We Use Torchlight To Mark Students’ Scripts —Lecturer Laments

Date: 23-03-2010 6:54 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 23-03-2010 06:54 PM (14 years ago)
A lecturer at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Dr. Gertrude-Theresa Uzoamak Chiaha, has lamented the poor state of power supply in the country, saying this has affected lecturers and the standard of education.

She also said that as a result, lecturers have been forced to start marking scripts of  undergraduates and post graduate students with torchlights.

Responding to questions on the state of education in the country at the Fourth Convocation ceremony of Information Technology Business School, an information technology institution based in Lagos, Dr. Chiaha said that becoming educated in Nigeria was discouraging.

She said, “There are a lot of problems facing education these days. Go to some schools, apart from shortage of manpower, you would hardly see chairs.

“The teachers do not have where to sit, you are not even talking of teachers who have not been paid for about five months, and you would see children who have no books.”

Lamenting further, Dr. Chiaha said, “Most of us, lecturers, do read students’ PhD thesis with torchlights. You can’t believe it, but it is true.

“At school, you would prepare your lectures, go to classes to teach, conduct examinations, come back tired and at night there is no light and you have piles and piles of Masters and PhD thesis to read and you cannot wait for when there would be power supply, because the students would not graduate.

“So most lecturers end up buying torchlight to read the thesis at night.”

She also decried lack of government support for research works in the country, adding that lecturers solely sponsor researches carried out by them in Nigeria.

Explaining the reasons for the mass failure of students in most examinations like the one recently released by the National Examinations Council (NECO) in which only a few of the students had five credits including Mathematics and English Language, the university don said it was the result of lack of motivation.

According to her, most students now believe they do not have to read their books since they do not even know how to get jobs after graduation.

Posted: at 23-03-2010 06:54 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mayokun91 at 23-03-2010 07:45 PM (14 years ago)
haba   i   knw  we'v   got   power   issues,bt   its   nt   as   bad   as   this,i   beg.as   a   matter   of   facts   some   universities   are   nw   adopting   electronic   method   of   examinations   &   the   use   of   OMR   sheets.         
Posted: at 23-03-2010 07:45 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 23-03-2010 09:10 PM (14 years ago)
Thats Nigeria for you.

Posted: at 23-03-2010 09:10 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- megafather1 at 23-03-2010 09:15 PM (14 years ago)
can u imagine this kind of disgrace, for god sake what da phyuk are they doing with 9jas money.... no light, no education.thats why student spend ages in university.
Posted: at 23-03-2010 09:15 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMSTy at 23-03-2010 09:28 PM (14 years ago)
They dont ave 2 post all dis on d site cos its worlwide,and i dont tink is bad as dis in ninja :'(
Posted: at 23-03-2010 09:28 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- phenom1st at 23-03-2010 10:15 PM (14 years ago)
you see am?
Posted: at 23-03-2010 10:15 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- popo2009 at 23-03-2010 10:18 PM (14 years ago)
Please delete this post...becos the power situation is not as bad as that
atleast there are cheaper Generators......pls i hate this kind of post
it gives us bad image
Posted: at 23-03-2010 10:18 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dolphinkate at 23-03-2010 10:28 PM (14 years ago)
It is not new to hear such complains.

But i believe, that soon it will be well with nigeria.
Posted: at 23-03-2010 10:28 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Starlette at 23-03-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago)
Amen

Posted: at 23-03-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- dally007 at 23-03-2010 10:53 PM (14 years ago)
 PLS POSTER STOP ALL THIS UR BEAUTFUL RUBBISH  WRITE UPS  ITS NOT HELPFUL.
Posted: at 23-03-2010 10:53 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sheenor at 24-03-2010 12:34 AM (14 years ago)
don't just know!

Posted: at 24-03-2010 12:34 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Ceenod at 24-03-2010 12:43 AM (14 years ago)
nothn new bro

Posted: at 24-03-2010 12:43 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- DAMSTy at 24-03-2010 02:04 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: phenom1st on 23-03-2010 10:15 PM
you see am?
  why not i saw it
Posted: at 24-03-2010 02:04 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Vani at 24-03-2010 06:21 AM (14 years ago)
Lecturers,do u want to tel us dat u dnt have generators in ur houses or u cannot buy fuel?U pple shld spare us dis rubbish excuses bcos i knw in my place,we use have steady phcn light.Nigeria is nt as bad as u are writing.
Posted: at 24-03-2010 06:21 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DarkCoco at 24-03-2010 06:56 AM (14 years ago)
God bless AFRICA

Posted: at 24-03-2010 06:56 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- burzygne at 24-03-2010 08:22 AM (14 years ago)
Don't know Y Nigerians don't like beleiving d truth. Dis is wat happens. Bcos some few parts receive power doesn't mean d whole country does. In a family, once d father is bad, he's bad, no matter how u hide it. We've hidden our issues 4 too long & our leaders don't even appreciate our efforts, infact they're are just getting worse. People let's not hide our issues but make our views felt. It's not d tertiary arm of education dat's affected but all arms. Niajas make una speak una mind oooooooooo
Posted: at 24-03-2010 08:22 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Ify4life at 24-03-2010 09:37 AM (14 years ago)
ok Cheesy

Posted: at 24-03-2010 09:37 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- esoo at 24-03-2010 11:23 AM (14 years ago)
All the government ministers and commissioners have houses overseas and their children studies there ...so it not their biz....so what we see we will manage.....but one day God will surely intervene for our big problem in nija
Posted: at 24-03-2010 11:23 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- spicygal08 at 24-03-2010 11:26 AM (14 years ago)
Ummmm...'m short of words. Lips Sealed :'(
Posted: at 24-03-2010 11:26 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- leoblacky at 24-03-2010 12:45 PM (14 years ago)
nametalkam no every thing u will post on this site nawo we no say naija no good but not as u talk am here,
Posted: at 24-03-2010 12:45 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

3. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

4. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

5. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

6. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

11. Seun Kuti Blasts DJ Khaled For His Silent Over Killing Of His People In Palestine

12. How Three Boys Gang-Rap3d a 14yr Old Girl in Delta Community

13. Nigerian Singer Joe El Amadi Speaks On Beef Between Burna Boy & Davido

14. "Small Maggot" – Jim Iyke Fires Back At Troll Who Said He Has A Failed Career

15. He Has Reduced Christianity to Comedy – Evangelist Kesiena Blasts Odumeje

16. Zack Orji Survived Two Brain Surgeries – Actor's Guild President, Emeka Rollas Gives Update

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)