Christianity Vs Homosegxwal: Why gay Bishop?

Date: 04-05-2010 12:26 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Musa Yusuf
- at 4-05-2010 12:26 PM (14 years ago)
Does that mean that Christianity encourage such filthy activity?

The existence of homosegxwal bishops in the Roman Catholic, Anglican, and other traditions is a matter of historical record, though never, until recently, considered licit by any of the main Christian denominations. Homosegxwal activity was engaged in secretly. When it was made public, official response ranged from inaction to expulsion from Holy Orders. As far back as the eleventh century, Ralph, Archbishop of Tours had his lover installed as Bishop of Orléans, yet neither Pope Urban II, nor his successor Paschal II took action to depose either man.

Historical secrecy

It was customary in the past for individuals - whether clergy or not - to remain secretive (in the closet) about their segxwal orientation and activity. The higher prominence given today to the presence of homosegxwal clergy, including bishops, in the life of the church reflects broader issues, both socially and ecclesiologically (see List of Christian denominational positions on homosegxwality), concerning issues of social tolerance and the relationship between social change and doctrinal development.

This has precipitated crises in various Christian denominations, resulting from divergent construals of Christian ethical doctrines, which in turn are associated with the interpretation of the Bible. Traditionally, Christian doctrine has categorised homosegxwal activity as sinful. It was not until the late twentieth century, with the growing tolerance and understanding in Europe and North America towards segxwal orientation and gays and lesbians, that bishops and other clergy have begun coming out. However, the controversial nature of the issue in many churches has meant that such revelations normally emerge as a result of public scandal.
COURTESY OF WIKIPEDIA.ORG

IT IS APPARENT THAT HOMOsegxwalITY IS GETTING RECOGNISION WORLD WIDE AMONG TOP LADDER CHRISTIANS. WHY?

Episcopalians Confirm a Second Gay Bishop

A majority of bishops and dioceses of the Episcopal Church have approved the election of the church’s second openly gay bishop, the Rev. Mary D. Glasspool. The worldwide Anglican Communion, the network of churches connected to the Church of England, has been in turmoil since the Americans elected their first openly gay bishop, V. Gene Robinson, in New Hampshire in 2003. Theological conservatives in the Communion say the Bible condemns homosegxwality, while liberals say the Scripture is open to interpretation.

COURTESY OF NEWYORKTIMES, Published: March 17, 2010

Posted: at 4-05-2010 12:26 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 5-05-2010 06:47 PM (14 years ago)
Does that mean homosegxwality is encouraged in Christianity. You people are messing up.

Posted: at 5-05-2010 06:47 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 6-05-2010 09:11 PM (14 years ago)
You want to know what The Bible thought about gays ans lesbiens:

Read

Romans 1 verses 18 - 32.
Pay special emphasis on verses 24 - 27
Posted: at 6-05-2010 09:11 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- edubrazo at 7-05-2010 01:13 PM (14 years ago)
good
Posted: at 7-05-2010 01:13 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 8-05-2010 12:35 PM (14 years ago)
Instead let me quote from Verse 26 - 32: I hope the Bible I am to quote from is the version you understand/know for in Christianity, there are many different versions of the book of God. So help me God.

1:26 For this reason, God gave them up to vile passions.
For their women changed the natural function into that which is against nature.

1:27 Likewise also the men, leaving the natural function of the woman,
burned in their lust toward one another, men doing what is inappropriate with men,
and receiving in themselves the due penalty of their error.

1:28 Even as they refused to have God in their knowledge,
God gave them up to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not fitting;

1:29 being filled with all unrighteousness, segxwal immorality, wickedness, covetousness,
maliciousness; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, evil habits, secret slanderers,

1:30 backbiters, hateful to God, insolent, haughty, boastful,
inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,

1:31 without understanding, covenant-breakers, without natural affection, unforgiving, unmerciful;

1:32 who, knowing the ordinance of God, that those who practice such things
are worthy of death, not only do the same, but also approve of those who practice them.

But this is indicating clearly that your conducts are contrary to the teachings of the Holy Bible. Homosegxwality is getting recognition as I said earlier among top ladder Christians across the world. What would you say about it? A Bishop, well known of his habit of homosegxwality, what an insult to God? It is not only on the issue concerning homosegxwality, that is what you Christians are-doing things your own way without following the teachings of Jesus Christ. What kind of people are you? Chei!

Posted: at 8-05-2010 12:35 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 8-05-2010 12:36 PM (14 years ago)
Self defense?

Posted: at 8-05-2010 12:36 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 23-05-2010 11:36 AM (13 years ago)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Christian_evangelist_scandals

Posted: at 23-05-2010 11:36 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Mba5 at 23-05-2010 04:03 PM (13 years ago)
Is a Bishop God???
Posted: at 23-05-2010 04:03 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 24-05-2010 12:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Mba5 on 23-05-2010 04:03 PM
Is a Bishop God???

But he is a leader, and leaders lead by example.

Posted: at 24-05-2010 12:17 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Mba5 at 24-05-2010 12:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 24-05-2010 12:17 PM
Is a Bishop God???

Are you trying to say leaders are not human and they are assumed holy???
Posted: at 24-05-2010 12:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 24-05-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Mba5 on 24-05-2010 12:40 PM
Quote from: cadanre on 24-05-2010 12:17 PM
Is a Bishop God???

Are you trying to say leaders are not human and they are assumed holy???

Are you still trying to say that you did not understand me?

Posted: at 24-05-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 24-05-2010 03:12 PM (13 years ago)
@ mba5

I wonder why you have been intentionally misintepreting my comments and giving them a different meanings. It happens many times. I do believe that you can reason well and you have a sense of judgement. But why always giving my comments wrong intepretation?

Posted: at 24-05-2010 03:12 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Mba5 at 24-05-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 24-05-2010 03:12 PM
@ mba5

I wonder why you have been intentionally misintepreting my comments and giving them a different meanings. It happens many times. I do believe that you can reason well and you have a sense of judgement. But why always giving my comments wrong intepretation?

@Cadanre,I have never misinterpreted you in any form or manner rather I was trying to tell you that being a leader doesn't make one inhuman therefore hence every human is liable to make mistakes and sin as well.Is only God that is perfect and holy so leaders can be challenged for their wrong doings.If a bishop happened to be homo that is his own problem not mine because with the level of my understanding and wisdom I am not worshiping the bishop rather God.
Hope you now understand my point clearly???
Posted: at 24-05-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 24-05-2010 04:07 PM (13 years ago)
 Lips Sealed

Posted: at 24-05-2010 04:07 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Mba5 at 24-05-2010 04:38 PM (13 years ago)
Thank you.
Posted: at 24-05-2010 04:38 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 15-06-2010 06:27 PM (13 years ago)
Shame is still trailing them:

The 2004 John Jay Report was based on a study of 10,667 allegations against 4,392 priests accused of engaging in segxwal abuse of a minor between 1950 and 2002. The number 4,392 represents four percent of the 109,694 priests in active ministry during that time. Approximately:
56 percent had one reported allegation against them; 27 percent had two or three allegations against them; nearly 14 percent had four to nine allegations against them; 3 percent (149 priests) had 10 or more allegations against them. These 149 priests were responsible for almost 3,000 victims, or 27 percent of the allegations
The allegations were substantiated for 1,872 priests and unsubstantiated for 824 priests. They were thought to be credible for 1,671 priests and not credible for 345 priests. 298 priests and deacons who had been completely exonerated are not included in the study.
50 percent were 35 years of age or younger at the time of the first instance of alleged abuse.
Almost 70 percent were ordained before 1970.
Fewer than 7 percent were reported to have themselves been victims of physical, segxwal or emotional abuse as children. Although 19 percent had alcohol or substance abuse problems, only 9 percent were reported to have been using drugs or alcohol during the instances of abuse.
6 percent are pedophiles, 32 percent ephebophiles, 15 percent 11 & 12 year olds only (both male and female), 20 percent indiscriminate, and 27 percent mildly indiscriminate.
There were approximately 10,667 reported minor victims of clergy segxwal abuse during this period:
Around 81 percent of these victims were male.
22.6% were age 10 or younger, 51% were between the ages of 11 and 14, and 27% were between the ages to 15 to 17 years.
A substantial number (almost 2000) of very young children were victimized by priests during this time period.
9,281 victim surveys had information about an investigation. In 6,696 (72%) cases, an investigation of the allegation was carried out. Of these, 4,570 (80%) were substantiated; 1,028 (18%) were unsubstantiated; 83 (1.5%) were found to be false. In 56 cases, priests were reported to deny the allegations.
More than 10 percent of these allegations were characterized as not substantiated. (This does not mean that the allegation was false; it means only that the diocese or order could not determine whether the alleged abuse actually took place.)
For approximately 20 percent of the allegations, the priest was deceased or inactive at the time of the receipt of the allegation and typically no investigation was conducted in these circumstances.
In 38.4% of allegations, the abuse is alleged to have occurred within a single year, in 21.8% the alleged abuse lasted more than a year but less than 2 years, in 28% between 2 and 4 years, in 10.2% between 5 and 9 years and, in under 1%, 10 or more years.
Many of the reported acts of segxwal abuse involved fondling or unspecified abuse. There was also a large number of allegations of more grave abuse, including acts of oral sex and intercourse. Detailed information on the nature of the abuse was not reported for 26.6% of the reported allegations. 27.3% of the allegations involved the cleric performing oral sex on the victim. 25.1% of the allegations involved penile penetration or attempted penetration.
Although there were reported acts of segxwal abuse of minors in every year, the incidence of reported abuse increased by several orders of magnitude in the 1960s and 1970s. There was, for example, a more than six-fold increase in the number of reported acts of abuse of males aged 11 to 17 between the 1950s and the 1970s. After peaking in the 1970s, the number of incidents decreased through the 1980s and 1990s even more sharply than the incidence rate had increased in the 1960s and 1970s.

Posted: at 15-06-2010 06:27 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 15-06-2010 07:19 PM (13 years ago)
Chai!

Posted: at 15-06-2010 07:19 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 16-06-2010 12:21 PM (13 years ago)
Thunder and lighting will strike you one-by-one. It begins with the statue of Jesus (His only son according to them) you made in US. derbi, inemx, get prepared for you may be next.

Posted: at 16-06-2010 12:21 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Inemx at 16-06-2010 06:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 16-06-2010 12:21 PM
Thunder and lighting will strike you one-by-one. It begins with the statue of Jesus (His only son according to them) you made in US. derbi, inemx, get prepared for you may be next.
I CAN SEE SOME LEVEL OF MADNESS COMING UP IN YOU. RIDE ON!
Posted: at 16-06-2010 06:33 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mba5 at 16-06-2010 10:09 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 16-06-2010 10:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac