Christian Leaders accuse soilders of killing Christians during crisis

Date: 23-01-2010 1:47 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 23-01-2010 01:47 PM (14 years ago)

Anti-riot policemen in Jos

The Jos sectarian crisis took a familiar turn yesterday when Plateau State Christian Elders Consultative Forum accused the Nigerian Army of siding with Muslims and perpetuating genocide against Christians in the state.

The accusation is coming less than 24 hours after Tuesday’s deployment of soldiers in the city, following the escalation of the violence, which started Sunday afternoon.

The forum condemned what it called the action of soldiers against Christians in Jos and called on the Federal Government and the international community to investigate the involvement of the army in the matter.

In a statement in Abuja, the forum said: “With the religious crisis in Plateau State entering its fourth day, we are sad to announce that the real culprits that have been killing our Christian brethrens are the Nigerian soldiers.

“At the instance of the Federal Government, the military were deployed to calm tempers in the state. But our findings have shown that some of these soldiers disguised themselves by wearing white canvass with military uniforms as a decoy so that they will be mistaken for fake soldiers.

“These soldiers have killed hundreds of innocent citizens in Chwelnyap, Jos North and Angwan Doki in Bukuru, both popular Christian communities in Jos City .

“We condemn this genocide against Christians by Nigeria Soldiers in Jos and hereby call on Federal Government and the international community to investigate these activities of those who have sworn to protect the integrity of the nation and our defenceless citizens.

“It is also amazing that these mischievous elements in the Nigerian Army who pretend to be ‘fake’ have entered these communities, breaking into homes of the helpless and defenceless citizens, evacuating them and shooting them sporadically. Our hearts weep for what is happening here which we believe is being sponsored by some dubious elements in the name of religion. But should they use a government agency like the military? Is this another Odi or Zaki Biam?

“In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, we call on the Federal Government to intervene and stop this mischief by its agents called the Nigerian Soldiers,” the statement, signed by the national coordinator and general secretary Bishop Andeson and Dr Musa Pam respectively said.

Posted: at 23-01-2010 01:47 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abdulmajeedq at 24-01-2010 08:26 AM (14 years ago)
This statement can not be true is just  a way of fueling the crisis again. No soldier will be deployed base on faith biasness and they have to be under a commander. How possible this type of a thing happened. Where are the reporters when the event was one? what will the soldiers used to identify people of different faith? Don't let us be callous in creating more problem but rather we should think of a lasting solution to the crisis.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 08:26 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- seheed at 24-01-2010 08:48 AM (14 years ago)
good,but d issue of religion should be put aside dis issue,tribal problem should be address 1st bcos in a community there are tribe who are minority n may be a christain or muslim,Today both d muslism n christain are not saying d truth,d truth need to be told my pple before any solution,if u like call d whole international community,d truth will not come out,except we love ourselfs be u a muslim or christan
Posted: at 24-01-2010 08:48 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dahirurabe at 24-01-2010 10:18 AM (14 years ago)
I think there is something unique about Jos crisis. Whether Nigerian army takes side or not for anybody to make mouth now is irrelevant. The people of Jos, the Christian in particular, must realized that there are many Christians from Jos living in different parts of Nigeria and they have been living without fear of being molested by their hosts. How then can somebody denies others living in Jos just because they are not Jarawa or Christians? It is left to the authorities to decide whether to take decisive action against the perpetrators of this nasty and dastardly acts or to risk the breakout of another major crisis in the country.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 10:18 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- heatheninherita at 24-01-2010 10:49 AM (14 years ago)
u are an idiot and a big fool. don't worry, u just pray that no news reach us in south south of any killing of our person, i promise u, a day is too much to kill all the beast in south south. trust me what u beast are looking in this country, u must u see.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 10:49 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Mamanruky at 24-01-2010 12:08 PM (14 years ago)
Is this really a forum of peace or inciting unrest? Topics of this kind depicts more of our differences with different members taking sides of their factions. Insult to members with "stupid" and all only incites hatred and trouble within the forum. This should be a forum for bringing Nigerians together and not tearing us further apart. I advice the forum coordinators to sensor critically topics or titles posted to in the forum. This topic is utterly senseless and un-imaginable accusation considering the Christian dominated Jos claiming soldiers in killings of Christians in Jos, while in fact the majority of soldiers in the Nigerian army are in fact Christians and the victims in the crisis are mostly killed or displaced Muslims. I always advocate on investigating facts before sharing uncanny news to the public. Naija pals is for network, fun and peace but not for finger-pointing with hatred-tainted comments. Please think again. Learn to live in peace and respect and tolerate each other's faith and ethnic faction. Peace
Posted: at 24-01-2010 12:08 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Mamanruky at 24-01-2010 12:15 PM (14 years ago)
Who killed the people in the Kuru karama ( a village 30 km from Jos) a Muslim dominated village where bodies and houses were burnt and some dumped in wells? Nigerian soldiers too? I wonder!!!
Posted: at 24-01-2010 12:15 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- malalawan at 24-01-2010 04:54 PM (14 years ago)
My fellow friends in this forum, I was born and raise in jos, but after 2001 crisis my family leave jos and relocate to maiduguri. Let me tell you this crisis is not religious, is a Tribal crisis but by implication it happens that the birom tribe are christains and the hausa fulanis are muslims. My christain brother, most especially from the south i dont want you to misunderstand this crisis, we know that muslims live peaceully in ibadan, porthacort, enugu , aba onitcha just a few to mention, and the christains also leaves in peace in Kano, Kaduna, sokoto etc. you have to ask your self why Jos. Therefore i want you to know that this organisation  called (CAN) that is dominated by jos biroms so called bishops are protecting their ethenic tribe and want to take the advantage of you the other christains in nigeria to continue their attrocities against the Hausa people who dominated the business activities in their land, which they have right to.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 04:54 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- malalawan at 24-01-2010 04:55 PM (14 years ago)
My fellow friends in this forum, I was born and raise in jos, but after 2001 crisis my family leave jos and relocate to maiduguri. Let me tell you this crisis is not religious, is a Tribal crisis but by implication it happens that the birom tribe are christains and the hausa fulanis are muslims. My christain brother, most especially from the south i dont want you to misunderstand this crisis, we know that muslims live peaceully in ibadan, porthacort, enugu , aba onitcha just a few to mention, and the christains also leaves in peace in Kano, Kaduna, sokoto etc. you have to ask your self why Jos. Therefore i want you to know that this organisation  called (CAN) that is dominated by jos biroms so called bishops are protecting their ethenic tribe and want to take the advantage of you the other christains in nigeria to continue their attrocities against the Hausa people who dominated the business activities in their land, which they have right to.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 04:55 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- malalawan at 24-01-2010 05:02 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: heatheninherita on 24-01-2010 10:49 AM
u are an idiot and a big fool. don't worry, u just pray that no news reach us in south south of any killing of our person, i promise u, a day is too much to kill all the beast in south south. trust me what u beast are looking in this country, u must u see.
[/quot

Take it easy my friend, Let me tell you i am a muslim, i have many christain friends, and to that advantage i know very much about christanity. But what to make you aware is that this crisis is not, a muslim chistain faight, it is a tribal crisis between Biroms who happens to be christains and hausas who happens to be muslim and their faight is not based on religious ground rather on ethenicty.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 05:02 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- colenzo at 24-01-2010 06:32 PM (14 years ago)
May God help all Christians in Nigeria ,i said it before their can never be peace if we remain one country

Posted: at 24-01-2010 06:32 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Andes at 24-01-2010 07:05 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: colenzo on 24-01-2010 06:32 PM
May God help all Christians in Nigeria ,i said it before their can never be peace if we remain one country
Are you thinking at all?
You dont strike me like someone who wants peace in Nigeria. So because their was crisis in Jos, we should divide Nigeria...
In to what Pls? Hausas and Yorubas or Christian and Muslims or Pegans or what?
Pls dont be Myopic, we need a way forward in Nigeria.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 07:05 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Andes at 24-01-2010 07:13 PM (14 years ago)
@Poster, Pls get more facts on this matter.. Cos I dont wanna agree that the Fake soldiers were actually killing Christians when most of them are christians, including the state Governor and police commissioner in the state...
So why kill christians.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 07:13 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- insshedy at 24-01-2010 09:56 PM (14 years ago)
d truth that let men free is of the most part the truth that men fail 2 hear bt i tel u and let d the truth b told.d repeatedly
 crises in jos has completely dent the imagine of this state(jos) the jos i knw waz d cool & good.Bt another story today.why are we fighting one anoda?b u muslim or christian we are of God.to our individual selves let learn how 2 tolerate 4 1 anoda.the religiousj crises i heard in kano,bauchi,kadun......have become thing of pass.why jos?2 my fellow pals avoid b insulting in this matter look how we can unamimously write to affect greeds who are the perpetrator of this crises in the name of religion.infact posterity will stand by u 4ever.see u guys/.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 09:56 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- blinksy at 24-01-2010 10:03 PM (14 years ago)
der is jst 1 tin i know dat someday everyone on d surface of dis earth is gonna die, but must we die in dis way? and it keeps paining me dat dose muslims involved ar d illiterates among them dat dont even know d value of life and ar not even useful to d society and then they kill our people dat knows d value of life and ar useful to d society. While their heads and educated ones ar pushing dem to fight dey ar busy enjoying wit their families. I know their is nothing dat can b done to stop these muslims bcos dey ar all rebels. Dey jst like to b killed dat's their fate, i'm sorry to say this bt it's true. U can imagine a muslim young boy of 23 attempted to bomb a u.s. plane. It's obvious dat it's their nature.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 10:03 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nicefranky at 24-01-2010 10:09 PM (14 years ago)
if i may add,it is very painfull when you hear of crisis in Jos.what is the cause of these crisis?it didnt just happen,it was caused by human beings,who think they are God.i was talking to a friend,who want to make me believe that the cause of the crisis is that the moslems wants to make Jos an islamic state.but i dont think thats the cause of these crisis.pls let us understand that Nigeria is a diverse society and we should learn to respect each other in respective of the tribe,religious afflilation.No man has the rite to take life.
Posted: at 24-01-2010 10:09 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- The-s-man at 24-01-2010 10:41 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Dranatomy on 24-01-2010 07:10 PM
muslims are the people who are causing all the havoc and mischieves in nigeria which originally is no an islamic nation...they should be warned strongly!

Brother why are you talking like an ignorant? look let me make something clear to everyone here, Nigeria neither belong to the muslims nor the christians. Nigeria is for everyone. Our forfathers lived as muslims and christians and during their own time there were no all this crises, they lived in peace. So why should our own time be different? i mean if we should continue like this then what do we expect our unborn generation to look like? Whether we like it or not we just have to live in peace irrespect of our religious differences because we have no place to go aside our Great country Nigerian. Let's take for instance if the Christians says the Muslims should leave the country for them, where do they expect them to go? likewise the Muslims? WE JUST HAVE NO ALTERNATIVE TO PEACE!
Posted: at 24-01-2010 10:41 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- popo2009 at 25-01-2010 12:47 AM (14 years ago)
All the Muslims in this Forum are vomitting rubbish with their stinking mouths
instead of you to educate your fellow Muslims to avoid misunderstanding the Quoran
you are all here protecting their Evil acts. If it is not the muslims causing the problems
Then who???  The Igbos are always their target,  but i bet you all, YOU WILL REGRET IT THIS TIME.
Posted: at 25-01-2010 12:47 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malalawan at 25-01-2010 01:01 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 25-01-2010 12:47 AM
All the Muslims in this Forum are vomitting rubbish with their stinking mouths
instead of you to educate your fellow Muslims to avoid misunderstanding the Quoran
you are all here protecting their Evil acts. If it is not the muslims causing the problems
Then who???  The Igbos are always their target,  but i bet you all, YOU WILL REGRET IT THIS TIME.

[/quot

You know what know phyuk you. The muslims are educated and have government structure even b4 the england come and stop you from phyuking your mothers and your sisters. The muslims know about christernity and your artrocities far b4 your phyuking great grand parent are given milks and biscuit to be convert them in to christernity. Fool.
Posted: at 25-01-2010 01:01 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- phenom1st at 25-01-2010 02:21 AM (14 years ago)
may God help my beloved country,Nigeria.
Posted: at 25-01-2010 02:21 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5