79% of Nigerian Adults Dont Have A Bank Account

Date: 11-02-2010 8:46 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 11-02-2010 08:46 PM (15 years ago)
A 2008 survey conducted by a non- governmental organization has again confirmed that the nation’s banking industry is currently servicing only about 21 percent of their potential market.

The study by Enhancing Financial Innovation and Access (EFINA) shows that 79 percent of the nation’s adult population do not have access to any form of financial services as at end of the survey conducted in 2008, despite the large number of banks with their bogus claims.
It then concluded that the rest of the world may leave Nigeria behind on matters of financial inclusion as this could really be detrimental to growth of the economy and poverty alleviation.
Excerpts:

Posted: at 11-02-2010 08:46 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Bazemaster at 12-02-2010 07:49 AM (15 years ago)
Long story

Posted: at 12-02-2010 07:49 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dolphinkate at 12-02-2010 09:16 AM (15 years ago)
This text is to long. Wao only 20% something among nigerians r having bank acount? Maybe is cause of the corruption and bad experiences in the country self. Ppl seem not to trust the banks in nigeria.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 09:16 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kufaloh at 12-02-2010 10:59 AM (15 years ago)
make story short nxt tym, abi u no do summary for school.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 10:59 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ibobobelvis at 12-02-2010 11:09 AM (15 years ago)
o boy,this thing long o,nor be small!!

Posted: at 12-02-2010 11:09 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- anyidon99 at 12-02-2010 12:50 PM (15 years ago)
abi no mind them
Posted: at 12-02-2010 12:50 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- derbi at 12-02-2010 03:05 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: dolphinkate on 12-02-2010 09:16 AM
This text is to long. Wao only 20% something among nigerians r having bank acount? Maybe is cause of the corruption and bad experiences in the country self. Ppl seem not to trust the banks in nigeria.
is just that the people and bank no body trust each order
Posted: at 12-02-2010 03:05 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ify4life at 12-02-2010 03:24 PM (15 years ago)

Posted: at 12-02-2010 03:24 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- enibones at 12-02-2010 06:54 PM (15 years ago)
I dont blame them, How will you put your money in the bank and one idiot MD will use the money to furnish his family and stomach. Bravo to those who did not open an account, they would have suffered a serious blow now.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 06:54 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Duggy at 12-02-2010 07:16 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: godfirst1 on 12-02-2010 02:30 PM
the MOUNTAIN TO CLIMB IN OPENING AN ACCOUNT WITH A BANK IN NIGERIA is enough to send the citizens away from banking, the connying ways bank mill from their customers account (in charges) without any reasonable reason, just in the name of service. it's better to keep your money at home where no one restrict you to any unjustifiable conditions. 9ja people don wise pass all thise bankers and their tricks

Wat are you talkin about? I opened an account at the age of 18 and it took me less than 30 minutes, and with little money too. The banks would definitely place charges for their services abi no be business? The bank charges are not much. And OMG! How can somebody be talkin abou keepin money at home, in this 21st century? Saving in the bank has soo many advantages, its just that many Nigerians have no opportunity to save cuz they are living from hand to mouth, and many are ignorant, while some others just choose to remain in 1965 while we are in 2010! Peace y'all
Posted: at 12-02-2010 07:16 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zolazola at 12-02-2010 07:35 PM (15 years ago)
trust many nigerians still practising the act of traditional banking; isusu, bush banking(lol) cos they dont want their money to be gone with the tide of failed banks
Posted: at 12-02-2010 07:35 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajiluv at 12-02-2010 08:22 PM (15 years ago)
sory to say these i have a bank aount home and abroad,but think about these if a bank in nig decide to fold up we they notify u ist,some who finds it hard to eat 3squeal meal what will they bank,i used to think people bank left over.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 08:22 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- ceejay58 at 12-02-2010 10:33 PM (15 years ago)
stori
Posted: at 12-02-2010 10:33 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- prince4rich at 13-02-2010 12:31 AM (15 years ago)
make una no they fall nigeria hand my guy fine another thing post here,you let that phyuking white come they fall our hand.
Posted: at 13-02-2010 12:31 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Toks-E at 13-02-2010 06:55 AM (15 years ago)
yea, who needs a 4ckin bank

those guyz ar thieves in their own lil ways

Posted: at 13-02-2010 06:55 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Duggy at 13-02-2010 07:00 AM (15 years ago)
n
Posted: at 13-02-2010 07:00 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 14-02-2010 10:33 AM (15 years ago)
that might not be very accurate really
Posted: at 14-02-2010 10:33 AM (15 years ago) | Grande Master
- hackynoni111 at 3-09-2015 01:28 PM (9 years ago)
story story
Posted: at 3-09-2015 01:28 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 3-09-2015 01:32 PM (9 years ago)
How much wan dey for the account. No be when person get better money e dey drop some for bank?
Posted: at 3-09-2015 01:32 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Police Arrest Suspected Ritualist With Human Organs In Lagos

2. Lawyers Hail Akpabio For Stepping Down From Sexual Harassment Probe Panel

3. Radiogad Raises Alarm Over Activist VeryDarkman’s Health After Efcc Detention

4. Overcrowding or Low Turnout? - Wizkid’s Show In Berlin Cancelled Days After Toronto Failed

5. VIDEO; Reactions As Peller And Jarvis Arrive In Dubai For Streamer’s 20th Birthday

6. “I Love You”: Omah Lay Declares As His Featured Track off Davido’s New Album Goes Platinum

7. One Killed As Security Operatives Battle Gunmen Who Allegedly Killed Travellers In Imo

8. Teenager, Lawal Hameedat Drags JAMB To Court Over Hijab Ban During UTME

9. "You Won’t Find Better Partner Than Nigeria" – Tinubu Welcomes Qatari Investment

10. Southampton v Manchester City: UEFA Champions League Semi-Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers &

1. JUST IN! EFCC Labels VeryDarkMan A ‘BANDIT’

2. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

3. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

4. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

5. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

6. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

7. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

8. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

9. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

10. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)