)

Maro Itoje, 21, is a man of many talents. He plays rugby, writes poems, discusses politics, knows about the economic hardship of Nigeria though he wasn’t born here and is also a devout christian. Now, he’s on his way to leading England’s Rugby Team after receiving his England national squad call-up in January.

He’s in the starting line-up of six-nations team to play Ireland today.

Maro’s other interests include classical singing, the opera, visiting art galleries and debating foreign policy. How many 21-year-old’s are interested in politics?

The star’s love for Rugby saw him study harder than usual as his dad had previously warned that he could kiss the game goodbye if he flunked his grades. The youngster kept his cool, stayed off parties, joined the choir in high school; and wrote poems, while his friends were practicing on the pitch.

Itoje Jr used every time not spent playing Rugby or any other hobbies, reading.

He utilized his bursary and time at Harrow, where he graduated with A grades in A-level economics, statistics and politics. A feat many have seen to be better than children of the ruling English family. He is an avid poet, having taken up writing while on a long-distance rugby trip.
Maro’s physique marked him out as a born-rugby player while studying at St George’s, a boarding school in Harpenden, Hertfordshire. He also represented youth national teams in shot-put and basketball. Shortly afterwards, a bursary of £36,000-a-year to Harrow was awarded him at the age of 16 though he had close to zero experience. At 6ft 5in, 18st 4lb, this ‘champion’ is his father’s role model. He was born in Camden, North London, after his parents Efe and Florence moved to Britain after marrying in Nigeria. Itoje Jr is also a cousin to popular Nigerian presenter Eku Dedewor.

His father, Efe Itoje advised Maro sternly on the need to work extra-hard for opportunities because he belonged to an ‘ethnic minority’.

Rather than being rebellious, Itoje Jr heeded his father’s words and today, he’s on top of the world. Playing on the same pitch as past legends in the game.

Ijoje Snr said:

“I made it quite clear from a very early stage that if his grades dropped, the rugby stopped. I told him he needed to make a decision. If he wanted to play rugby then fine, but if his grades dropped I’d declare war on him. He was always a very focused young man.

He didn’t want to go partying like other teenagers. He was quite unusual in that respect. We instilled the need to be the best he can be and he’s certainly delivered on that front. He’s kept his promise. I’m so proud of him. He’s been blessed with natural talent and he’s a role model as well. The way he conducts himself is very important. He’s my role model now”.

Imbibing his father’s words, Maro said: “For my family, education is highly important and as a result they ensured that my studies never diminished due to my sporting commitments. Not just me, but I think 99 per cent of kids would rather play football or rugby than do their homework. As I grew up I realized the importance of it”.

Young Itoje was included for the first time in the starting line-up of the Six Nations team that will play Ireland, Friday. A move that has seen him being hailed as the future captain of England’s squad.

He previously captained his club side, Saracens in the Aviva Premiership. He also captained England’s under-20 side during their victory at the Junior World Championship in 2014.

Posted: at 26-02-2016 04:18 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 26-02-2016 04:38 PM (8 years ago)
TOH,,NAIJA NO DEY PLAY RUGBY,SO CONGRATS,,JUST be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 26-02-2016 04:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 26-02-2016 04:49 PM (8 years ago)
I hate rugby too dangerous!!! anyway hope u do well
Posted: at 26-02-2016 04:49 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zoe61 at 26-02-2016 05:22 PM (8 years ago)
congrats
Posted: at 26-02-2016 05:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 26-02-2016 05:32 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 26-02-2016 05:32 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 26-02-2016 05:56 PM (8 years ago)
see my boy ooooo
Posted: at 26-02-2016 05:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 26-02-2016 06:25 PM (8 years ago)
Big up boy, congratulations
Posted: at 26-02-2016 06:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 26-02-2016 07:26 PM (8 years ago)
mehn the guy try ooh to play Rugby is an
a day job.....oh takes a lot of strenght...
however congrat brother
Posted: at 26-02-2016 07:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kenpoxy at 26-02-2016 07:46 PM (8 years ago)
congrat .....Hmmmmmmm BUHARI :: hmmmmm Buhari....okay oooooooo
Posted: at 26-02-2016 07:46 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- imaria at 27-02-2016 01:58 AM (8 years ago)
Better pinkin
Posted: at 27-02-2016 01:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ujmaria at 27-02-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago)
Congrats
Posted: at 27-02-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 27-02-2016 02:00 PM (8 years ago)
Good one boy,you are gifted.
Posted: at 27-02-2016 02:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 27-02-2016 10:09 PM (8 years ago)
rugby looks like a rough and though game.  thank God you distinguished yourself in a foreign land.  that is very good.
Posted: at 27-02-2016 10:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 28-02-2016 04:50 AM (8 years ago)
Brilliant chap with many talents,You are gifted,God bless you.
Posted: at 28-02-2016 04:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- princedafe at 28-02-2016 11:03 AM (8 years ago)
Another SENSIBLE act
Posted: at 28-02-2016 11:03 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 6-03-2016 08:56 AM (8 years ago)
cool...buh aw dah one put fuel fr my gen
Posted: at 6-03-2016 08:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 6-03-2016 12:27 PM (8 years ago)
Congrats o.
Posted: at 6-03-2016 12:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 10-03-2016 01:31 AM (8 years ago)
Congrat guy.. Am so happy for you, you really work hard to be there.
Posted: at 10-03-2016 01:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 13-03-2016 12:26 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 26-02-2016 04:49 PM
I hate rugby too dangerous!!! anyway hope u do well
Lols,seriously...if u ar. Nt strong..u no fit play that Game o
Posted: at 13-03-2016 12:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero