Jesus And Peter: Who is The Rock?

Date: 05-03-2010 6:19 pm (14 years ago) | Author: St. Inem-JEPH
- at 5-03-2010 06:19 PM (14 years ago)
THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CLAIMS THAT JESUS BUILT THE CHURCH ON PETER AND HANDED THE KEYS OF THE KINGDOM TO HIM, AND SO MEANS THAT JESUS FOUNDED THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. HOW TRUE IS THIS CLAIM?

Posted: at 5-03-2010 06:19 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rbest at 23-03-2010 02:55 PM (14 years ago)
big mouth likeu
Posted: at 23-03-2010 02:55 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 24-03-2010 10:47 AM (14 years ago)
There are many rocks, only one Rock of Ages. One Rock stands tall above the rest and that Rock is Christ Jesus.
Peter was called the rock upon which Christ would build his church. Let the reader go back and understand what it says instead of translating what he or she thinks it says.
Posted: at 24-03-2010 10:47 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- onchedu at 24-03-2010 11:22 AM (14 years ago)
On Ur point of Jesus finding the catholic church. Who told U Peter was catholic? Where is it recorded in the bible that Peter said Angelus or honoured Mary, or had a rosary or did stations of the cross or any of those things?

Has Christ ever refer to His Church as a Catholic Church?
Posted: at 24-03-2010 11:22 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sweetfolio at 24-03-2010 02:24 PM (14 years ago)
Peace of the Lord upon you. The Bible quotation of where you're talking about (Matthew 16:13-20) Jesus asked His disciples who do men say He is? and they replied some say John the Baptist, some Elijah, and others Jeremiah or one of the prophets" Jesus went ahead to probe them who they (the disciples) think He is? One of them who happens to be Apostle Peter answered and said "You are the Christ, the Son of the living God" Jesus answered and said to him "Blessed are you Peter son of Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven. I said to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church and the gates of Hades shall never prevail against it. And I will give you the keys of the kingdom and whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you lose on earth shall be loosed in heaven". Here Jesus Christ was laying the foundation of a believer by a token of confessing Christ as the Son of God and believing with one's heart (Rom. 10:10) and this does not happen by mere men preaching but only by the auction of the Holy Spirit. That's why Jesus says is not flesh and blood. Jesus also established the authority of a believer on that foundation (Rock) to bind and to lose, Bind the demons (hindrances) and lose the sinner from the bondage of sins and Devil, to be brought into the kingdom of God. (Read Luke 9 1-6, 10: 1-21) To ascertain this authority in Christ.  Jesus Christ is the Rock (1 Cor. 3:9-17) Christ is the foundation, believers are the building and it depends on the kind of materials we use that will testify our Characters and attitudes. So, saying Peter is the rock is not biblical, you can read also the testimony of Peter concerning the Rock 1 Peter 2: 1-8. David in the Spirit talks about Jesus Son ship and confessions Psalm 2: 7-12, Matt 3: 17,  14:33. So, my brother Jesus is the Rock and give authority to those who believe in Him. I hope is clear, please read those verses I quoted to be double sure. Praise the Lord!
Posted: at 24-03-2010 02:24 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Moriah at 28-03-2010 02:35 AM (14 years ago)
Jesus is our Rock of refuge to whom we can always go. He alone is the cornerstone! Praise God...peter got the revelation...Hope we all do to...Sorry Catholics, you done been lead astray cause you dont know the WORD....be wise
Posted: at 28-03-2010 02:35 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- emma4love3 at 28-03-2016 10:45 PM (8 years ago)
i waka pass abeg
Posted: at 28-03-2016 10:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 3-04-2016 06:52 PM (8 years ago)
Jesus is d rock,,,
Posted: at 3-04-2016 06:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero