As the fight against corruption takes unprecedented turns in Nigeria, the EFCC searchlight has beamed on Governor Umahi's brother.
Austin Umahi, the brother to the current governor of Ebonyi State, David Umahi, has been arrested by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).
The man was arrested along with two others Chinyere Egwuche and Mabel Dikibo over a N400m slush fund linked to the 2015 presidential campaign of the Peoples Democratic Party.
According to PM News, the suspects, all staff of Brass Engineering & Construction Nigeria Limited and Osborn La-Palm Royal Resort, were arrested for refusing to honour invitations by the EFCC over an ongoing investigation of both companies.
While Austin Umahi doubles as chairman of both companies, Chinyere Egwuche and Marbel Dikibo are also signatories to the companies’ accounts.
EFCC investigators alleged that the Director of Finance of the PDP Presidential Campaign Organisation, Nenadi Usman released N400m to the Ebonyi State chapter of the PDP for the 2015 presidential election.
The said fund, the investigators said, was moved from Fidelity Bank Abakaliki on March 27, 2015, to an Access Bank, Abakaliki, account, where one Maxwell Umahi further moved N100, 000,000 and N300, 000,000 respectively into the accounts of Brass Engineering & Construction Nigeria Limited and Osborn La-Palm Royal Resort respectively.
One of the suspects, Chinyere Egwuche, subsequently withdrew the N300 million paid into the account of Osborn La-Palm, which according to her, was used to finance the construction of Osborn La-Palm Hotels in Abakaliki, Uburu and Port Harcourt, while the N100m paid into the account of Brass Engineering and Construction Nigeria Limited was transferred to a certain David Umahi Faith Foundation.
Although investigation is still ongoing, EFCC operatives said the companies to which the funds were transferred were traced to the Ebonyi State governor.
I have been reporting for several years now and I am very interested in visual news reportage with strong inclusion of photos and video multimedia.
Posted: at 30-08-2016 07:18 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
senatordee01 at 30-08-2016 07:25 PM (8 years ago) (m)
well done. nice one
Posted: at 30-08-2016 07:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Slimchery at 30-08-2016 07:29 PM (8 years ago) (m)
weaiting me nor understand, na only ppd done share money for nigeria? what of the pdp wey later join apc all those once nor share money? this thing dey confuse me everyday as i nor see any apc for this fight against corruption
Posted: at 30-08-2016 07:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
osarobo62 at 30-08-2016 08:37 PM (8 years ago) (m)
Quote from: Slimchery on 30-08-2016 07:29 PM
weaiting me nor understand, na only ppd done share money for nigeria? what of the pdp wey later join apc all those once nor share money? this thing dey confuse me everyday as i nor see any apc for this fight against corruption
be patient....na one step at a time time person dey use take climb tall palm tree.
Posted: at 30-08-2016 08:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
If found guilty genuinely then they shld face d music. Come to think of it. We are only reading abt PDP campaign fraud whatever now. Wen power change hands anytime soon Hmmmm I pity all dis APC pple. cell go full. It will be revenge time. Oh politic in Africa/Nigeria na wa o
Posted: at 31-08-2016 07:45 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero