Why Do Most Youths Go Into Music- Passion Or A Getaway From Unemployment (Opinion Poll)

Date: 07-07-2016 10:20 am (7 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 7-07-2016 10:20 AM (7 years ago)

we have over 1million registered musicians in Nigeria according to COSON, 70% of these registered artists are between the ages 18- 30, which is the largest in the whole of africa, watching a music channel yesterday, i stumbled upon a poll section where the moderator was asking celebrities (Musicians & Comedians) what they think is the main reason why youths go into music these days,the celebs gave different opinions but i think the set of people who can answer that poll correctly is the consumers, those of us who buy their CDs, pay for their shows etc. with over 6000 upcoming musicians on naijapals platform uploading their singles every now and then, i want to ask my fellow naijapals if you think these youths actually venture into music because they have a passion for it or its just a way out of unemployment, judging by the content they dish out and how they sleep on little success they made along the way,as an upcoming artist ,would you be honest enough to state the main reason why you took to music, is it because Davido is flying private jet or Wizkid has collaboration with American superstars or you just need something to put food on your table or you really think you have the talent to do music.

N:B Intelligent comments are welcome here, if you have nothing intelligent to contribute just keep quiet

Posted: at 7-07-2016 10:20 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 7-07-2016 10:30 AM (7 years ago)
To Whom It May Concern  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 7-07-2016 10:30 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennycynth at 7-07-2016 10:40 AM (7 years ago)
no ideal
Posted: at 7-07-2016 10:40 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenosas at 7-07-2016 10:42 AM (7 years ago)
Guy whether they are inspire by talent,emulation or as a result of economy mess in the country,all are chanlleges ,my concern is they make for themself not to be an arm robber or public nuisance in the society.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 10:42 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- amazinspace at 7-07-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago)
I thought of going into music way back because of unemployment so, yes i think most youth go into music because of the cash and i see notin wrong wit dat.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 7-07-2016 10:59 AM (7 years ago)
Though I see it as a get away from no jobs. And it's better we have 100 million musicians than have 1million ARMED robbers if u know wat I mean.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 10:59 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 7-07-2016 11:02 AM (7 years ago)
MONEY AND FAME
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:02 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OLUCHI5 at 7-07-2016 11:24 AM (7 years ago)
unemployment is the cause of it.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:24 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 7-07-2016 11:31 AM (7 years ago)
na davido go fit answer am
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:31 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- okatee at 7-07-2016 11:38 AM (7 years ago)
20% TALENTED
30% FOR FAME
50% UNEMPLOYMENT ND D MONEY...
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:38 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 7-07-2016 11:51 AM (7 years ago)
Una wey post am know d answer already.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:51 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 7-07-2016 11:57 AM (7 years ago)
Let us assume that your statistics are correct (which I seriously doubt),based on your statistics 1 Million Nigerian youths are into Music.Now I want to tell you that 1 Million Nigerian youths is not a majority,1 Million Nigerian youths is just a very little fraction of the more than 80 Million Nigerian youths we have.....so you cannot say MOST Nigerian youths because 1 Million is not MOST among more than 80 Million.We have Nigerian youths that are Doctors,Engineers,ICAN Accountants,Bankers,Lawyers,Journalists,Business men/women ------just to name a few.But people like you Mr Poster will not see them,because your mind have been programmed to look down on your own country.Please stop posting this rubbish here.People go into music for different reasons,but please never say that MOST youths go into music because that is not true,MOST youths do not go into music.Thank you.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:57 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kejguv at 7-07-2016 12:21 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbys Martins on  7-07-2016 11:57 AM
Let us assume that your statistics are correct (which I seriously doubt),based on your statistics 1 Million Nigerian youths are into Music.Now I want to tell you that 1 Million Nigerian youths is not a majority,1 Million Nigerian youths is just a very little fraction of the more than 80 Million Nigerian youths we have.....so you cannot say MOST Nigerian youths because 1 Million is not MOST among more than 80 Million.We have Nigerian youths that are Doctors,Engineers,ICAN Accountants,Bankers,Lawyers,Journalists,Business men/women ------just to name a few.But people like you Mr Poster will not see them,because your mind have been programmed to look down on your own country.Please stop posting this rubbish here.People go into music for different reasons,but please never say that MOST youths go into music because that is not true,MOST youths do not go into music.Thank you.
i really appreciate your criticism but you are derailing from the subject matter, i am not one of those who look down on my country , get that straight, when i say most of youths, i mean even those that are graduate and studied lucrative courses like accounting, law, engineering etc are going into music, and i did not give a specific figure, i said "1 million registered musicians" are registered with the Copyright Association of Nigeria and you can contact them for verification and that 70% of them are youths, i never said 1 million youths are into music. there are many others who are not registered. and when next you want to criticize, read very well and its uncivil to call a write up "RUBBISH" the worst you can do is to ignore it. be civil man

Posted: at 7-07-2016 12:21 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 7-07-2016 12:45 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: kaygee on  7-07-2016 12:21 PM
i really appreciate your criticism but you are derailing from the subject matter, i am not one of those who look down on my country , get that straight, when i say most of youths, i mean even those that are graduate and studied lucrative courses like accounting, law, engineering etc are going into music, and i did not give a specific figure, i said "1 million registered musicians" are registered with the Copyright Association of Nigeria and you can contact them for verification and that 70% of them are youths, i never said 1 million youths are into music. there are many others who are not registered. and when next you want to criticize, read very well and its uncivil to call a write up "RUBBISH" the worst you can do is to ignore it. be civil man

One love Brother,I am sorry for the rubbish word....but what I am just trying to tell you is that the headline is seriously misleading.1 Million registered plus 10 Million unregistered musicians does not still represent the majority of the Nigerian Youths.Nigeria have one of the youngest population on Earth......meaning our youths are in the majority of our population.Now they say we are 150 Million or there about....but you and I know that we are more than that.So brother 1 Million registered plus 10 Million unregistered musicians is not and cannot be the majority of the Nigerian youths....therefore you cannot use the word MOST....that is just my contention,I hope you understand.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 12:45 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bebold at 7-07-2016 01:28 PM (7 years ago)
Money and fame
Posted: at 7-07-2016 01:28 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 7-07-2016 02:48 PM (7 years ago)
its both passion for music as well as unemployment.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 02:48 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 7-07-2016 04:49 PM (7 years ago)
As u ask dis kind question now,,,,na who i go ask?
Posted: at 7-07-2016 04:49 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- cyndys at 7-07-2016 08:12 PM (7 years ago)
I am also an upcoming artiste, I do it for the passion and the love  I have for music. not for the money.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 08:12 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- cyndys at 7-07-2016 08:13 PM (7 years ago)
I am also an upcoming artiste, I do it for the passion and the love  I have for music. not for the money. I don't know abt others
Posted: at 7-07-2016 08:13 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- slimmygal at 7-07-2016 11:32 PM (7 years ago)
na money and unemployment jooooo, if u do mistake listen to songs u go just curse some artists join dre producers. most of them no get single talent, na way out of poverty dem dey find.
Posted: at 7-07-2016 11:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Tinubu’s Son On Chagoury’s Board Is A Conflict Of Interest Says Atiku

2. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

3. VIDEO: Church Service Comes To A Halt As Man Pulls Gun And Attempts To Shoot Pastor

4. Heartbroken Father Mourns His 14yr Old Daughter Who Was Reportedly Poisoned in School

5. "We Are Not Involved In Prince Harry, Meghan Visit To Nigeria" - British High Commissioner

6. Crystal Palace v Manchester Utd: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. VIDEO: Nollywood Actress & Ex-Beauty Queen, Ronke Tiamiyu Welcomes First Child

8. Benue Man, Prince Matthew Regains Freedom From Kidnappers On His Birthday

9. Bayern Munich Considers Replacing Tuchel With Man Utd Rejected Coach, Ten Hag

10. Former Kano State Governor, Shekarau’s Residence Razed By Inferno

11. Lagos Govt Shut Down 367 Churches, Mosques, Hotels, Others

12. VIDEO: Singer, Yemi Alade Berates House Demolition By Lagos Govt. Across The State

13. 'My Father Justice Oputa Was Socrates Of Nigerian Supreme Court'– Charly Boy Says, Pays Tribute

14. VIDEO; "Grammy Don Cast, Make We Manage Headies" – BBnaija’s Whitemoney

15. Actor, Murphy Afolabi’s Daughter Celebrates His Posthumous Birthday With Touching Note

16. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

17. NDLEA Intercepts 4,752kg Of Cannabis In Gas Tanker In Abuja

18. 'If You Have Erection, Size & Fertility Issues, Discuss It With Her Before Engaging Her' -Man

19. How Terrorists’ Explosion Devices Kill Seven Civilians In Borno

20. Two Police Officers, Three Vigilante Members Killed By Unknown Gunmen In Enugu

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

6. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

7. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

8. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

9. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)