Would You Break Up Relationship With Someone You Love Because Of Their Genotype?

Date: 20-07-2016 1:32 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 20-07-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago)

The question of genotype was not in existence when our grandparents and parents got married to each other but today it limits us from getting married to each other. Genotype as the name suggests, a person’s genotype refers to the types of genes he or she has for a particular inheritable trait. There are always two copies of each gene, one from each parent. A gene, however can have different versions, called alleles. Alleles are various versions of a gene. The combination of alleles inherited from the parents is what gives rise to genotypes.
Now my story……my first ever relationship started in my undergraduate days and I dated this guy (2 years my senior) for close to 3 years before he ended the relationship. We both knew we had AS genes 2 years into the relationship but because we loved each other he told me we will get married and abort any pregnancy we discovered was SS. This made me happy and I thought I need not look for another soul mate.
Six months later (after his youth service) he called me to his house and called off the relationship. I didn’t see it coming because that day was my birthday and I thought he wanted to surprise me (probably with a proposal or an awesome gift). His reason for ending our relationship was as a result of the seminar he attended on genotype and how it affected him; that they were educated on the danger associated with an AS marrying an AS.
I was shocked because we already had this discussion before and we agreed to still get married but abort the foetus if it was SS. He said his heart won’t allow him go on with our previous agreement. As childish as I was then, I prayed to God to change my genotype to AA so we could get married, of course that didn’t happen and I moved on.
My question now is……...What do you do if it didn’t cross your mind to check your genotype until few months to your wedding? Some churches today insist on sighting the genotype report before joining a couple. With my little knowledge of the medical world, I know it’s possible for an AS to marry an AS and not to have an SS child. I have heard miracle stories of families with not one of their kids being the SS genotype. The truth is one can never truly predict. If you and your partner have the AS genotype, you should have a long discussion about the options available to you like:
Do you want to end the relationship?
Go for a PGD (Pre-Implantation Genetic Diagnosis wherein the embryos would be screened, and only those free of the SS genotype would be transferred though this procedure is quite expensive) procedure
Go for the prenatal diagnosis and termination procedure
Abortion or permanent birth control procedure.
Today I am married to an AA genotype, though I asked him about his genotype before saying YES to going on a date with him because I didn’t want to experience the same thing the second time.

No matter how strong your love is, seeing your child or children in pain because they are SS genotype can put so much pressure on your relationship and you might want to give it a second thought before going that lane. It might actually be stress-free futuristically, to start life afresh with a new partner.

Posted: at 20-07-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 20-07-2016 01:33 PM (7 years ago)
ASAP!! U STILL DEY ASK ME
Posted: at 20-07-2016 01:33 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Kennycynth at 20-07-2016 01:37 PM (7 years ago)
100% yes
Posted: at 20-07-2016 01:37 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 20-07-2016 01:46 PM (7 years ago)
Dis genotype thing is getting serious..
Posted: at 20-07-2016 01:46 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 20-07-2016 01:57 PM (7 years ago)
Abeg sharp,,,,sharp,,,,,make everybody answer em papa name,,,
Posted: at 20-07-2016 01:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 20-07-2016 02:10 PM (7 years ago)
I go borrow leg join.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 02:10 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- GermoDon at 20-07-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago)
Na craze de wori u b dat
Posted: at 20-07-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chylind5 at 20-07-2016 03:19 PM (7 years ago)
I have done that before, though not easy but I am happy that I made that decision.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 03:19 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eric2000 at 20-07-2016 03:28 PM (7 years ago)
chai..there is a lot of ignorant people on naijapals o..it scares me that we have so many younger generation of ignorant Nigerians...firstly, what happened to love...finding somebody that really love you is really difficult and when you sincerely find that person,you stick with them......secondly,there are medical ways of determining whether a child is SS within 2 months of conception and in a lot of developed countries this has been done for years.....finally,do not throw your happiness away because of old believes about genotypes..There are solutions
Posted: at 20-07-2016 03:28 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Asksmeagain at 20-07-2016 03:51 PM (7 years ago)
hum mm a time is coming when men and women will go for medical check to know if the person they are about to marry has some hereditary disease like cancer, diabetes, hyper-tension, hypo-tension, heart-disease before engagement. lol anyway, is good to know all this so as to free your self from future trouble. @ poster, these days of technology i believe there are a lot of awareness about hereditary disease such as sickle cell anemia, so it is left for the individual to decide if he or she wants happiness in  marriage or pain and emotional strain if they knew they have 98% chance of having kid with sickle cell anemia.     

Posted: at 20-07-2016 03:51 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- slimmygal at 20-07-2016 05:35 PM (7 years ago)
i will pick race ooooo. how man kids do u know u'll av in life dat one will keep aborting dem at dre early stage? moreover, consider how much pain and money it will cost when someone's only child is ss and he/she is going thru d crisis. one just need to balance nd check noni.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 05:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- luckingto50 at 20-07-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago)
End Time Father
Posted: at 20-07-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- chylind5 at 20-07-2016 06:47 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: eric2000 on 20-07-2016 03:28 PM
chai..there is a lot of ignorant people on naijapals o..it scares me that we have so many younger generation of ignorant Nigerians...firstly, what happened to love...finding somebody that really love you is really difficult and when you sincerely find that person,you stick with them......secondly,there are medical ways of determining whether a child is SS within 2 months of conception and in a lot of developed countries this has been done for years.....finally,do not throw your happiness away because of old believes about genotypes..There are solutions
I know about that, but it's quite expensive in Nigeria, only done somewhere in Lagos for 300k. Due to religious beliefs, alot of people will not want to abort an innocent child and how many ppl can afford that amount to check each pregnancy.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 06:47 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLUCHI5 at 20-07-2016 07:01 PM (7 years ago)
sharp-sharp.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 07:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 20-07-2016 08:29 PM (7 years ago)
million times yes i will break up the relationship, how can u bring a child in to this world when u know that he or she will be all the time sick, that is why is good for every black ppl to go for genotype test before getting in to a serious relationship
Posted: at 20-07-2016 08:29 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 20-07-2016 08:36 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: eric2000 on 20-07-2016 03:28 PM
...and if they find out that the child will be SS, what are the options they have....or you suggest in Nigeria?
Posted: at 20-07-2016 08:36 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 20-07-2016 09:07 PM (7 years ago)
depends on what you meant exactly by "breaking off"....we can still be friends but we will both know that we aren't going to build a home together

Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:07 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mjyabah2 at 20-07-2016 09:23 PM (7 years ago)
I will leave the partner, because I wouldn't like to see my children living helpless lives. First of all, the most ideal reason for marriage is to have a family; therefore, knowingly bringing the kids into this world with chances of them being sick all the time is sickening to even imagine it.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:23 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 20-07-2016 09:55 PM (7 years ago)
ONE GOOD THING ABOUT SS PATIENT IS THIS, THEY CAN NEVER HAVE MALARIA,,,, Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:55 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 20-07-2016 11:43 PM (7 years ago)
Time go soon come wen men go fit find out how many men honeypots don poke in a life time...
Posted: at 20-07-2016 11:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. He is My Only Child - Mother of Abducted Nigerian Singer, Gnewzy Cries Out (Video)

2. Coastal Highway: Baale of Okun-Ajah Tackles Min. of Works, Umahi During Press Conference (VID)

3. Photos Of Woman Stabbed To Death By Her Husband Over Alleged Infidelity In Ekiti

4. Court Sends Man, Dickson Peter to Jail For Setting Landlord's House Ablaze in Ibadan

5. VIDEO: Mr Macaroni Reveals Why He No Longer Comment On Political Issues

6. Alleged Mastermind Of Abuja- Kaduna Train Attack Reportedly Arrested

7. Moment Neighbours Help Man Recover His Properties After Being Robbed By 2 S3x Workers He Took

8. VIDEO: Lagos State Government Uncovers Another Under-bridge 'Apartments' In Ikoyi

9. Pressure Mounts On EFCC As Ex-AGF Faults Yahaya Bello's ₦80bn Fraud Case

10. How Repentant Boko Haram Members Attack Police Station, Checkpoints In Borno

11. Rivers Crisis: Dele Momodu Reveals Cause Of Fight Between Wike & Gov. Fubara

12. Ex-Katsina Governor Ibrahim Shema Dumps PDP, Defects To APC

13. Tragedy As Two Beninese Well Diggers Die While Digging Well In Ogun

14. Sam Larry Reacts To Reports Of Him Threatening Davido, Giving Him Ultimatum To Apologize To Wiz

15. VIDEO: “I’ve Never Been Heartbroken But I’m Waiting For It” – Ruger Spills

16. VID: Multichoice Flies Phyna To Maldives For Vacation After Dragging Them Over Unpaid Prizes

17. Police Arrest Notorious Armed Robber Who Invaded Female Hostel In Niger State

18. 'The Term 'Odogwu' Is Not For Men Who Spilt Bills With Their Wives' - Nigerian Woman Says

19. IPOB Declares May 30 Sit-At-Home In South-East To Honour Biafran Heroes

20. 'Some Nigerians Don't Want Power Sector To Work Because Of Selfish Gains' – Minister, Adelabu

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

4. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

9. Davido Trolled As His Sidechick Calls Him 2 Minutes Man With Tiny Manhood

10. "Stop Demarketing Nigeria Because You Lost Election" - Omokri Blasts Peter Obi