2011: 'Operation Stop IBB’ • Northern elders plot ex-military president’s fall

Date: 16-03-2010 9:20 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 16-03-2010 09:20 PM (15 years ago)
Plots to stop IBB thickens

Northern elders, who are not favourably disposed to General Ibrahim Babangida’s candidature for 2011 have began subtle campaign in the north to stop him from running. This is even as the IBB’s group has also stepped up campaign to canvass support for the former Military President.

IBB

Only last Friday, one of the anti-IBB’s meetings was held in Kaduna, at the instance of a former Defence Minister under former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

The meeting, Daily Sun gathered, was attended by prominent northern elders, including a former Finance Minister. Interestingly, the Kaduna meeting coincided with the movement of the IBB’s sensitizing group, led by another former Agriculture Minister under former President Obasanjo to Borno and Kano states respectively, last weekend to meet with stakeholders in those areas on the need to support the IBB project.

But a die-in-the wool IBB supporter, who though was not part of the anti-IBB meeting held in Kaduna, has advised the former Military President not to contemplate running in 2011. He is Alhaji Mohammed AbdulRahman, a chieftain of Arewa Consultative Forum (ACF) and founding member of the defunct Northern Elders Forum (NEF).

He told Daily Sun that rather than waste energy on wanting to run in 2011, IBB should use his contacts, experience and connections to influence who would emerge as the President. He wants IBB to play an advisory role in the country’s search for a “credible and purposeful,” leadership.

“I am aware so many people are urging him to run. But for me, I will advise the General to organize them, and find a leader from among them to lead us in 2011. PDP as a party is misbehaving today because we don’t have a good elder from among them that will call them to order, I think it is high time IBB assumes such a role. If IBB can do that politics in Nigeria will change. IBB’s current position in the scheme of things in Nigeria is more than that of a President of a country.

“Look at the crowd, when he lost Maryam, how many people out of power can pull such a crowd in this present day Nigeria, especially considering the timing? So that tells you that IBB occupies a special place in this country, and as one of his admirers, I would not want him to lose that prestige. So instead of him running, I will advise him to find a suitable candidate from among those he believed in and put such a person forward,” AbdulRahman added.

However, another IBB supporter based in Kaduna, Alhaji Hassan Mohammed Jallo, disagreed with AbdulRahman. Jallo, a chieftain of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kaduna State said that PDP should not dream of wining 2011 Presidential election if it fields any other candidate other than IBB.

He claimed that the present crop of leadership in the country under the PDP has failed the nation, and so should give way to IBB and his team in 2011 to steer the ship of Nigeria to an enviable height once again.

While noting that the PDP has been the country’s problem especially for imposing ailing Umaru Musa Yar’Adua on Nigeria, he warned that the party was doomed should it field Yar’Adua for 2011 election:

“PDP should not make the mistake of giving Umaru Musa Yar’Adua the ticket in 2011 because no Nigerian will vote for Umaru and PDP cannot rig Umaru into power in 2011. I am telling you this without fear of any contradiction. I know PDP as a master rigger; we cannot rig Umaru into the Presidency in 2011. If they field Umaru in 2011, PDP will lose that election.

“I still repeat and I can repeat anywhere, that there is nobody that can fix Nigeria except IBB, and the only way PDP can win election, landslide victory is for the party to give IBB the ticket, only IBB can win election for the PDP come 2011. If PDP dares put any candidate apart from IBB, they will lose the elections.”

The Ghana option

Daily Sun learnt that part of the arrangement put in place by the opposition was to woo acting President Goodluck Jonathan to its side, so as allow a replay of the Ghanaian experience, where an incumbent supervised the defeat of his party by the opposition party in that country:

“You see, this man called Jonathan is not ambitious. Already, the PDP has foreclosed any possibility of giving him the ticket. And since the man after acting as C-in-C cannot turn around to be a running mate to anyone, we are looking at the possibility of entering into an alliance with him, so that whoever we are bringing on board would just spend one term, and we allow Jonathan to run subsequently.

“And from the type of person we see he is, he may even say he does not want to run at all, and still go ahead to provide a level playing ground, for us to take over power in 2011,” one of the leading members of the NDM told Daily Sun.

Posted: at 16-03-2010 09:20 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rasky47 at 17-03-2010 05:15 AM (15 years ago)
I also support the campaign against him, why should the same set of people who have been ruling us since independence think ruling nigeria is caucus affair.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 05:15 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- nichomerry at 17-03-2010 01:43 PM (15 years ago)
what is the way forward in all these? the power seems to be going round in circles.nigerian youths what do we do? i vote for revolution,who is joining?
Posted: at 17-03-2010 01:43 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ogbuja at 17-03-2010 03:43 PM (15 years ago)
please somebody should ask IBB whether he forgot anything @ Aso rock. And those perpetrators should be careful
Posted: at 17-03-2010 03:43 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Vincas at 17-03-2010 05:28 PM (15 years ago)
What does IBB want Nigeria to turn into? Upon the level of destruction the devil have destroyed Nigeria, he is not still gratify. Well, let him use plane to spray acid on us I think that will make him feel good.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 05:28 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- megafather1 at 17-03-2010 09:46 PM (15 years ago)
See coents,let me tell u guys, ur comments wount change anything, if he wins, are u guys going to run away from nigeria?....so u guys should just pray 4 9ja and sharap.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 09:46 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 17-03-2010 10:53 PM (15 years ago)

Posted: at 17-03-2010 10:53 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- derbi at 17-03-2010 11:57 PM (15 years ago)
i no blame IBB, abacha go talk say him wan come again abi ja Lips Sealed Lips Sealed go talk am again, make him come try God na waithing apen to abacha na him go apen to ham this time.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 11:57 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princejoe123 at 18-03-2010 08:36 AM (15 years ago)
 :'(. All we need in dis country is 4 2 stand up and fight 4 their right bcos we re d leaders of tomor. IBB should go and sleep
Posted: at 18-03-2010 08:36 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- megafather1 at 18-03-2010 06:27 PM (15 years ago)
k, i will tell him what u said.
Posted: at 18-03-2010 06:27 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mcfredie at 18-03-2010 07:33 PM (15 years ago)
dat man IBB is very stupid, anyway is only in 9ja he will still hv the face to talk after 8yrs of destruction. I do not blame him I blame the country 9ja.
Posted: at 18-03-2010 07:33 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- dclm2008 at 18-03-2010 10:26 PM (15 years ago)
IBB, na god wey go stop u o
u will not get there in jesus name
if u are in support say AMEN
Posted: at 18-03-2010 10:26 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Sweetstuff at 18-03-2010 10:43 PM (15 years ago)
IBB again?
Dat drug baron n murderer,he myt hav succeeded in kiln Abacha,Dele Giwa and many others but rule dis country,he must not.
Posted: at 18-03-2010 10:43 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sweetstuff at 18-03-2010 10:44 PM (15 years ago)
IBB again?
Dat drug baron n murderer,he myt hav succeeded in kiln Abacha,Dele Giwa and many others but rule dis country,he must not.
Posted: at 18-03-2010 10:44 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- megafather1 at 19-03-2010 07:02 AM (15 years ago)
ok,
Posted: at 19-03-2010 07:02 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 19-03-2010 11:31 AM (15 years ago)
 I see

Posted: at 19-03-2010 11:31 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 19-03-2010 11:31 AM (15 years ago)
 I see

Posted: at 19-03-2010 11:31 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- biodun100 at 19-03-2010 01:47 PM (15 years ago)
the man no get sham
Posted: at 19-03-2010 01:47 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- megafather1 at 19-03-2010 02:55 PM (15 years ago)
Posted: at 19-03-2010 02:55 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- harunahill at 19-03-2010 04:12 PM (15 years ago)
asorock is not a birthrite for IBB NIJA no want u PDP should infact give chance to another party we are all born to be the head & not the tail. If u agree wit me clap for God.
Posted: at 19-03-2010 04:12 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie

1. Police Arrest Suspected Ritualist With Human Organs In Lagos

2. Lawyers Hail Akpabio For Stepping Down From Sexual Harassment Probe Panel

3. Radiogad Raises Alarm Over Activist VeryDarkman’s Health After Efcc Detention

4. Overcrowding or Low Turnout? - Wizkid’s Show In Berlin Cancelled Days After Toronto Failed

5. VIDEO; Reactions As Peller And Jarvis Arrive In Dubai For Streamer’s 20th Birthday

6. “I Love You”: Omah Lay Declares As His Featured Track off Davido’s New Album Goes Platinum

7. One Killed As Security Operatives Battle Gunmen Who Allegedly Killed Travellers In Imo

8. Teenager, Lawal Hameedat Drags JAMB To Court Over Hijab Ban During UTME

9. "You Won’t Find Better Partner Than Nigeria" – Tinubu Welcomes Qatari Investment

10. Southampton v Manchester City: UEFA Champions League Semi-Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers &

1. JUST IN! EFCC Labels VeryDarkMan A ‘BANDIT’

2. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

3. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

4. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

5. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

6. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

7. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

8. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

9. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

10. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)