Nice One! Fadumo Dayib A Former Refugee From Somalia To Run As First Female President

Date: 21-07-2016 3:36 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 21-07-2016 03:36 PM (7 years ago)

Fadumo Dayib was once a Somali refugee. A Harvard graduate and mother, she now lives a comfortable life in Finland. Despite the overwhelming odds, she is running as Somalia’s first female president.

Fadumo Dayib is trying to do something no one has ever done before. Despite overwhelming odds, she is vying to become Somalia’s first female president. Those long odds have a lot to do with her own story. She has been a refugee for most of her life. Despite not learning how to read until she was 14 years old, she now has a master’s degree from Harvard in public administration and is working on a Ph.D. But in a country with a dismal human rights record and a long history of oppression against women, running for the highest public office in the land comes with risks. Fadumo Dayib joins  now. Welcome to the program.

Harvard Kennedy School Mid-Career/Mason Fellow Fadumo Dayib, will graduate in May.  She is a Somalian refugee who left her country in the 90s during civil war to live in Finland. As an adult, she worked for the UN, and after leaving HKS, she plans to run for president of Somalia in 2016. She is pictured outside Harvard Kennedy School. Stephanie Mitchell/Harvard Staff Photographer

Harvard Kennedy School Mid-Career/Mason Fellow Fadumo Dayib, will graduate in May. She is a Somalian refugee who left her country in the 90s during civil war to live in Finland. As an adult, she worked for the UN, and after leaving HKS, she plans to run for president of Somalia in 2016. She is pictured outside Harvard Kennedy School. Stephanie Mitchell/Harvard Staff Photographer

FADUMO DAYIB: Thank you very much, Naijapals
Naijapals: Why do you want to do this?
DAYIB: Because I see what I’m doing as a moral obligation and a civic duty towards my country. I’ve watched for almost 26 years, hoping for a competent leadership to come that can bring us all back. There’s 1.5 million Somalis in the diaspora, 1.2 million internally displaced inside the country. And they’re all yearning to have a dignified existence to go back.
Naijapals: What is life like – if you are a child in Somalia right now, what does your future hold? What is day to day life like?
DAYIB: It’s very bleak. If I speak about a child in Somalia who wakes up and might be in an internally displaced camp, this is a child who sees violence because majority of the women and children also get raped. They, you know, experience attacks by al-Shabab. And of the 12 million Somalis that I spoke about, 75 percent are under the age of 30. Of that, 68 percent are unemployed. That’s why they end up either joining piracy or joining al-Shabab, or going on to migrate and dying on their way to the West.

Naijapals You are currently living in Finland. You went there with your siblings when you were just a teenager. Can you retrace that journey for me? Why Finland?
DAYIB: I was born to two parents – illiterate Somali parents – in a place called Thika, Kenya, but never took citizenship. And in 1989, my family was forcefully deported to Somalia. And so when the civil war broke out, I was actually a refugee inside Somalia. My mother had to stay back, and so I was tasked with the responsibility of taking my two younger siblings out of the country. When we were on transit in Moscow, because of a Russian man who had worked in Somalia with the Russian army – helped us to get a day visa. And that is how we got into Moscow. And from Moscow, the nearest destination was Helsinki. And we’ve been here ever since. Finland gave us sanctuary. It gave me an education. As you mentioned, I’d only started reading and writing at the age of 14. But when I came to this country, they didn’t give up on me. I had a bachelor’s in nursing, got two master’s from Finland. In addition to the one from Harvard, I have three master’s and now currently doing my Ph.D. So Finland gave me the skills that I want to take back to my country.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g86ORs6tzIk" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g86ORs6tzIk</a>

Naijapals I understand you have kids, right?
DAYIB: Yes.
NaijapalsYou’ve got a family. You’re a mother. How do you talk about all of this to them? How do you explain what you’re doing, the risks that you face, and why you think it’s worth it?
DAYIB: My children know who I am. They know the kind of mother they’ve had. I see myself as a servant of my people, and I take my life as a vocation of calling. My mother lost 11 children. I am the first of her children to survive. And that means to me there is something much bigger than me being on this earth and doing other things. And so my children accept that. And when I was going to Mogadishu in January, I sat them down and I told them that I’m leaving you, but I’m not sure I might come back. And if I don’t, then you have to know that you are also expected to do this. When the day comes and you have the capability to do so, you must fight for democracy. We must not let evil overcome goodness. And they understand why we need to do this for Somalia because they share the love that I have for Somalia.

Naijapals: Fadumo Dayib is running for president of Somalia. Thank you so much.
DAYIB: Thank you for the opportunity.

Posted: at 21-07-2016 03:36 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- odegbalegu at 21-07-2016 03:46 PM (7 years ago)
bring it on n don't be intimidated.
Posted: at 21-07-2016 03:46 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Smile369 at 21-07-2016 03:47 PM (7 years ago)
Finland, land of opportunity
Posted: at 21-07-2016 03:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 21-07-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago)
Go girl!!
Posted: at 21-07-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- EDDYPRINCE at 21-07-2016 04:29 PM (7 years ago)
NICE SUPPORTED
Posted: at 21-07-2016 04:29 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimmygal at 21-07-2016 05:18 PM (7 years ago)
young and beautiful, naijapals don dey take style do campaign on her behalf.
Posted: at 21-07-2016 05:18 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLUCHI5 at 21-07-2016 05:32 PM (7 years ago)
seen
Posted: at 21-07-2016 05:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 21-07-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago)
Go for it.
Posted: at 21-07-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- module at 21-07-2016 06:37 PM (7 years ago)
I wish all d best
Posted: at 21-07-2016 06:37 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- 419BigBoy at 21-07-2016 07:02 PM (7 years ago)
poster, you should know better.  there's no way to sugar coat this.  plagiarizing is stealing.

Once A Somali Refugee, She's Now Running As Somalia's First Female President

Listen· 4:32
4:32

Queue
Download
Embed
Transcript

July 10, 20168:23 AM ET
Heard on Weekend Edition Sunday
Fadumo Dayib was once a Somali refugee. A Harvard graduate and mother, she now lives a comfortable life in Finland. Despite the overwhelming odds, she running as Somalia's first female president.

RACHEL MARTIN, HOST:

Fadumo Dayib is trying to do something no one has ever done before. Despite overwhelming odds, she is vying to become Somalia's first female president. Those long odds have a lot to do with her own story. She has been a refugee for most of her life. Despite not learning how to read until she was 14 years old, she now has a master's degree from Harvard in public administration and is working on a Ph.D. But in a country with a dismal human rights record and a long history of oppression against women, running for the highest public office in the land comes with risks. Fadumo Dayib joins me now. Welcome to the program.

FADUMO DAYIB: Thank you very much, Rachel.

MARTIN: Why do you want to do this?

DAYIB: Because I see what I'm doing as a moral obligation and a civic duty towards my country. I've watched for almost 26 years, hoping for a competent leadership to come that can bring us all back. There's 1.5 million Somalis in the diaspora, 1.2 million internally displaced inside the country. And they're all yearning to have a dignified existence to go back.

MARTIN: What is life like - if you are a child in Somalia right now, what does your future hold? What is day to day life like?

DAYIB: It's very bleak. If I speak about a child in Somalia who wakes up and might be in an internally displaced camp, this is a child who sees violence because majority of the women and children also get raped. They, you know, experience attacks by al-Shabab. And of the 12 million Somalis that I spoke about, 75 percent are under the age of 30. Of that, 68 percent are unemployed. That's why they end up either joining piracy or joining al-Shabab, or going on to migrate and dying on their way to the West.

MARTIN: You are currently living in Finland. You went there with your siblings when you were just a teenager. Can you retrace that journey for me? Why Finland?

DAYIB: I was born to two parents - illiterate Somali parents - in a place called Thika, Kenya, but never took citizenship. And in 1989, my family was forcefully deported to Somalia. And so when the civil war broke out, I was actually a refugee inside Somalia. My mother had to stay back, and so I was tasked with the responsibility of taking my two younger siblings out of the country. When we were on transit in Moscow, because of a Russian man who had worked in Somalia with the Russian army - helped us to get a day visa. And that is how we got into Moscow. And from Moscow, the nearest destination was Helsinki. And we've been here ever since. Finland gave us sanctuary. It gave me an education. As you mentioned, I'd only started reading and writing at the age of 14. But when I came to this country, they didn't give up on me. I had a bachelor's in nursing, got two master's from Finland. In addition to the one from Harvard, I have three master's and now currently doing my Ph.D. So Finland gave me the skills that I want to take back to my country.

MARTIN: I understand you have kids, right?

DAYIB: Yes.

MARTIN: You've got a family. You're a mother. How do you talk about all of this to them? How do you explain what you're doing, the risks that you face, and why you think it's worth it?

DAYIB: My children know who I am. They know the kind of mother they've had. I see myself as a servant of my people, and I take my life as a vocation of calling. My mother lost 11 children. I am the first of her children to survive. And that means to me there is something much bigger than me being on this earth and doing other things. And so my children accept that. And when I was going to Mogadishu in January, I sat them down and I told them that I'm leaving you, but I'm not sure I might come back. And if I don't, then you have to know that you are also expected to do this. When the day comes and you have the capability to do so, you must fight for democracy. We must not let evil overcome goodness. And they understand why we need to do this for Somalia because they share the love that I have for Somalia.

MARTIN: Fadumo Dayib is running for president of Somalia. Thank you so much.

DAYIB: Thank you for the opportunity.

Copyright © 2016 NPR. All rights reserved. Visit our website terms of use and permissions pages at www.npr.org for further information.

NPR transcripts are created on a rush deadline by Verb8tm, Inc., an NPR contractor, and produced using a proprietary transcription process developed with NPR. This text may not be in its final form and may be updated or revised in the future. Accuracy and availability may vary. The authoritative record of NPR’s programming is the audio record.

http://www.npr.org/2016/07/10/485432471/once-a-somali-refugee-she-s-now-running-as-somalia-s-first-female-president
Posted: at 21-07-2016 07:02 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 21-07-2016 07:13 PM (7 years ago)
Na who be all dses people wey dey pack note full here.,...?
Posted: at 21-07-2016 07:13 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 21-07-2016 07:16 PM (7 years ago)
JUST CONTINUE TO BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 21-07-2016 07:16 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- GermoDon at 21-07-2016 08:32 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 21-07-2016 08:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennycynth at 21-07-2016 08:55 PM (7 years ago)
beautiful woman
Posted: at 21-07-2016 08:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 21-07-2016 08:58 PM (7 years ago)
ThankGod you are alive,say outta trouble lady
Posted: at 21-07-2016 08:58 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kima77same at 21-07-2016 09:55 PM (7 years ago)
In case any one does not know, Refugeee have wealth of experiences. Let them vote for her
Posted: at 21-07-2016 09:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 21-07-2016 10:12 PM (7 years ago)
Good,moral,high.
Posted: at 21-07-2016 10:12 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gastro55555 at 21-07-2016 11:12 PM (7 years ago)
Good luck
Posted: at 21-07-2016 11:12 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 22-07-2016 12:15 AM (7 years ago)
yes u can
Posted: at 22-07-2016 12:15 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Shoemaker at 22-07-2016 12:27 AM (7 years ago)
Al-Shabaab: she's playing with fire!  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-07-2016 12:27 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Comedian, Macaroni Berates Wizkid For Shading Veteran Producer, Don Jazzy

2. "No Woman Will Cheat On You If You...." -Gabonese Lady Says

3. Secondary School Student Allegedly Commits Suicide Over Unwanted Pregnancy

4. Court Slams N30 Million Damages Against Linda Ikeji Over Libel

5. Kizz Daniel Slams Troll Who Advised Him To Tread Carefully Around Wizkid

6. 2024 Will Be Tough Year For Afrobeat Apart From BurnaBoy, Davido, Others Are in Trouble -Paul O

7. Meet Ndubuisi Egbo The First-Ever Nigerian Coach To Lead an European Team To A League Title

8. Nollywood Has Produced 274 Films in First Quarter of 2024 — Censors Board

9. 2024 Will Be a Tough Year For Afrobeat - Nigerian Music Executive, Paul Okoye

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son