Women keeping their maiden names after marriage (Direspectful?) (Page 4)

Date: 23-03-2010 8:25 am (14 years ago) | Author: albert blessing omohere
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7
- deboalabi262 at 22-03-2011 02:05 AM (13 years ago)
Some Traditions need to be observed for sanity to reign in families, Lol.....

Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:05 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- estilizo at 22-03-2011 02:11 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 22-03-2011 02:01 AM
make I piss this women off...........When you take my last name or I give you my last name, it means I own you.
So if you are not going to marry me bcuz of this,then stay single,miserable and party with your girlfriends to ease or escape your misery.
hahahahahhhahahaha............. Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:11 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyin at 22-03-2011 02:13 AM (13 years ago)
lol.
Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:13 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- trolling at 22-03-2011 02:21 AM (13 years ago)
Once I pay your bride price, you become my posession......so why wouldnt you take my last name.
That doesnt mean I'ma treat you as a slave as this yeye women like to say, it means we ar one, I will do to you what I want to be done to me,we have become One/United/bonded.
Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyin at 22-03-2011 02:23 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 22-03-2011 02:21 AM
Once I pay your bride price, you become my posession......so why wouldnt you take my last name.
That doesnt mean I'ma treat you as a slave as this yeye women like to say, it means we ar one, I will do to you what I want to be done to me,we have become One/United/bonded.
nice one.
Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:23 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ILOVEIT at 22-03-2011 02:27 AM (13 years ago)
tell those primitive brains,i hope they listen

Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:27 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- typicalman84 at 22-03-2011 02:51 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Mmalerato on 23-03-2010 11:14 AM
Quote from: omohere on 23-03-2010 08:25 AM
I friend & i was talking this morning and we argued about dis topic. He said it is disrespectful of any wife 2 keep her maiden name after marriage. He said the woman belongs 2 d man & should bear d man's name. What do u guys feel abt dis?

A woman is not a man's commodity and is NOT owned by a MAN!!. A woman belongs to herself and maybe God (If they believe in God). What's in a surname? Do I marry him or his name. His kids can bear his surname... Met tend to overrate this surname nonsense.. I will definitely keep my maiden surname..If needs be, I can have a double barrel surname.

But you are forgetting something here my dear.... Ephesians 5:22, 28-31. "Wives submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord. For the husband is head of the wife, even as Christ is head of the church; and he is the savior of the body. Therefore as the church is subject to Christ, so let wives be to their own husbands in everything."

So you see my dear your argument is Very Flawed. And please do not tell me your Mother, if she is still married to your father, go by her maiden name. See how i highlighted maiden because it mean 'unmarried girl or woman'. So you see when you are married, you are no longer a maiden thus the maiden name should GO. Was that clear enough?

Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngeri1 at 22-03-2011 05:47 AM (13 years ago)
I and my friend was talking this morning and we argued about dis topic. He said it is disrespectful of any wife 2 keep her maiden name after marriage. He said the woman belongs 2 d man & should bear d man's name. What do u guys feel abt dis?

I come from a family of successful/distinguished women who have made names for themselves long before any men came into the picture. For example, I have a cousin who is a make-up artist to the stars in Hollywood so she is known by her maiden name. So...I don't think it's disrespectful. The topic is completely subjective. But in my opinion..nope.
Posted: at 22-03-2011 05:47 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- malamabdulwasiu at 22-03-2011 08:20 AM (13 years ago)
It is unislamic for a woman to dump her surname because of marriage.Geting married doesnt make you the dauther of someone else.
For a descerning mind,it makes no sence to bear other peoples'surname,and a big cheating indeed.
Posted: at 22-03-2011 08:20 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dhowafe at 22-03-2011 08:23 AM (13 years ago)
I come from a family of successful/distinguished women who have made names for themselves long before any men came into the picture. For example, I have a cousin who is a make-up artist to the stars in Hollywood so she is known by her maiden name. So...I don't think it's disrespectful. The topic is completely subjective. But in my opinion..nope.
[/quote]

Ask urself, is that ur cousin married, hv u ever wonder why these celebrities or rich ladies finds it difficult to get married... i pray 4 una ooo!!!
Posted: at 22-03-2011 08:23 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Owhologbo at 22-03-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago)
This answer your argument Madam Poster"Ephesian 5:24...24 But as the church is subject to Christ, so also the wives ought to be to their husbands in EVERYTHING. " EVERYTHING means including your maiden name ok... Finally bus stop of the argument. If you know u are not ready to do that it is adviceable to remain in your father house.... The most painful things is that we find it difficult to emulate good things in African culture ...Things like this are some of the vices of divorce and separation in marriage. If your husband kick against please don't try but if he accept it good for you... A word is enough for the wise ....remain bless
Posted: at 22-03-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- priceless87 at 22-03-2011 09:43 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: enc4life on 26-03-2010 09:14 PM
niaja is fast loosin out her cultures, one day wmen go start to dey pay dowry for man head
[/color][/b]

wat a man can do, a woman can do even better Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-03-2011 09:43 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 22-03-2011 09:51 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: omohere on 23-03-2010 02:25 PM
I friend & i was talking this morning and we argued about dis topic. He said it is disrespectful of any wife 2 keep her maiden name after marriage. He said the woman belongs 2 d man & should bear d man's name. What do u guys feel abt dis?

A woman is not a man's commodity and is NOT owned by a MAN!!. A woman belongs to herself and maybe God (If they believe in God). What's in a surname? Do I marry him or his name. His kids can bear his surname... Met tend to overrate this surname nonsense.. I will definitely keep my maiden surname..If needs be, I can have a double barrel surname.
God bless u my sista. After my papa suffer train me, one man go come xpect me 2 throway my papa name. Na lie o.
U papa transfers u to ur husband when u're married and he (ur husband) continues with the training....change of baton here and that requires a change of surname too....more so, he pays for your dowry and this gives him some rights over u............
Posted: at 22-03-2011 09:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 22-03-2011 09:53 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: malamabdulwasiu on 22-03-2011 08:20 AM
It is unislamic for a woman to dump her surname because of marriage.Geting married doesnt make you the dauther of someone else.
For a descerning mind,it makes no sence to bear other peoples'surname,and a big cheating indeed.

Really? Never knew that........
Posted: at 22-03-2011 09:53 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyabakpa at 22-03-2011 10:13 AM (13 years ago)
keepin our maiden name is wht u guy can,t stop cos dat n't be 4gotin
Posted: at 22-03-2011 10:13 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- pholake at 22-03-2011 10:19 AM (13 years ago)

I agree with u on this but I don't like that term POSSESSION......
Posted: at 22-03-2011 10:19 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pocahontas at 22-03-2011 10:51 AM (13 years ago)
na wa that guy must be from stone age.........
Posted: at 22-03-2011 10:51 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- simele at 22-03-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago)

God bless u my sista. After my papa suffer train me, one man go come xpect me 2 throway my papa name. Na lie o.

why ur papa no marry u
Posted: at 22-03-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bishopdray at 22-03-2011 01:48 PM (13 years ago)

you neva see something you go marry your papa na. them nave born that woman wey no go change her name wen i marry her. Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-03-2011 01:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- westminster at 22-03-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago)
Such is the beginning of rebellion and arrogance. In our society, from the ancient and even unto this day, its the NORMAL AND COMMON way, that after marriage, a woman bears her husband's name. And it has NEVER being an issue. So why lead a fuss about this? Why change things unnecessarily? I look into the society today and what I see is the gross damage civilisation and westernisation has done to the marriage institution. I understand that its only a question? but I also understand that such an feministic issue is SO unnecessary most especially in the marriage institution. DO NOT BRING UNNECESSARY FEMINISTIC DEBATES INTO THE MARRIAGE INSTITUTION. There are much better things to worry about, issues such as, a wife-beating, adultery, heritance, and 'rape', as its possible for a man to force himself on his wife without her consent.  Howbeit, I would also conclude by saying that the issue of a woman bearing her maiden name is a subject for the couple and not the society. If both the man and his wife are happy about it, then fine, but if they aren't, then to "to your tent oh Israel. Such issue is a recipe for arrogant debates. As you can see from most comments on this board.
Posted: at 22-03-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7