Keeping Cool In This Fiery Hot Weather

Date: 12-03-2016 9:55 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bourne Identity
- at 12-03-2016 09:55 PM (8 years ago)
Today I will be writing on a very important issue, bordering on the geometric increase in environmental temperature.

Nigeria is a tropical environment naturally warm, but the recent increase in environmental temperature suggest the warmness might be approaching a level high enough to fry an egg. #lol

Since the advent of this ungodly hike in temperature, I basically lock myself inside the house and only leave home or office on important or special occasions. Because 31°C is not a joke. And 31°C in the boiling sun is more like an insult to your sanity. Trust me, when you become dependent on the air conditioner, life does take on a different perspective under the fiery boiling sun blazing from the sky these days.

The out of book solution to this problem is probably to fit an air conditioner, but not all of us have access to air-con. And when you turn on an air-conditioner, it is expensive, it releases climate-changing greenhouse gases contributing to global warming. This led me to do some research on how to survive these hot times, the Northern part of Nigeria has been equally hot and probably hotter these days and people have survived the onslaught, well I did, but then the heat is out of this world for someone domiciled in the West all his life.

Are you in Nigeria or any part of the world, undergoing excruciating pain from the prevalent weather condition there are plenty things you should be aware of to survive this heat-alien invasion. Here are some tips for survival.

1 Don't exercise when it is hot;

I basically do my drills any time of the day, jogging around 8-9am in the morning on Saturdays, pushing dumbbell under the angry eye of the boiling sun. Recently I tried same, I was dizzy during the whole workout and even had headaches after it. So either don’t exercise outside when it’s too hot or work out somewhere inside where the air conditioners are on.

2 If you have an apartment positioned in a way that allows the direct passage of sunlight into the room. It is advisable to Keep curtains and blinds down to block the heat and direct sunlight.

3 Drink lot of water:

My doctor recommends I drink about three liters of water every day even if I am just staying home. You all will agree with me that this desperately-hot period requires a lot of life-saving cool water. you need water to survive! If you don’t drink enough water, you put yourself at risk of getting bad skin, migraines, low stamina and horrible weakness. On top of that, lack of water leaves you open to various infections because your body doesn’t protect you like it should. So drink water, three liters, no more no less every day.

4 Invest in Solar Energy, Solar Fans, Solar Panels etc;

As uncomfortable as the increase in temperature is, there is probably one positive to take from it, the energy from the sun can be harnessed and use to generate power, OK fine, I know that is expensive I can sense the feeling in you, the feeling is mutual, but let me point out that there are portable, affordable solar fans all around Nigeria, the pack comes with a solar panel, the fan itself and probably a charging port for your mobile devices, it's been sold at prices way below what you will get an air-con for. I use one, "bro it is a life saver go invest in one".

5 Take more Showers;

This is probably the easiest and obvious way out. funnily, people don't follow this simple ritual "shower often". Taking cold showers whenever you feel that your system is getting too hot will help you maintain healthy body temperature. In addition, showers will save you from getting any type of fungal infections on your skin or heat rash, which are very common these days, and can be very unpleasant.

6 The most energy efficient way to stay cool is to live in a well-designed home. If you're building or renovating, aim for a house that keeps cool without air-conditioning. Remember that there are often power outages on days of extreme heat, when the electricity grid struggles to cope. Efficient Eco-houses are the ones sitting cool and pretty when the power is out.

Others include but not limited to;

- Don't eat large, protein-rich meals that can increase metabolic heat and warm the body. My ewa goyin peeps take note.

- Avoid alcoholic beverages and caffeine as much as you can. Coffee gang and the ever-increasing 17:59 club members, y'all should note that.

- Eliminate extra sources of heat. I try to do my cooking around 5 - 7 pm, so I don't heat up the room before bed. Power saving light bulbs should be used, they don't generate unnecessary heat, appliances and computers, not in use should not be left running, they generate heat.

- Open car windows to purge the hot air when you first get in, before turning on air-con.

- Plant a tree or put up exterior shade sails or grow deciduous vines, particularly on the western side of your house.

Finally, watch out for signs of heat stroke which are; rapid panting, wide eyes, lots of drooling, hot skin, twitching muscles, vomiting and a dazed look.

Comments, opinions, bashings, criticisms, additions, will be gladly received.

Thank you for your time.

http://jhegz.blogspot.com.ng/2016/03/keeping-cool-in-this-fiery-hot-weather.html

Posted: at 12-03-2016 09:55 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 12-03-2016 09:57 PM (8 years ago)
Naija is a very hot place n u nid to keep ursef cool even d solar fans can do u gud
Posted: at 12-03-2016 09:57 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 19-03-2016 11:49 PM (8 years ago)
yes here hot no be small....oh
Posted: at 19-03-2016 11:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 23-03-2016 11:37 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 23-03-2016 11:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- michaelc80 at 10-06-2016 10:47 PM (7 years ago)
Observing
Posted: at 10-06-2016 10:47 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 6-12-2016 01:15 AM (7 years ago)
tanks @poster,we haf hear uuu!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 6-12-2016 01:15 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PipiscAzke at 9-06-2021 12:06 PM (2 years ago)
Hi everyone. I don't think it has anything to do with anything and what you have read is utter nonsense.
It won't be very difficult to align, the main thing is not to go overboard. But it's best not to do it yourself, because you can make it worse if you have no experience. If there is no warranty on it, it is best to contact an aircon service firm. They have people there who can handle this problem very easily. I had a similar situation, but I decided that I can do it myself, and began to align myself. In the end, I broke one side and made it worse. It was only after that I decided to go to a firm. They helped me, but it was much more expensive than what I would have done right away. Therefore, I sincerely advise to contact a master, it will not be expensive, but it will be reliable. I hope that helped advice, I wish you luck.
Posted: at 9-06-2021 12:06 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie

1. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. Actress, Eniola Badmus Looks Beautiful In New Photos To Spice Up The Weekend

11. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

12. Ex-Wife Of Late Alaafin Of Oyo, Queen Dami Shares Cryptic Post About Death

13. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

14. VIDEO: Woman Who Was Disgraced By Pastor Enenche, Seeks For A New Apartment

15. Second Republic Lawmaker & Veteran Journalist, Sidi Ali Dies At Age 86 In Kano

16. Mohbad's Dad, Aloba Granted Another Method To Deliver Court Summons For DNA Test To Wumi

1. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

2. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

3. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

4. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

5. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

6. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

7. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu