Ex-Gov Abubakar Rimi dies after armed robbery attack

Date: 05-04-2010 5:27 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 5-04-2010 05:27 PM (14 years ago)
Former governor of Kano State and former presidential aspirant on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Alhaji Abubakar Rimi, has died after an armed robbery attack.

Abubakar Rimi

He was reportedly unhurt in the encounter with the robbers around 11pm last night. The robbers were said to have recognised him and decided not to rob him. Instead, they seized his phones so that he would not report to the police.On getting to Kano, he was said to have been in shock. His personal doctor, it was gathered, checked his blood pressure and decided to take him to the Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital. He never recovered and was pronounced dead shortly after.His body has been moved to his residence in Kano and will be buried according to Islamic rites this morning.

Initial reports said he was shot in the head in the attack which took place at a village called Darki in Wudil Local Government Area, Kano State, while he was returning from Bauchi State where he had gone for his eldest daughter's wedding.

But it was later revealed that he suffered no gunshot wounds. However, given that his blood pressure had shot up during the attack, he might have suffered a massive stroke, leading to his death.

The radical politician, who was instrumental to the victory of Chief MKO Abiola in the June 12, 1993 presidential election in Kano State, was travelling in a Landcruiser SUV in company with three other persons who are believed to be his relations.

Rimi had become politically reclusive in recent times and led a faction of the PDP in Kano called Garkuwa (Shield). He also staunchly supported President Umaru Musa Yar'Adua.

He was born in 1940 in Rimi Village, Sumaila Local Government Area, Kano State. According to wikipedia.com, Rimi attended an instructor's course at the Institute of Administration, Zaria. He obtained a General Certificate of Education (GCE) from the University of London.

In 1972, he did a diploma in International Affairs at the London institute of World Affairs, and later obtained a Master's Degree in International Relations.In January 2006, his wife was killed at his home. His son was among those charged for the murder, but was later released. It was treated as an armed robbery case. 

Rimi was co-founder with the late Mallam Aminu Kano and other progressives the People's Redemption Party (PRP).

In December 1978, he was elected PRP's Deputy National secretary at the party's first national convention in Lagos. He was the PRP candidate in the 1979 general election and was elected the governor of the old Kano State.

After a disagreement with the party's leader, Alhaji Aminu Kano, he defected to the Nigeria Peoples Party (NPP) in 1983 and resigned as governor "on principle". He lost the governorship election that year to Alhaji Sabo Bakin Zuwo, who ran as the PRP candidate.

In 1993, Rimi was appointed Minister of Communications, and later Chairman of NACB and NSPMC.

He was one of the foundation members of the PDP in 1998. He was the Chairman of the Finance Committee of the party.

He was briefly touted as former President Olusegun Obasanjo's running mate in the 1999 presidential election, but Obasanjo eventually settled for Alhaji Atiku Abubakar. Rimi began to openly oppose Obasanjo and ran against him for PDP's presidential ticket in 2003, although the PDP had insisted that the position was zoned to the South.

He later moved to the Action Congress (AC) in 2006, but returned to the PDP in 2007. In December 2008, he called on the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC), Professor Maurice Iwu, to resign from office, citing irregularities in the presidential election that brought Yar'Adua to power.

Posted: at 5-04-2010 05:27 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- majoruc at 5-04-2010 06:17 PM (14 years ago)
Mr ex-gov.A.Rimi i can only say may ur soul rest in perfect peace.but nawaooo!many nigerian has been vitim of robbery attack wt even gun shot and survived it.ur own nobey armed robbers attack na stroke and heart attack.
Posted: at 5-04-2010 06:17 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- fyenelin at 5-04-2010 06:27 PM (14 years ago)
what can one say,there is time for everything,u are a hero,u are a fighter of justice.May ur gentle soul rest in peace.We all will miss you badly.Its hard to say Good night
Posted: at 5-04-2010 06:27 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- megafather1 at 5-04-2010 06:45 PM (14 years ago)
may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace :'( :'(,what a lost :'(
Posted: at 5-04-2010 06:45 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mba5 at 5-04-2010 07:20 PM (14 years ago)
Nawa oohh!So big politician fit die soo?I no believ!I think say their power is so great that nothing can shake them!!So they dee fall victim too???
Posted: at 5-04-2010 07:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odiono at 5-04-2010 07:27 PM (14 years ago)
THIS TIME WAS FORSAW BY PEOPLE LIKE GANNI, TUNDE BAKARE ETC. ''SINCE THOSE IN GOVNT REFUSED TO ACT WISELY BY PROVIDING THE DIVIDENTS OF GOOD GOVERNANCE TO THE PEOPLE A TIME IS COMING WHEREBY IT WILL NO LONGER BE THE POOR ALONE THAT IS SUFFERING FROM IT BUT EVEN THE POLITICIANS THEMSELVES'' HOW I WISH IT WAS THE NOTORIOUS TWO BABA [ONE IN THE MIDDLE BELT AND THE OTHER IN THE YORUBA SPEAKING PART] THAT WERE JUST BEEN AFFECTED, ANYWAY THEIR TIME WILL COME!
Posted: at 5-04-2010 07:27 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mba5 at 5-04-2010 07:33 PM (14 years ago)
@Odiono,just mention their names finish nothing go happen to you,No follow Fela style wey dee say things half way!!!
Make I help you talkam shaa,but na help I dee help you so nobeme talkam but you say IBB and OBJ abi???
Posted: at 5-04-2010 07:33 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 5-04-2010 07:50 PM (14 years ago)
All the politicians are the same.......how much did he loot during his tenure
anywhere may his soul go for judgement....Amen
Posted: at 5-04-2010 07:50 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hansgans at 5-04-2010 08:22 PM (14 years ago)
well is not good to be happy is any person dies but nigeria politician is something else ,but if he loot during his tenure let her soul never rest in pice but if he did not loot may his soul ret in perfect pice amen
Posted: at 5-04-2010 08:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Baker4u at 5-04-2010 08:32 PM (14 years ago)
Well i no get anything 2 say, he dey baba God hand and na he knw d judgement he go give am bcos he say IF U RIP YAM U GO GET YAM NOT COCOYAM. Their own 2 much
Posted: at 5-04-2010 08:32 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DASAMUELS at 5-04-2010 09:07 PM (14 years ago)
This, once again, shows how easy it is for someone to be killed in Nigeria!!! No protection no recollection, no Security. It matters not whether you are an ex or current Governor, you can fall victim to the uncontrollable armed robbers in Nigeria.  It is always a point of concern for anyone travelling from abroad, I have personally lost one friend to the so called Armed Robbers of Nigeria Inc.

Havings said this, I think it is time for questions to be asked, where and who armed these thieves? where do they get the supply or their weapons from? What is the role of the Politicians, Police, and all those in the corridor of power regarding the Armed Robbers?
I think a research could be carried out to find our what makes a petty thief being promoted to Armed Robber! My first port of call will be the employment opportunities in Nigeria.  How easy it is to secure any form of employment and how much are they paid?  - Too much to talk about.  In the meantime "
Rimi you did your best before checking out - Sleep in the Lord"
Dr. Samuels
London[/font][/size]
Posted: at 5-04-2010 09:07 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- vantheo at 5-04-2010 09:08 PM (14 years ago)
This is really sad! I really loved d man. May his soul rest in perfect peace

Posted: at 5-04-2010 09:08 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- megafather1 at 5-04-2010 09:09 PM (14 years ago)
Amen,.... we are family friends with his farmily? really sad :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 5-04-2010 09:09 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dally007 at 5-04-2010 10:09 PM (14 years ago)
May his soul rest in perfect peace.
The robbers may their soul rot in hell.
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:09 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dally007 at 5-04-2010 10:09 PM (14 years ago)
May his soul rest in perfect peace.
The robbers may their soul rot in hell.
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:09 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezecyyyy at 5-04-2010 10:16 PM (14 years ago)
R.I.P
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:16 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- jimmyfontana at 5-04-2010 10:24 PM (14 years ago)
GOD  please do something to the problem  of  this  country
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:24 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- princedafe at 5-04-2010 10:40 PM (14 years ago)
Atleast the Rimi enjoyed life, that all that matters. 

So long Aboki
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:40 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 5-04-2010 10:45 PM (14 years ago)
 Sad
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:45 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Mba5 at 5-04-2010 10:46 PM (14 years ago)
@Megafather1,I salute oohh!My friend Sorry booo for losing a family friend.
Posted: at 5-04-2010 10:46 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer