Man in Hot Soup After N5.5M That Was Mistakenly Transferred into his Account

Date: 21-09-2016 10:54 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 21-09-2016 10:54 AM (7 years ago)

The man identified as one Edadu Colins, has been dragged to court. He is in court for withdrawing the sum of N800,000 which was wrongfully transferred to his account. However, a police prosecutor, Corporal Chinedu Njoku, disagreed, yesterday, with the police report over the alleged theft of N800,000 from Ecobank preferred against the man, insisting that the amount involved was N5.5 million, after proper investigation was carried out. The defendant, Collins, is facing a two-count charge of stealing preferred against him by the police.
 The defendant, who pleaded not guilty, is an aluminium fabricator, who said he knew nothing about the bank issue. Corporal Njoku told the court that the defendant committed the alleged offences between January to March 2011 and is punishable under Sections 409 and 285 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011. He told the court that  N800,000 was transferred to a wrong account, which happened to be the defendant’s and he did not deem it necessary to report to the bank, rather he went ahead and withdrew the money.
 He further told the court that the actual amount was N5.5 million, when it was investigated. The defendant told the court that his account had been giving him problem and that he had to stop using it. According to Collins, “I tried to renew the account, but it proved abortive. I thought it was the network but after a long while, the bank could not solve the problem and I had to abandon the account. “The bank attendant told me to pay some money into the account so that it can be rectified. The attendant later asked me to wait.”
 The defendant further told the court that he asked the attendant several times to know what was happening, “I was just told to calm down. By 7p.m., some men came and asked me to follow them. I asked where we were going, but none responded. “I realised later that we were at the police station and there, they started asking me for the money.”
 Collins told the policemen that he had not been using the account for a long time, but they got evidence that he withdrew from his account.
 Magistrate O. Olagbende granted him N100,000 bail  with two sureties in like sum.

Posted: at 21-09-2016 10:54 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emytex74 at 21-09-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago)
Na him luck be dat make una leave am alone joor
Posted: at 21-09-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 21-09-2016 11:15 AM (7 years ago)
In my own opinion... D defendant and d bank attendant are to blame in dis case!
Posted: at 21-09-2016 11:15 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 21-09-2016 11:20 AM (7 years ago)
Did d CCTV shows dat it's d guy dat withdraw d money? Bankers has more thieves than honest bankers dis days. They shls investigate well. He said he complain to d bank dat his account has problem and they initially say he shld pay some money into his account and they later say he shld wait. Dat was wen they want to use d account to commit d fraud. D thief is in dat bank not d guy.
Posted: at 21-09-2016 11:20 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 21-09-2016 11:57 AM (7 years ago)
thief theif everywhere
Posted: at 21-09-2016 11:57 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Lilycedar2 at 21-09-2016 12:04 PM (7 years ago)
Hmm.
Posted: at 21-09-2016 12:04 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 21-09-2016 12:10 PM (7 years ago)
mumu u go collect all the money and close all acct for the next 10 yrs!!
Posted: at 21-09-2016 12:10 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- kison at 21-09-2016 12:57 PM (7 years ago)
 Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 21-09-2016 12:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kayveetee at 21-09-2016 01:10 PM (7 years ago)
I logged in, I read & I commented. I swear this guy is a learner.
Posted: at 21-09-2016 01:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandler at 21-09-2016 02:18 PM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 21-09-2016 02:18 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- waytoheaven at 21-09-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago)
one thing idont understand in this uncompleted story is,if they said he withdrew and he claimed not to, the bank/or his lawyer should simply request from the bank a banking statement that would surely show the date and mode of withdrawal then go to the bank to get recorded tape that shows him at that exact time.
I'm afraid the insiders in the banks have used his account for their scam ..
Posted: at 21-09-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freddie333 at 21-09-2016 03:00 PM (7 years ago)
I no fit laugh
Posted: at 21-09-2016 03:00 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- senatordee01 at 21-09-2016 03:07 PM (7 years ago)
I'm here dey reason about my life abeg
Posted: at 21-09-2016 03:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tweetynene at 21-09-2016 07:54 PM (7 years ago)
U dey ur corner trouble come find u
Posted: at 21-09-2016 07:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 21-09-2016 09:26 PM (7 years ago)
Make them try me
Posted: at 21-09-2016 09:26 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 22-09-2016 12:52 PM (7 years ago)
they may have perpetrated this fraud through his account or it is the man himself that committed the fraud
Posted: at 22-09-2016 12:52 PM (7 years ago) | Hero