'Looters Hide Money In Uncompleted And Abandoned Buildings' – EFCC Boss Reaveals

Date: 18-06-2016 8:36 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 18-06-2016 08:36 AM (7 years ago)

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has revealed that its unrelenting war on corruption has forced looters of public funds to resort to hiding their loots in their abandoned properties.

The acting Chairman of the EFCC, Mr. Ibrahim Magu, revealed this during a workshop tiled “The Role of Professionals in the Fight Against Corruption’ in Abuja on Friday, the Punch reported

“People are now scared of keeping monies in banks, as it can be traced easily. Monies are now kept in abandoned houses in the country.”

Magu asked Bureau de Change operators and financial institutions to desist from being used as conduit pipes to launder money.
“BDCs move billions of Naira in a day and there is no proper documentation of money laundered. I appeal to the BDCs to stop that, as we will begin to prosecute Bureau de Change operators to serve as deterrent. Bankers are also involved in corrupt acts, as they don’t carry out due diligence.’’

He asked professional bodies in the country to join hands with the anti-graft agency in the fight against corruption and economic crimes.

He added, “Instead of conniving with people to launder the proceeds of corruption, I beg you to join hands with the EFCC to fight corruption.

“Many professionals celebrate criminality by doing a lot to foster corruption, which adds more to money laundering. I don’t intend to criticise the work of professionals, but to solicit their support in order to make Nigeria better for the younger generation.’’

He said soon that the commission would soon be going after accounting firms that collaborate with bankers to steal government funds.

Meanwhile, Justice Fatun Riman of a Federal High Court, Kano, has granted the application of the EFCC to try a former Skye Bank staff, Yagana Bukar, in absentia on 10 count charges of money laundering.

Bukar who was first arraigned in October 2013 jumped bail soon after the commencement of trial.

Prosecuting counsel, M. S. Abubakar, had applied to the court, pursuant to Section 352(4) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act 2015, to continue with the trial despite the absence of the defendant.

Abubakar told the court that the defendant failed to appear during eight consecutive adjournments without any explanation.

The trial judge then granted the application of the prosecution, and directed the first prosecution witness.

Posted: at 18-06-2016 08:36 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- scottchris at 18-06-2016 08:49 AM (7 years ago)
This is outrageous!.!  GOD IS ALIVE OOO

Posted: at 18-06-2016 08:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 18-06-2016 08:55 AM (7 years ago)
I pray to get that money
Posted: at 18-06-2016 08:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 18-06-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago)
I DEY SHAKE MY HEAD AS I DEY READ THIS WRITEUP
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 18-06-2016 09:25 AM (7 years ago)
Efcc where all the money wey una
don recover self?
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:25 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 18-06-2016 09:28 AM (7 years ago)
Let me go hunting with my
briefcase. I'll start with all the
abandoned houses in Abuja
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:28 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 18-06-2016 09:33 AM (7 years ago)
Noted,,,na to dey look-out for dos political robbers make man know wen dem wan go hide d moni,,,
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:33 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Anny01 at 18-06-2016 09:36 AM (7 years ago)
What a world?
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SweetDaddy1 at 18-06-2016 09:42 AM (7 years ago)
When will all these propaganda stop....Oooh I cry for Nigeria my beloved Country... Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:42 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 18-06-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 18-06-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 18-06-2016 10:20 AM (7 years ago)
Guys una din hear am? Make we start dey search all abandoned house well full bush. Beneno.bring me my rain boot.
Posted: at 18-06-2016 10:20 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 18-06-2016 10:41 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on 18-06-2016 10:20 AM
Guys una din hear am? Make we start dey search all abandoned house well full bush. Beneno.bring me my rain boot.
Take ur rain boot,I dey come make I go find shovel,That reminds me,she Ni bricklayer u be,u bring any of ur shovel from sight yesterday make we carry go ? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-06-2016 10:41 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-06-2016 10:42 AM (7 years ago)
why i no play go that uncompleted building   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-06-2016 10:42 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- albionalex at 18-06-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 18-06-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 18-06-2016 11:30 AM (7 years ago)
Mad fellows ,thieves
Posted: at 18-06-2016 11:30 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 18-06-2016 11:33 AM (7 years ago)
They expose dem dey go...
Posted: at 18-06-2016 11:33 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- michaelc80 at 18-06-2016 11:49 AM (7 years ago)
Catch these people Na and share the money for the boys
Posted: at 18-06-2016 11:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GermoDon at 18-06-2016 01:22 PM (7 years ago)
d ones wey una don corect we neva am o
Posted: at 18-06-2016 01:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- delight222 at 18-06-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago)
na wa ooo,9ja what a country
Posted: at 18-06-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHRISETTE at 18-06-2016 01:39 PM (7 years ago)
Gogo man wetin you wan play go find for uncompleted building
Posted: at 18-06-2016 01:39 PM (7 years ago) | Hero